Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Community and Site Discussions » Off Topic Lounge » Home Theaters and Photography
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Home Theaters and Photography Discussion forum for Home Theater enthusiasts and newbies. Also the place to discuss and post your photography ventures and queries.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Mar 5, 2020, 01:19 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
Higgy10
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 8,090
Higgy10 kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshHiggy10 kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshHiggy10 kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshHiggy10 kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshHiggy10 kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshHiggy10 kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshHiggy10 kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshHiggy10 kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshHiggy10 kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshHiggy10 kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling fresh


Default Atmos Setup

Finally upgraded my to receiver yamaha rx-v685 from a denon avr-2808 and picked up 4 extra satellites to do a 7.1.2 setup. Any tips for setting up atmos? I have a drop ceiling as well so im guessing ill have to modify some panels and anchor the speakers.
__________________
i7 3770k @ 4.7ghz
Asus P8-Z77 WS mobo
8gig Corsair XMS3
CFX 290
Acer Predator x34 21:9
Intel x25-m 80gb ssd and 500gb SSD
2x1tb WD Black in raid0
Higgy10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 5, 2020, 04:59 PM   #2
OverclockN'
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: United States Iowa
Posts: 23,973
OverclockN' can recite pi backwardsOverclockN' can recite pi backwardsOverclockN' can recite pi backwardsOverclockN' can recite pi backwardsOverclockN' can recite pi backwardsOverclockN' can recite pi backwardsOverclockN' can recite pi backwards


Subscriber
Default

Good timing. I'm doing the same thing tonight. My Denon reciever has me limited to 5.1.2 for now, but I'm sure I'll be tempted to upgrade that soon after to add rear Atmos channels.

I went with the actual Dolby speaker modules that are designed to be used with the speakers I have. They sit on top of my fronts and are upward firing. So you just bought normal speakers to use for Atmos?


Not sure what you've looked up yet for setup. Dolby has all the angles and distances set up for their spec. Crossovers are typically set at 180Hz, but that's when using normal Atmos specific speakers. I'm.sure yours are the typical 80Hz if they are full range. My specific reciever is only 7.1. I'm using 5.1 currently, and just have to assign the extra two speaker connections to "Dolby Front" for upward firing modules on top of the front speakers. Sounds like you have a receiver with specific connections though.
__________________

i9 9900KF/Corsair H100i
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Master
Asus ROG 1080Ti Strix
32GB G.Skill DDR3 3200
Corsair HX1000W
Corsair 600T Silver Edition
Corsair Nightsword Mouse/Logitech G15 Keyboard
Sony Bravia X900F 4K 49"

i5 3570k/OEM Cooler
Asus Sabretooth Z77
Asus ROG 1080Ti Strix
16GB G.Skill DDR3 2600
Corsair CX750M
Lian Li Lancool II Mesh
Logtech G703 Mouse/Logitech G915 Keyboard
LG Ultragear 38GN950-B

Last edited by OverclockN' : Mar 5, 2020 at 05:24 PM.
OverclockN' is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 5, 2020, 10:12 PM   #3
dodger
Doggy
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: United States Houston, Texas
Posts: 1,308
dodger can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultydodger can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Just want to say the upmixer for Atmos is pretty good at what it does, even for quality stereo sound. I never liked "movie mode" as it usually just makes things sound hollowed out but Gene at Audioholics had nothing but good stuff to say about it so now I use it almost all the time except for vocal music cause I got a cheap receiver without the extra tweaking capabilities. (Don't watch a lot of TV, just wanted something that is at least current).

Now I gotta wait for the next AppleTV so I can get a real Atmos source. Our BD player is a first gen and probably won't do Atmos correctly.
dodger is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sound Setup for PS3 based music/movie setup... drspangle Home Theaters and Photography 3 Jul 6, 2009 03:46 PM
Setup will only run in Adminstrator mode. Setup is aborting. train2win AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support 5 Jan 15, 2008 07:49 PM
RAID 0 setup to SATA setup Fricfrac General Hardware 3 Sep 12, 2007 11:54 AM
Move from a 2.8C/865G setup to A64 3000+/Neo2 nforce 3 setup. Worth it? KAC General Hardware 31 Sep 21, 2005 06:26 AM
Try to setup your display adapter with standard VGA driver before running setup.... Zyphria Radeon Technical Support 3 Jan 12, 2003 11:47 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:14 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink