Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Community and Site Discussions » Front Page News
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Front Page News News and Rage3D articles as it appears on the frontpage.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Dec 30, 2013, 02:40 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
seanR3D
Radeon R700
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 719
seanR3D can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyseanR3D can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyseanR3D can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


ATI Technologies Battlefield 4 Mantle patch delayed to January

AMD's performance-saving Mantle API was said back in September to debut with Battlefield 4 as of this month. With December about come and gone, AMD has now announced Mantle will be delayed until some time next month.
Quote:
"After much consideration, the decision was made to delay the Mantle patch for Battlefield 4," writes AMD. "[We continue] to support DICE on the public introduction of Mantle, and we are tremendously excited about the coming release for Battlefield 4! We are now targeting a January release and will have more information to share in the New Year."


Source: PC Perspective
__________________
http://twitter.com/seanridgeley

Last edited by seanR3D : Dec 30, 2013 at 02:46 PM.
seanR3D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2013, 03:39 PM   #2
Dr. Zhivago
Sound: Serious Business
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: United States Oregon
Posts: 8,255
Dr. Zhivago can recite pi backwardsDr. Zhivago can recite pi backwardsDr. Zhivago can recite pi backwardsDr. Zhivago can recite pi backwardsDr. Zhivago can recite pi backwardsDr. Zhivago can recite pi backwardsDr. Zhivago can recite pi backwards


Default

Why isn't Dice making this announcement? It's too bad Dice has had so many problems with the non-Mantle version of the game. I doubt the delay of Mantle is AMD's fault, but I bet they don't want Dice to put out Mantle unless the rest of the problems with the game are fixed first.
__________________


Bedroom PC - Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3 - AMD 1100T @3.7/4GHz - H50 - 8GB DDR3-1600 - HD 7870 OC - Samsung 840 250GB - WD 640GB Blue - Xonar DX - LG BDROM - Logitech 6110 - TT Volos - Antec 900 - CM 500W PSU - Samsung 32" HDTV - Onkyo TX-SR606 - BIC L/R & MTX Surround Speakers - Mission C70 Center - Sony 10" Sub - Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit

HTPC - Gigabyte GA-890GPA~UD3H - AthlonII X4 630 - HD6450 - 8GB DDR3-1333 - WD 500GB Black - WD 640GB Green - WD 2TB Green - LG BDROM - Ceton InfiniTV 4 w/ MCE Remote - Logitech MX5000 Laser Desktop - Corsair 450W - Silverstone LC10B-E - Sharp Aquos 46" HDTV - Onkyo TX-SR606 - PE 15" Sub - Classic Mission Speakers - Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit

Office PC - Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H - Intel 3570K - 16GB DDR3-1866 - HD 7950 FLEX - Samsung 840 250GB - WD 500GB Blue - WD 1TB Black - Xonar DX - Corsair 600W PSU - Antec ON1E - Logitech G5 - Logitech USB Media KB - AOC 23" LCD - Creative Inspire 2.1 - Windows 10 Pro 64Bit

5x Presentation Machines - Gigabyte GA-990XA-UD3 - FX-8350 w/ FX WC - 8GB DDR3-1600 - 5870 or 7870 Eyefinity 6 - 2x Samsung 840 EVO 120GB - WD 500GB Black - DVDRW - Cooler Master Sileo 500 - 600W PSU - Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit - Office 2010 Pro
Dr. Zhivago is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2013, 06:10 PM   #3
seanR3D
Radeon R700
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 719
seanR3D can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyseanR3D can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyseanR3D can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr. Zhivago View Post
Why isn't Dice making this announcement? It's too bad Dice has had so many problems with the non-Mantle version of the game. I doubt the delay of Mantle is AMD's fault, but I bet they don't want Dice to put out Mantle unless the rest of the problems with the game are fixed first.
I believe the source of the news is PC Per making the query to AMD, which makes more sense than them going to DICE.
__________________
http://twitter.com/seanridgeley
seanR3D is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Dec 30, 2013, 08:24 PM   #4
Dr. Zhivago
Sound: Serious Business
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: United States Oregon
Posts: 8,255
Dr. Zhivago can recite pi backwardsDr. Zhivago can recite pi backwardsDr. Zhivago can recite pi backwardsDr. Zhivago can recite pi backwardsDr. Zhivago can recite pi backwardsDr. Zhivago can recite pi backwardsDr. Zhivago can recite pi backwards


Default

K
__________________


Bedroom PC - Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3 - AMD 1100T @3.7/4GHz - H50 - 8GB DDR3-1600 - HD 7870 OC - Samsung 840 250GB - WD 640GB Blue - Xonar DX - LG BDROM - Logitech 6110 - TT Volos - Antec 900 - CM 500W PSU - Samsung 32" HDTV - Onkyo TX-SR606 - BIC L/R & MTX Surround Speakers - Mission C70 Center - Sony 10" Sub - Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit

HTPC - Gigabyte GA-890GPA~UD3H - AthlonII X4 630 - HD6450 - 8GB DDR3-1333 - WD 500GB Black - WD 640GB Green - WD 2TB Green - LG BDROM - Ceton InfiniTV 4 w/ MCE Remote - Logitech MX5000 Laser Desktop - Corsair 450W - Silverstone LC10B-E - Sharp Aquos 46" HDTV - Onkyo TX-SR606 - PE 15" Sub - Classic Mission Speakers - Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit

Office PC - Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H - Intel 3570K - 16GB DDR3-1866 - HD 7950 FLEX - Samsung 840 250GB - WD 500GB Blue - WD 1TB Black - Xonar DX - Corsair 600W PSU - Antec ON1E - Logitech G5 - Logitech USB Media KB - AOC 23" LCD - Creative Inspire 2.1 - Windows 10 Pro 64Bit

5x Presentation Machines - Gigabyte GA-990XA-UD3 - FX-8350 w/ FX WC - 8GB DDR3-1600 - 5870 or 7870 Eyefinity 6 - 2x Samsung 840 EVO 120GB - WD 500GB Black - DVDRW - Cooler Master Sileo 500 - 600W PSU - Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit - Office 2010 Pro
Dr. Zhivago is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2013, 09:06 PM   #5
metroidfox
dAMD fanATical nVidiot
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 6,735
metroidfox can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultymetroidfox can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

The Mantle performance analysis videos really showed how much overhead can happen with DirectX. I'll be curious to see what the effects of this on Battlefield 4 are. I don't think it's a CPU limited game, is it?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Koenig39
Okeh zhentlemain, we well commonce spe-cial operashun "Surraindair" at four-dirty. We well sneek pass dair defances wid our whayt flags held hagh!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pr()ZaC
Spyre, I told you before! I won't let you have mensechs with metroidfox nor give you the secret address to the admins p0rn server! :drool:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Villainess
:lol: @ sig ............ now get me OUTTA THERE!! :mad:
metroidfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2013, 09:10 PM   #6
Redeemed
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: United States Out in the sticks...
Posts: 6,892
Redeemed achieves Nirvana on Tuesdays at 4:00pmRedeemed achieves Nirvana on Tuesdays at 4:00pmRedeemed achieves Nirvana on Tuesdays at 4:00pmRedeemed achieves Nirvana on Tuesdays at 4:00pmRedeemed achieves Nirvana on Tuesdays at 4:00pmRedeemed achieves Nirvana on Tuesdays at 4:00pmRedeemed achieves Nirvana on Tuesdays at 4:00pmRedeemed achieves Nirvana on Tuesdays at 4:00pmRedeemed achieves Nirvana on Tuesdays at 4:00pmRedeemed achieves Nirvana on Tuesdays at 4:00pmRedeemed achieves Nirvana on Tuesdays at 4:00pm


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by metroidfox View Post
The Mantle performance analysis videos really showed how much overhead can happen with DirectX. I'll be curious to see what the effects of this on Battlefield 4 are. I don't think it's a CPU limited game, is it?
Hmm... interesting point. I have to confess I've stopped following the game. But from what I recall it doesn't seem to be entirely CPU limited.

However, I'm sure that's with the latest and greatest from Intel. Maybe it is with an FX series? So maybe Mantle would grant a massive performance boost to FX users, while not so much for folks using higher-end Intel CPUs?

Very interesting point. You'd think they'd choose a launch title that'd really showcase Mantle's pontential, if BF4 isn't very CPU-limited, how good of a showcase will it really be?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akumajo View Post
a prime time magnifying glass of clusterfark shatstorm brewery.
Quote:
Originally Posted by wabbitslayer View Post
congratulations on the anniversary of your emancipation from the Great Uterine Squeeze.
Quote:
Originally Posted by swingline View Post
There are two types of people in the world: those that are humble and those that will be.
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2013, 09:14 PM   #7
metroidfox
dAMD fanATical nVidiot
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 6,735
metroidfox can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultymetroidfox can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Heh, yeah. I think in that Mantle performance talk, they said that in the benchmark they were running an FX-8350/8320 downclocked to 2Ghz was equivalent to the 4770k, so yeah, huge boost in CPU-bound situations. For some reason, I also think they said that it would help with the minimum frame situations, which may or may not make sense? That would be pretty significant itself if true.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Koenig39
Okeh zhentlemain, we well commonce spe-cial operashun "Surraindair" at four-dirty. We well sneek pass dair defances wid our whayt flags held hagh!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pr()ZaC
Spyre, I told you before! I won't let you have mensechs with metroidfox nor give you the secret address to the admins p0rn server! :drool:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Villainess
:lol: @ sig ............ now get me OUTTA THERE!! :mad:
metroidfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2013, 06:11 AM   #8
seanR3D
Radeon R700
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 719
seanR3D can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyseanR3D can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyseanR3D can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by metroidfox View Post
The Mantle performance analysis videos really showed how much overhead can happen with DirectX. I'll be curious to see what the effects of this on Battlefield 4 are. I don't think it's a CPU limited game, is it?
It's not.
__________________
http://twitter.com/seanridgeley
seanR3D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2013, 11:31 AM   #9
The PyroPath
Qualified Thread Killer
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Netherlands Koog aan de Zaan, The Netherlands
Posts: 2,582
The PyroPath knows why the caged bird singsThe PyroPath knows why the caged bird singsThe PyroPath knows why the caged bird singsThe PyroPath knows why the caged bird singsThe PyroPath knows why the caged bird singsThe PyroPath knows why the caged bird sings


Default

You can be CPU limited without loading the CPU 100% you know. Have a look at the live demo/presentation in the news section and you'll see what I mean.
__________________
Feel the Heat Frying your brain
The PyroPath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2013, 01:10 PM   #10
Qb2k5
Alienware Certified
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: United States South Florida
Posts: 12,434
Qb2k5 is still being judged by the masses


Default

With all the crap that DICE is getting from lawsuits and such due to BF4 technical issues, I wasn't surprised at all by this news. I hope Mantle does see the day of light one day. If not mid year of next year.
Qb2k5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2013, 02:20 PM   #11
noko
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 8,691
noko once held a door open for a complete strangernoko once held a door open for a complete strangernoko once held a door open for a complete strangernoko once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

I wonder if some Mantle demo's are in the works from AMD? Would make sense to have some demo's released showing benefits. Waiting on a whole AAA game to show case Mantle seems to be a first. While a collaborative effort between parties it is suppose to be open in the end for anyone to use is how I understand it.

It does look like BF4 was launched before ready and to me that is solely EA's fault. BF4 rapidly has been improved in a rather short period of time by Dice to their credit.
noko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2013, 07:30 PM   #12
seanR3D
Radeon R700
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 719
seanR3D can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyseanR3D can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyseanR3D can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Qb2k5 View Post
With all the crap that DICE is getting from lawsuits and such due to BF4 technical issues, I wasn't surprised at all by this news. I hope Mantle does see the day of light one day. If not mid year of next year.
I've heard rumors this is why it was delayed, yes. Makes sense.
Quote:
Originally Posted by noko View Post
I wonder if some Mantle demo's are in the works from AMD? Would make sense to have some demo's released showing benefits. Waiting on a whole AAA game to show case Mantle seems to be a first. While a collaborative effort between parties it is suppose to be open in the end for anyone to use is how I understand it.

It does look like BF4 was launched before ready and to me that is solely EA's fault. BF4 rapidly has been improved in a rather short period of time by Dice to their credit.
Have you not seen this?

You're grossly misattributing blame and credit due to bias. DICE has stated the issues are ultimately their fault, and I'm very inclined to agree given every game they've ever released has been rushed and severely lacking in polish (EA has rushed some studios and caused issues, but plenty of games they've published have come out very polished, too). DICE has fixed the major issues in relatively short order, but this should be merely expected as the least they can do after releasing a broken game in the first place, not lauded.
__________________
http://twitter.com/seanridgeley

Last edited by seanR3D : Dec 31, 2013 at 07:36 PM.
seanR3D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2014, 12:54 AM   #13
noko
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 8,691
noko once held a door open for a complete strangernoko once held a door open for a complete strangernoko once held a door open for a complete strangernoko once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by seanR3D View Post
I've heard rumors this is why it was delayed, yes. Makes sense.


Have you not seen this?

You're grossly misattributing blame and credit due to bias. DICE has stated the issues are ultimately their fault, and I'm very inclined to agree given every game they've ever released has been rushed and severely lacking in polish (EA has rushed some studios and caused issues, but plenty of games they've published have come out very polished, too). DICE has fixed the major issues in relatively short order, but this should be merely expected as the least they can do after releasing a broken game in the first place, not lauded.
No bias, yes DICE is doing a great job in fixing the game rapidly. Still think EA is has a big culprit in how tested, expectations and maybe just demands from them due to time.
noko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2014, 08:44 PM   #14
AluminumHaste
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Canada Home
Posts: 8,238
AluminumHaste can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyAluminumHaste can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyAluminumHaste can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Qb2k5 View Post
With all the crap that DICE is getting from lawsuits and such due to BF4 technical issues, I wasn't surprised at all by this news. I hope Mantle does see the day of light one day. If not mid year of next year.
From my understanding it's EA getting sued, not Dice.
Dice better not go ANYWHERE! I NEED Mirror's Edge 2!
Played the first one to death so much that I feel like I'm becoming a necrophiliac.
__________________
(\_/)
(O.o)
(> <)
AluminumHaste is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2014, 10:14 PM   #15
Akumajo
White Devil Bastard
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 5,542
Akumajo once held a door open for a complete strangerAkumajo once held a door open for a complete strangerAkumajo once held a door open for a complete strangerAkumajo once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

For your video gaming sakes EA better not go anywhere either...they are the publisher who funds these devs with $$$$$$ and who no doubt are pushing the software tech to stand out from rival Activision' CoD cash cow.

First year console games will always have flaws at least EA is supporting DICE here for tapping and mastering these current gen consoles as early as possible and PC gamers will benefit huge.
__________________
3 Sony PlayStation 3 60GBs Artic Silver since Jan 2011.
Sony PlayStation 2, Sega Saturn, X-Eye, DC. Nintendo consoles NES, SNES, N64, GC. NEC Turbo Duo
AMD A10-6700, AMD A8-3520m, AMD Phenom II X6 1100t X4 980, Athlon X2 6400+, Nvidia GeForce GTX 285 EVGA FTW, GeForce GTS 250 1GB

"Originally Posted by Napoleonic View Post
If anything there's just still too many guilible people in the fanbase willing to accept this garbage star wars disney/Kennedy edition."

Helghast... till the end of days!!
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ruxcT6LEVzk Disney Star Wars SUCKS
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QESGXTFFZXM Kaz PTVD
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dogMXzbz9js
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L--rU3Wq3WU My Bugatti V
Akumajo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3DMark next delayed till January 2013; features new DX10 benchmark also caveman-jim Front Page News 0 Dec 10, 2012 09:20 AM
Battlefield 1943 for PC delayed Serotonin PC Gaming 24 Aug 21, 2009 09:39 PM
Battlefield 1943 Delayed on PC Android1 Front Page News 0 Aug 21, 2009 03:43 PM
Crysis Patch ( January 2008 Maybe ) Hapatingjaky PC Gaming 88 Jan 4, 2008 06:55 PM
It looks like Battlefield 2 is going to be delayed! BroadbandGamer PC Gaming 51 Jan 27, 2005 10:47 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:25 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink