Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Gaming and Computing Forums » General Hardware
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

General Hardware Talk about PCs/Macs, motherboards, CPUs, sound cards, RAM, hard drives, networking and everything else about computer hardware!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Jun 17, 2004, 02:45 AM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
Deftones
Boned
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: United States Iowaaaaaaa
Posts: 5,421
Deftones is still being judged by the masses


Default Build my computer RAGE3D!!! (A newb's 1st build)

So here's the deal...

This is my first build and I ordered an X-Dreamer II Case expecting some instructions or a guide or something with it. I was wrong, there's nothing. So I'm asking for you help to figure out what's what and where it goes and so forth...

Here's the pics with the different wires labelled for easy reference.

Inside the case:


Mounted Mobo:


Better, more detailed view of my Asus nforce2 board:


Side View of Case:


Wire 1:


Wires 2,3, and 4:
Deftones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 17, 2004, 02:47 AM   #2
Deftones
Boned
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: United States Iowaaaaaaa
Posts: 5,421
Deftones is still being judged by the masses


Default

Wires 5 and 6, a couple of times:



Wires 7 and 8:



She sure is pretty aint she:




I have about $500 worth of stuff in my newegg cart waiting to be ordered, but I want to figure this stuff out first because I know i won't have problems with the cd/disk drives.
Deftones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 17, 2004, 02:59 AM   #3
marqmajere
GeeVooForceDoo
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: United States Ohio, USA
Posts: 2,460
marqmajere is still being judged by the masses


Default

Your mobo manual has the proper instructions on which wires go where.
__________________
Desktop - | Intel i7-4790 | 16 gigs DDR3 1866 | Fury-X | Windows 10 64-bit
marqmajere is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Jun 17, 2004, 03:02 AM   #4
The_Riddla
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Kasnas
Posts: 789
The_Riddla is still being judged by the masses


Default

i love that case.. i have the black one..

i dont know about your mobo, but mine came with a manual on the mobo, so i found out where to plug things in.. its basically all a power issue, as long as you have the right things plugged into power devices, you'll get the lights, and temp gague.. there a little white wire with a plastic round cap on the end, thats the thermomiter (sp) for the gague..
The_Riddla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 17, 2004, 03:25 AM   #5
Deftones
Boned
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: United States Iowaaaaaaa
Posts: 5,421
Deftones is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by marqmajere
Your mobo manual has the proper instructions on which wires go where.
It has more like: hdd light here, reset switch connection here, system power LED here... thats about it...
Deftones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 17, 2004, 03:47 AM   #6
Crystallas
Chicagos Best Studios
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 376
Crystallas is still being judged by the masses


Default

no, it has everything.. if you cant find where something goes after you get all the power switches.. either its an extra ground, led or some soft of crazy function unsupported.

The manual has EVERYTHING. You dont need the manual either. The board says it all in small writing aswell. All of it is in the lower right hand corner. The rest of the wires will be USB/FW or Audio. Then you need to comply that with the arangement that asus has setup with the usb controller.
__________________
Too many systems to name.

Your Chicagoland Audio and Video Master, Restore and Remastering Source since 1991.
Crystallas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 17, 2004, 04:50 AM   #7
Gator
Unreal Android
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: United States Connecticut
Posts: 11,894
Gator is still being judged by the masses


Subscriber
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by marqmajere
Your mobo manual has the proper instructions on which wires go where.
Yes, and if you don't have the paper manual you can download the PDF file on another PC and print out the pages you need. Don't have another PC? Go to your local public library.

Not to be insensitive here, but I'm not gonna walk you thru how to connect the front panel connectors. Of all the things when building a PC, I dread this most, it requires you looking back and forth in the manual, and checking to make sure you didn't reverse the positive and negative ends. It's a pain in the neck, and they really have not improved the process over the years, you just gotta sit there and do it like the rest of us. I'm sorry.
Gator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 17, 2004, 06:18 AM   #8
cmar
Radeon Sea Islands
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Australia The Great South East
Posts: 3,038
cmar is still being judged by the masses


Default

Oh so true Gator, when are they going to make an ISO standard for M/B connector plugs. Then you could just pop on a standard plug regardless of M/B brand.
__________________
Once I used to have a life - then I bought a PC
cmar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 17, 2004, 06:37 AM   #9
Smart1
Self ******
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Americas
Posts: 1,574
Smart1 is still being judged by the masses


Default

rtfm!!!!!!!!
__________________
t('.'t)
Smart1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 17, 2004, 05:49 PM   #10
Gandalfthewhite
Hardware Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: United States Middle Earth also known as AZ
Posts: 9,396
Gandalfthewhite is not someone to be trifled withGandalfthewhite is not someone to be trifled withGandalfthewhite is not someone to be trifled withGandalfthewhite is not someone to be trifled withGandalfthewhite is not someone to be trifled withGandalfthewhite is not someone to be trifled withGandalfthewhite is not someone to be trifled withGandalfthewhite is not someone to be trifled with


Subscriber
Default

100% agree they NEED to make a standard plug for power reset leds and **** it makes life a hell of a lot easier if they did
__________________
Main rig: look at system spec tab
Storage Server: Dual AMD Opteron 6120 CPUs, 64Gigs ECC Ram 50TB usable space across 3 zfs2 pools


HOURGLASS = most appropriate named ICON/CURSOR in the Windows world :-)

In a dank corner of ATI central, the carpet covered with corn flakes, the faint sound of clicking can be heard........Click......click, click............as the fate of the graphics world and the future of the human race hangs in the balance.

I know....I know........Keep my day job :-)- catcather
Gandalfthewhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 17, 2004, 05:55 PM   #11
Dave
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Dave Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 21,519
Dave is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialDave is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialDave is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialDave is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialDave is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialDave is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialDave is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialDave is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialDave is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialDave is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialDave is on Chuck Norris' speed-dial


Subscriber
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Gandalfthewhite
100% agree they NEED to make a standard plug for power reset leds and **** it makes life a hell of a lot easier if they did
yeah tell me about it. also i hate it when you get your case and look at all the connectors for usb, firewire, power, reset, and audio. and all you see is a bunch of single black connectors thinking erm yeah.
Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Someone help me build a computer? VVanks General Hardware 82 Sep 18, 2010 07:25 PM
Need help with a computer build Cordl3ssPen General Hardware 5 Nov 2, 2008 05:15 PM
New Computer: What to Build? BobbyRPI2712 General Hardware 8 Dec 8, 2005 01:08 PM
Help me build a $350 computer T07N General Hardware 11 Apr 8, 2005 04:16 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:47 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink