Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Gaming and Computing Forums » General Hardware
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

General Hardware Talk about PCs/Macs, motherboards, CPUs, sound cards, RAM, hard drives, networking and everything else about computer hardware!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Oct 26, 2003, 08:39 AM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
WhAt3v3r
Radeon Northern Islands
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: United States Too many of me to keep track
Posts: 2,236
WhAt3v3r is still being judged by the masses


Default question about intel ee chip

what socket will the new intel ee chip be? will it run on the mobo's out now?
__________________
“The more powerful and original a mind, the more it will incline towards the religion of solitude.”― Aldous Huxley
WhAt3v3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2003, 10:51 AM   #2
shady078
Radeon R700
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 794
shady078 is still being judged by the masses


Default

yeah, socket 478. Supposedly doesnt even need a bios update.. you want to pay $925 for a 3.2ghz intel chip though?
__________________
My System:
i7 920 'D0' @ 3.7Ghz w/ Ven-X
6GB DDR3 1333
Gigabyte X58A-U3DR
Sapphire HD7970 3GB
OCZ Vertex 60GB SSD (OS Drive) fw-1.41
WD Caviar 500GB 7200rpm hdd w/16mb cache
Antec TruePower Trio 850 Modular Power Supply
Silverstone Raven RV-02
Windows 7 Profesional x64
Apple 27" LED Cinema Display
shady078 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2003, 04:11 PM   #3
blindskaters3
Radeon R700
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: United Kingdom Bristol
Posts: 827
blindskaters3 is still being judged by the masses


Default

if i had £1000 i would to spend on a cpu
blindskaters3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Oct 26, 2003, 08:21 PM   #4
PlanDreaM
Radeon R700
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: ATHENS,GREECE
Posts: 846
PlanDreaM is still being judged by the masses


Default

no way.too much money for a cpu...get a 21 inch monitor.
__________________
[color=Blue]ATHLON64S9394400+/DFICFX3200DR/1GBBH5/X800XL/WINX64
P31.0GhzCC0/512MBRAM(2-2-2/133)/V4500AGPTV/DEBIANSARGEUNSTABLE
P166MMX 64MBRAM/MGA MYSTIQUE 2MB/LINUX SERVER
P43.0E/IC7-G/512MBRAM/R950064MB8pIs310MHz/UBUNTU6.10/color]
3DFX N O T DEAD.REVENGE IS COMING.
PlanDreaM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2003, 10:47 AM   #5
WhAt3v3r
Radeon Northern Islands
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: United States Too many of me to keep track
Posts: 2,236
WhAt3v3r is still being judged by the masses


Default

925$!!!! wow, i did not realize it was that much. im running a barton [email protected] speed. my mobo does not support 400fsb. and i can't raise the fsb too much because i can't lock the pci/agp. so im maxed out on this mobo. the only thing i can upgrade to is the 3000+ 333fsb xp. not worth it. i was looking at the amd 64 but from what i hear the intel chip will be alot better. i don't want to upgrade the mobo because no more xp's will be made and kind of a waste to upgrade to a board if it has no future. so iwas looking at a abit ic7 and the 2.4c 800fsb intel and was going to oc to 3.0(if possible). i think for both 320$. if the new chip was same socket as the p4 i was going to go that route. even if i wait a year to get the intel ee chip at least i could use the same mobo. i read in max pc's nov issue that in mid 2004 amd will be releasing the 64 fx with the memory controller to support unbuffered ddr ram and maybe even add ddr2 support.and when they do amd will move to a new socket 939 interface. socket 939 will be incompatible with 940. amd said the 64fx will be offered in socket 940 through 2004. so upgrade to a mobo so i can use it for a year? that's the situation im in now. bought the mobo in feb and its done. no more athalon xp's. so should i wait until amd releases the 939 or go wth the intel?
__________________
“The more powerful and original a mind, the more it will incline towards the religion of solitude.”― Aldous Huxley

Last edited by WhAt3v3r : Oct 27, 2003 at 10:51 AM.
WhAt3v3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Intel x58 may have Hydra chip hd5boros General Hardware 21 Dec 22, 2008 05:51 PM
Intel TB chip??? Interesting :D moshpit Industry Rumours and Speculation [Archived] 15 Sep 29, 2006 09:28 AM
intel ee chip available??? WhAt3v3r General Hardware 17 Nov 3, 2003 10:02 PM
Looking for a new Intel motherboard and chip OTE General Hardware 9 Nov 12, 2002 03:41 PM
Intel Chip/Proc and FPS ... TeXmeX Radeon Technical Support 1 May 2, 2002 12:23 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:16 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink