Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Graphics Technology Forums » Legacy ATI Discussion and Technical Support » Remote Wonder and Plug-In Discussion
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Remote Wonder and Plug-In Discussion ATI's brand new video card...err I meant remote control! Discuss the software and hardware, and show off your Plug-Ins in development here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Nov 28, 2002, 03:25 AM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
ermon
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Posts: 9
ermon is still being judged by the masses


Cool A different girder plugin - FULL control over remote functionality.

Hi all..

I managed to put together a plugin for girder which gives full functionality over the ATI remote (and X10 remotes of the same family) - ALL the buttons are accounted for.

It bypasses ATI's software altogether, though. It's probably not a good idea to run both at the same time.
(It interfaces directly to X10's control dll - x10net.dll)

Anyway, it's posted out on the girder plugin page under 'X10/ATI remote plugin'.
(http://www.girder.nl/plugins.php)

If anyone is interested, I have a GML file that does a good job with mouse emulation and stuff, which is the only thing I missed in the transition from ATI's software to girder.

Please play around with it a little, and let me know if there are any problems, or if you have ideas for improvements.

Enjoy!
-Eyal

P.S: If anyone is interested in the source, I intend to release it soon - After I clean it up a little.
-Eyal
ermon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2002, 06:50 AM   #2
ermon
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Posts: 9
ermon is still being judged by the masses


Exclamation Oops.. Problem with distribution - Sorry

** Flash update **
Please wait before downloading, there was an erroneous link in the distribution that should be fixed within the next few hours.

For those who already downloaded - Please wait and download again when the site is updated(or you can try and download borlndmm.dll)
** End of flash update **

Sorry for the inconvenience,
-Eyal

Last edited by ermon : Nov 28, 2002 at 07:09 AM.
ermon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2002, 07:54 AM   #3
ermon
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Posts: 9
ermon is still being judged by the masses


Default Back to normal..

Ok.

The Girder plugin page is updated - And this version should work for you (hopefully)

Again, I apologize for the inconvenience,
-Eyal
ermon is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Dec 1, 2002, 05:17 AM   #4
ACClarke
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: france
Posts: 2
ACClarke is still being judged by the masses


Default

A really great plugin !!!
Very good for me because I'm a Girder addict , it's more powerfull than ati plugin system.
Now I can use all the buttons, that's great.

I have only one bug with your plugin, it takes a long time to shut down Girder under win98.

thank's for all !
ACClarke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2002, 05:33 AM   #5
mazy
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 22
mazy is still being judged by the masses


Default

ACClarke, did you manage to somehow setup girder to do same thing as ati's soft for maximizing apps? (ie you have to maximize not maximized window and vice versa, but i haven't found a way to check that status in girder)
mazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2002, 10:19 AM   #6
ACClarke
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: france
Posts: 2
ACClarke is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by mazy
ACClarke, did you manage to somehow setup girder to do same thing as ati's soft for maximizing apps? (ie you have to maximize not maximized window and vice versa, but i haven't found a way to check that status in girder)
I maximize windows only on bsplayer , I emulate "f" key

I can't do anything for your problem !
sorry !
ACClarke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2002, 12:14 AM   #7
misteurz
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1
misteurz is still being judged by the masses


Default

please could you send me a gml file for girder which have the remote wonder's default functions (mouse, ...)

thanx
misteurz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2002, 02:58 PM   #8
ermon
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Posts: 9
ermon is still being judged by the masses


Default

OK,

I posted mouse functionality GML on Girder forum's tips and tricks section - A direct link is http://www.girder.nl/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=3137.

(note that this functionality is slightly different, but can easily be adjusted).

The numeric keypad and the arrows are fairly easy to program in Girder.

I haven't done any work replicating the ATI's original functionality, as I have little need of the ATI-specialized software.

As for the play/stop/etc. I still haven't been successful in generating the appropriate WM_APPCOMMAND messages from Girder..
They are not supported by the TV app I am using, so it doesn't bother me too much.

Once I solve that problem, I will probably update the plugin distribution to include a skeleton GML file for the remote.

Hope this helps,
-Eyal
ermon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2003, 08:25 PM   #9
avekevin
Radeon R100
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North Bay, California, USA
Posts: 29
avekevin is still being judged by the masses


Default

I am using this plugin and experiencing what appears to be lockups in the plugin. I can solve the problem be either completely restarting Girder or by killing the plugin (via the run32dll process) then resetting the plugin in the Girder app.

I have noticed that the plugin crashes most often if the Girder app is in the forground or an overlay window is open, but it crashes under other use as well.

Have you experienced this problem, and is there an update that might address these issues?

Thanks,

Kevin
avekevin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2003, 10:03 PM   #10
benjanet
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 12
benjanet is still being judged by the masses


Default AWSOME PLUGIN

This plug in works great. I have finally hijacked all the ATI specific buttons for my HTPC.

One quirk though, is getting the cursor to move, using mouse control actions associated with the directional pad. I can move the cursor one step at a time, and I can set the step to whatever I want, but when I hold the d-pad, it uses a different command:

X10_RT_*****

Instead of X10_UP_* or X10_DN_*
Whenever a button is held down. How am I supposed to move any distance? I haven't been able to capture the X10_RT_**** commands, so its hard to repeat something, such as a cursor move, or volume change.

Aside from that, it works perfect! Awsome job.

Ben
benjanet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2003, 12:10 AM   #11
ermon
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Posts: 9
ermon is still being judged by the masses


Default Mouse control, and repeated messages

Hi,

Regarding the mouse movement issues commented on in the last message:
* I have posted a mouse movement script that does smooth mouse movement and acceleration on the girder forums. You can find it (and some improvements made on it) at http://www.girder.nl/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=3137.

Secondly, regarding the _RT_ messages - These happen for all of the remote buttons.
Basically on 'Key down' the remote sends a _DN_ message, on 'Key Up' it sends a _UP_ message, and if the key remains down for a while, it sends _RT_ messages at regular intervals - This is a feature of the X10 COM object which I just let through, as I find it usefull. To get repeated keypresses, for example, you would point both the _DN_ and the _RT_ messages at the same command.

Seondly, I am trying to pinpoint the problem reported by avekevin (and others on the Girder forums) - If anyone can contribute some information on this, please e-mail or PM me
(the e-mail address can be found in the readme that comes with the plugin, or on the Girder plugin download page)

Hope this helps,
-Eyal
ermon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2003, 08:39 AM   #12
ngifford
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 5
ngifford is still being judged by the masses


Default Mouse movement

With the help of Ermon's scripts I was able to modify them to control the mouse more smoothly. I think some work could be done to accelerate like the remote does, however this is a big step.

When you press the mouse movement (ATI Remote specifically) the mouse will begin to accelerate. After pressing the button you have 1.5 seconds before the mouse goes back into "slow" mode.

check it out.

http://members.rogers.com/ultimatefr...teDownload.htm

thanks
ngifford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2003, 06:51 PM   #13
Ice =A=
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Heidelberg, Germany
Posts: 21
Ice =A= is still being judged by the masses


Default

A really GREAT plugin, my compliments @ ermon!
It not only let me program all the buttons I wanted but also solved a problem with ATIs drivers (which didn't work very well in my case).
(Btw: The mouse works great as well just using Girder and programming all the keys.)

And your tips regarding mouse movement (or just keeping one button pressed) came too late for me but surely are what many have been looking for!

So keep up the good work and thanks for helping ATI out where they needed it!
Ice =A= is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2003, 09:51 AM   #14
Fa310tx
Radeon R200
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: United States Branson, MO
Posts: 59
Fa310tx is still being judged by the masses


Default

Hello...
I'm wondering if different apps can have different button programming with this plugin.
IE...Can the volume up button be the up arrow for BSplayer and + in wmp9?
Those are just examples, though.
JJ
Fa310tx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2003, 09:56 AM   #15
avekevin
Radeon R100
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North Bay, California, USA
Posts: 29
avekevin is still being judged by the masses


Default

avekevin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2003, 06:16 PM   #16
Fa310tx
Radeon R200
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: United States Branson, MO
Posts: 59
Fa310tx is still being judged by the masses


Default

BTW...
People sometimes want to make things much harder than they need to be.
I was able to get the same button/different apps/different keys working just fine by having one program's button without "alternative proc" checked and the other one with "alternative proc" checked. I also used the target button on each to specify the executable to run the keypress for.
I had the fullscreen button of the ati remote wonder set to "z" for powerdvd and "alt+enter" for media player classic. I just tested both and they worked perfectly.
JJ
Fa310tx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 2005, 10:27 AM   #17
Petiso
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1
Petiso is still being judged by the masses


Default

Do you know if the soruce code it's relased ?

Bye and thanks.
Petiso is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where to d/l winamp 5 Remote Wonder Plugin? Angryguy Remote Wonder and Plug-In Discussion 1 Apr 13, 2005 03:40 PM
Remote Wonder 2 Plugin wetdagger Remote Wonder and Plug-In Discussion 5 Feb 13, 2004 07:18 PM
QCD Remote wonder Plugin madavis2045 Remote Wonder and Plug-In Discussion 0 Mar 13, 2003 12:53 AM
Does MMC 7.7.0.1 have Remote Wonder functionality built-in? GL* AIW / Multimedia Discussion and Technical Support 1 Aug 20, 2002 01:09 AM
Girder plugin for ShowShifter Steve T. AIW / Multimedia Discussion and Technical Support 0 Aug 4, 2002 02:51 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:26 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink