Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Graphics Technology Forums » AMD Radeon Discussion and Support
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

AMD Radeon Discussion and Support General discussion, tweaking, overclocking and technical support questions about discrete Radeon graphics products.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Apr 28, 2002, 03:25 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
JasonQG
Super Moderator Monkey
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: California
Posts: 5,498
JasonQG is still being judged by the masses


Default Join Team Rage3D and Save Lives

This is long, but please at least skim it.

Do you want to give back to the community? Do you want to save lives, including lives of loved ones and even your own? Do you want to have a lot of fun in a competition? Do you want to win free prizes? Do you want an avatar without 1000 posts? This is what can be accomplished by joining Team Rage3D and running [email protected]

[email protected] is a small program that you run on your computer. It uses your spare CPU cycles to help cure diseases like cancer and Alzheimer's. You won't even notice it, and you'll be doing a lot of good.

Still not convinced? Here's a short list of some of the reasons why you should be running this program:

1. SAVE LIVES
This is the obvious one. It cures diseases. You might save your own life running this program.

2. EASY TO DO
It's easy. You don't have to take a bunch of biology classes or something. Just run a program.

3. COMMUNITY
You support your favorite site, Rage3D. This is more than a video card site; this is a community. This is one of the many ways you can be a part of this great community.

4. COMPETITION
It's a fun competition. There are statistics showing which teams are doing best, and stats showing which individuals are doing best. Think you've got the fastest computer at Rage3D? Prove it.

5. PRIZES
There are prizes! Periodically, we have random drawings amongst active folders for great prizes. There will be more of these drawings in the future, so you better get in on the action before it's too late.

6. AVATARS
Active members of the team are entitled to an official Team Rage3D avatar without having to wait until 1000 posts. They're available in a variety of colors, and all the cool kids have 'em.

Frankly, I don't see why you wouldn't join the team. For more information about the project, instructions to join, and a place to post your questions, head over to the Distributed Computing Forum.
__________________
I'm so sane, it's driving me crazy.
-Barenaked Ladies - "Falling For the First Time"

My computer's saving lives. What's yours doing?
[email protected] (Team Rage3D)
JasonQG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 2002, 08:06 PM   #2
JasonQG
Super Moderator Monkey
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: California
Posts: 5,498
JasonQG is still being judged by the masses


Default

Guys, we need your help more than ever. Our top producer is currently out of commission and we're going to need all the help we can get to make up the difference.
__________________
I'm so sane, it's driving me crazy.
-Barenaked Ladies - "Falling For the First Time"

My computer's saving lives. What's yours doing?
[email protected] (Team Rage3D)
JasonQG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 20, 2002, 09:21 PM   #3
Satch
Radeon R520
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Greece Hellas
Posts: 396
Satch is still being judged by the masses


Default

Can I register through the Rage3D (tweak)?
__________________

the World is a dreamy illusion
Satch is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Jul 21, 2002, 03:58 AM   #4
JasonQG
Super Moderator Monkey
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: California
Posts: 5,498
JasonQG is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Satch
Can I register through the Rage3D (tweak)?
If you mean that you're running [email protected] through the tweaker and want to fold under your own name, go to "C:\folding" and open "client.cfg" in a text editor (like notepad). Replace "Rage3D Tweak User" with whatever name you want and save the file.
__________________
I'm so sane, it's driving me crazy.
-Barenaked Ladies - "Falling For the First Time"

My computer's saving lives. What's yours doing?
[email protected] (Team Rage3D)
JasonQG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2002, 10:41 AM   #5
Evnas
Radeon R520
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 516
Evnas is still being judged by the masses


Default

Alright, i got the program running and everything...so when do i get my avatar?! *gets all excited* Great causes though, glad i joined
__________________
2100+ TBredB at 2.4Ghz (14x170) at 32C load
SLK 800 with Vantec Tornado 80mm fan
Radeon 9500 Pro (330/315 on Catalyst 3.1) 13451 3D marks
EPoX 8RDA (non + version)
512mb PC2700 (will upgrade to 1GB of Corsair PC3200 when funds are available)
SB Live! 5.1 Platinum
Windows XP Pro with SP1 and DirectX 9

ATi and Intel fanboy! :)
Evnas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2002, 10:39 PM   #6
marcoyeo
Radeon R100
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: sg
Posts: 38
marcoyeo is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Evnas
Alright, i got the program running and everything...so when do i get my avatar?! *gets all excited* Great causes though, glad i joined
will be joining u guys soon. once i get my broadband service.
__________________
[size=0.1]m.a.r.c.o.y.e.o.x.p.r.e.s.s.o
Intel Pentium 4 1.6A * MSI 645 Ultra * 512mb PC2100 DDR * Maxtor D740X 40Gb * Quantum FB 4.3Gb * Hercules 8500LE 64mb * SBLive! DE 5.1 * Cambridge SoundWorks FPS1800 * Sony CD5211 * Iomega 241040 * Samsung 151s * 3COM NIC * Motorola SB4200 SurfBoard Cable Modem
[/size]
marcoyeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2002, 07:49 PM   #7
JasonQG
Super Moderator Monkey
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: California
Posts: 5,498
JasonQG is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Evnas
Alright, i got the program running and everything...so when do i get my avatar?! *gets all excited* Great causes though, glad i joined
http://www.rage3d.com/board/showthre...eadid=33609999

Quote:
Originally posted by marcoyeo
will be joining u guys soon. once i get my broadband service.
You can run it on dial-up, since it doesn't need to connect that frequently, but it's definitely easier on broadband.
__________________
I'm so sane, it's driving me crazy.
-Barenaked Ladies - "Falling For the First Time"

My computer's saving lives. What's yours doing?
[email protected] (Team Rage3D)
JasonQG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2002, 10:16 PM   #8
marcoyeo
Radeon R100
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: sg
Posts: 38
marcoyeo is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by JasonQG
http://www.rage3d.com/board/showthre...eadid=33609999

You can run it on dial-up, since it doesn't need to connect that frequently, but it's definitely easier on broadband.
going get Cable instead, becoz of the bad contracts regulations with the BB ISPs.
__________________
[size=0.1]m.a.r.c.o.y.e.o.x.p.r.e.s.s.o
Intel Pentium 4 1.6A * MSI 645 Ultra * 512mb PC2100 DDR * Maxtor D740X 40Gb * Quantum FB 4.3Gb * Hercules 8500LE 64mb * SBLive! DE 5.1 * Cambridge SoundWorks FPS1800 * Sony CD5211 * Iomega 241040 * Samsung 151s * 3COM NIC * Motorola SB4200 SurfBoard Cable Modem
[/size]
marcoyeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2002, 10:40 PM   #9
JasonQG
Super Moderator Monkey
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: California
Posts: 5,498
JasonQG is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by marcoyeo
going get Cable instead, becoz of the bad contracts regulations with the BB ISPs.
Cable *is* considered broadband.
__________________
I'm so sane, it's driving me crazy.
-Barenaked Ladies - "Falling For the First Time"

My computer's saving lives. What's yours doing?
[email protected] (Team Rage3D)
JasonQG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2002, 06:49 AM   #10
marcoyeo
Radeon R100
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: sg
Posts: 38
marcoyeo is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by JasonQG
Cable *is* considered broadband.
slightly different in SPore ma..
__________________
[size=0.1]m.a.r.c.o.y.e.o.x.p.r.e.s.s.o
Intel Pentium 4 1.6A * MSI 645 Ultra * 512mb PC2100 DDR * Maxtor D740X 40Gb * Quantum FB 4.3Gb * Hercules 8500LE 64mb * SBLive! DE 5.1 * Cambridge SoundWorks FPS1800 * Sony CD5211 * Iomega 241040 * Samsung 151s * 3COM NIC * Motorola SB4200 SurfBoard Cable Modem
[/size]
marcoyeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2002, 09:16 AM   #11
Evnas
Radeon R520
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 516
Evnas is still being judged by the masses


Default

it would be faster there then where i live probably. I live in the heart of Seattle and have it, still get awesome speeds and there probably tons of ppl on my "network"
__________________
2100+ TBredB at 2.4Ghz (14x170) at 32C load
SLK 800 with Vantec Tornado 80mm fan
Radeon 9500 Pro (330/315 on Catalyst 3.1) 13451 3D marks
EPoX 8RDA (non + version)
512mb PC2700 (will upgrade to 1GB of Corsair PC3200 when funds are available)
SB Live! 5.1 Platinum
Windows XP Pro with SP1 and DirectX 9

ATi and Intel fanboy! :)
Evnas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2002, 01:34 PM   #12
KaBomber
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: N.California
Posts: 129
KaBomber is still being judged by the masses


Default

is there any way to make more that 50% cpu utilization? I want more power to be used!
__________________
Athlon 64 [email protected]
Connect 3d x1800xl
Ati HDTV Wonder
2x512mb Patriot pc3200
KaBomber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2002, 12:05 AM   #13
JasonQG
Super Moderator Monkey
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: California
Posts: 5,498
JasonQG is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by KaBomber
is there any way to make more that 50% cpu utilization? I want more power to be used!
Looks like you've got two CPUs, so it's only using one right now. What you need to do is run two instances of [email protected] Each needs to be in a different directory, and each has to have a different ID in the config. Run both and you should get 100% CPU usage. If you have any more questions, hop into the Distributed Computing forum.
__________________
I'm so sane, it's driving me crazy.
-Barenaked Ladies - "Falling For the First Time"

My computer's saving lives. What's yours doing?
[email protected] (Team Rage3D)
JasonQG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2002, 04:39 PM   #14
KaBomber
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: N.California
Posts: 129
KaBomber is still being judged by the masses


Default

cool, I'm using the console version in addition to the graphical version, utilizing 100%. Hopefully it will show 2 cpus under my username and get more ouput. Thanks.
__________________
Athlon 64 [email protected]
Connect 3d x1800xl
Ati HDTV Wonder
2x512mb Patriot pc3200
KaBomber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2002, 07:22 PM   #15
KaBomber
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: N.California
Posts: 129
KaBomber is still being judged by the masses


Default

I keep getting errors partway through folding on my second core console. Is this because I am trying to use my same username? Otherwise it could be stress running both...
__________________
Athlon 64 [email protected]
Connect 3d x1800xl
Ati HDTV Wonder
2x512mb Patriot pc3200
KaBomber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2002, 09:44 PM   #16
JasonQG
Super Moderator Monkey
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: California
Posts: 5,498
JasonQG is still being judged by the masses


Default

Make sure they're doing different work and not trying to work on the same work unit.
__________________
I'm so sane, it's driving me crazy.
-Barenaked Ladies - "Falling For the First Time"

My computer's saving lives. What's yours doing?
[email protected] (Team Rage3D)
JasonQG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2003, 02:22 PM   #17
Mondo
Radeon R520
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: United States NY,US
Posts: 532
Mondo is still being judged by the masses


Default

I tried re downloading the fold 3.24 program but everytime I run it starts runnning a program called divx anti freeze..
__________________

Sempron 2800 w/MSI Crappy board
Sappire ATI X800 GTO 440/500
Windows XP Pro SP2
1.5GB Kingston ValueRAM [email protected]
REALTEK AC97 Audio
CAT 6.03
Mondo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 1, 2003, 04:25 AM   #18
wandernACE64
heaven ^
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: 5 min from Nvidia HQ
Posts: 1,376
wandernACE64 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Mondo
I tried re downloading the fold 3.24 program but everytime I run it starts runnning a program called divx anti freeze..
WTH
__________________
[email protected] -- personal goal: 35k po!nts...for now.

Join Rage3D's team! [team number: 64]
If you like eating beef and are afraid of getting Mad Cow Disease, then you should join Rage3D's [email protected] team and help to find a cure faster! :)
Thanks for those of YOU who'd joined; YOU are making a difference!

:: direction.diligence.discipline.
wandernACE64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2003, 01:16 AM   #19
Habbs2000
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 7
Habbs2000 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Hey iw as wondering what kind of help whatever it is i will :0
Habbs2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2003, 10:16 PM   #20
Stormy
Radeon R200
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 58
Stormy is still being judged by the masses


Default

I've joined!
__________________
The Terminator is my father
AMD Duron 950 mHz clocked @ 1046 mHz
K7S5A Pro with modded BIOS
ATI All-In-Wonder Readon 8500DV 64mB w/ Omega Drivers @ 261/210.38
Windows Server 2003 as Workstation
Onboard SiS Audio
Toshiba 16x DVD-ROM
32x10x40x CD-RW Drive
2x 128mB sticks
Stormy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 29, 2003, 10:15 PM   #21
madrigal
The toker
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Chillin' with Srila Prabhupada.
Posts: 990
madrigal is still being judged by the masses


Default

sure
__________________
|AsRock K7S8X SiS 746fx Chipset utilizing an AthlonXP 3200+ & 512MB PC2700 DDR-SDRAM
|Sapphire Radeon 9800non-pro 128mb w\pro bios @ 441mhz core & 360mhz ram
|Maxtor 60GB Ata 133 7200rpm w/2mb cache
|Generic 48x16x48 CDR/W
|LG 32x10x40 CDR/W w/8mb cache
|1000kbps DL/200kbps UL Cable Connection
|C-Media 5.1ch Onboard Audio
|Logitech Z-560 THX 400 watt Speakers and Silver Mini-Optical Mouse with MX technology
|ShaderMark 2.0 http://myweb.cableone.net/m1wheeler/...rk_results.txt
|3dMark03 myweb.cableone.net/m1wheeler/3dmark03.jpg
madrigal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 7, 2003, 12:23 AM   #22
Eskimo Dave
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 8
Eskimo Dave is still being judged by the masses


Default

I signed up
Eskimo Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2003, 12:14 PM   #23
Athena
Radeon Caribbean Islands
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: United States Paragon City
Posts: 4,351
Athena once held a door open for a complete strangerAthena once held a door open for a complete strangerAthena once held a door open for a complete strangerAthena once held a door open for a complete stranger


Talking

Cool I just installed the version 3.14 Folding software. Who do I have to E-mail or PM to get my Avatar turned on?
__________________
“Are you at all concerned, as Trump said, that we cannot let the cure be worse than the problem itself?” Haines asked.

Biden noted in his reply that the COVID-19 cure “will make the problem worse, no matter what.”
Athena is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2003, 08:47 AM   #24
Athena
Radeon Caribbean Islands
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: United States Paragon City
Posts: 4,351
Athena once held a door open for a complete strangerAthena once held a door open for a complete strangerAthena once held a door open for a complete strangerAthena once held a door open for a complete stranger


Unhappy

Quote:
Originally posted by Athena
Cool I just installed the version 3.14 Folding software. Who do I have to E-mail or PM to get my Avatar turned on?
Well it is the 22nd now and still no word on getting an Avatar. What a bummer maybe the guys where right about this folding thing.

http://www.rage3d.com/board/showthre...r&pagenumber=4
__________________
“Are you at all concerned, as Trump said, that we cannot let the cure be worse than the problem itself?” Haines asked.

Biden noted in his reply that the COVID-19 cure “will make the problem worse, no matter what.”

Last edited by Athena : Oct 22, 2003 at 08:51 AM.
Athena is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2003, 06:21 AM   #25
Kombatant
K to the max!™
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Canada Scarborough
Posts: 17,210
Kombatant can recite pi backwardsKombatant can recite pi backwardsKombatant can recite pi backwardsKombatant can recite pi backwardsKombatant can recite pi backwardsKombatant can recite pi backwardsKombatant can recite pi backwards


Subscriber
Default

Sorry about that Anyway what you can do is post in this thread: http://www.rage3d.com/board/showthre...eadid=33609999 and wait
__________________
There is no spoon...
Kombatant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2003, 08:33 AM   #26
Athena
Radeon Caribbean Islands
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: United States Paragon City
Posts: 4,351
Athena once held a door open for a complete strangerAthena once held a door open for a complete strangerAthena once held a door open for a complete strangerAthena once held a door open for a complete stranger


Thumbs up

Kool, it is done!!!
__________________
“Are you at all concerned, as Trump said, that we cannot let the cure be worse than the problem itself?” Haines asked.

Biden noted in his reply that the COVID-19 cure “will make the problem worse, no matter what.”
Athena is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2003, 06:11 AM   #27
Leeghoofd
Radeon R700
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 907
Leeghoofd is still being judged by the masses


Default

K its installed, hope it will help society. Indeed such a nice forum , helping peeps out, laterzzz all

Leeghoofd
__________________
P4 3Ghz ASUS P4C800-E Dlx - 1024MB Corsair Cas 2-3-3-6 - 160gb S-ATA 8MB 7200rpm - ATI 9800Pro128mb Omega 3.7 DirectX9C - Samsung Dvdrom - NEC 1300A DVD Writer - Gigabit Lan

AMD 3500+ - Abit AV8 3rd Eye - 1024MB Corsair ram Cas 2-2-2-5 1T - 160 GB Seagate 8mb 7200rpm - GF6800GT 256mb 66.93 release DirectX9C - Samsung DVD rom - Plextor Cd writer - Nec 1300A DVD Writer - Gigabit Lan
Leeghoofd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2004, 01:47 AM   #28
logen1869F
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 5,766
logen1869F is still being judged by the masses


Default

can sombody tell me exactly how this thing cures cancer. i just wana know.

i tried getting it running but i found out it only works for win XP. 2 bad.
logen1869F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2004, 12:14 PM   #29
citywok
Radeon Caribbean Islands
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,486
citywok is still being judged by the masses


Default

if you are referencing the Service installation kit i made yes that only works on Wdinwos 2k and windows XP however if you download the client manually, or just run the EXE in my service installer it should work fine on any windows platform. it just will only run when u have it open, i would suggest setting it up as a scheduled task with a program such as hideitx, check out the DC forum for more info.
citywok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2004, 05:07 AM   #30
m$-MaNiAC
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Netherlands @Home
Posts: 1,298
m$-MaNiAC is still being judged by the masses


Default

Joined... will try it...

If it really helps...

Can i compare it to [email protected]?
m$-MaNiAC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heroic Little Girl Learns How to Save Lives from GTA! ALaz502 Off Topic Lounge 19 Sep 4, 2008 06:46 PM
Seatbelts save lives. Hordsak Off Topic Lounge 43 Mar 13, 2007 11:07 PM
Support Team Rage3D! Start Folding and Save Lives! JasonQG Radeon Technical Support 48 Feb 8, 2005 01:11 PM
Support Team Rage3D! Start Folding and Save Lives! JasonQG AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support 34 Oct 21, 2003 04:37 PM
Show your appreciation for Rage3D and ***save lives*** JasonQG AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 179 Apr 28, 2002 04:45 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:20 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink