Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Graphics Technology Forums » AMD Radeon Discussion and Support
Rage3D Subscribe FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

AMD Radeon Discussion and Support General discussion, tweaking, overclocking and technical support questions about discrete Radeon graphics products.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old May 31, 2001, 08:36 AM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
MR-G
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: A land where all live on pork only
Posts: 113
MR-G is still being judged by the masses


Default Official 7115 out for Win9x

http://support.ati.com/drivers/winme...137115_sp.html

You know the drill, I think they are the same as previous unofficial 7115 but heck I'm installing them anyway.

Cheers to the pig kingdom!!!
MR-G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 2001, 09:08 AM   #2
Percuvius
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia
Posts: 1,868
Percuvius is still being judged by the masses


Default

Those aren't official they are still beta.

Percuvius...
Percuvius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 2001, 09:39 AM   #3
Mystik
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Canada etobicoke
Posts: 5,625
Mystik is still being judged by the masses


Default

Maybe he meant oficically released in beta form. =P
__________________
low yield toner cartridge.
Mystik is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old May 31, 2001, 09:41 AM   #4
Dyre Straits
Radeon Caribbean Islands
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: United States Atlanta, GA USA
Posts: 4,107
Dyre Straits is still being judged by the masses


Wink But they ARE official beta

At least ATI recognizes 'em.

Dyre Straits
Dyre Straits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 2001, 09:50 AM   #5
Itchiee
Why Bother?
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: United States Floriduh
Posts: 7,955
Itchiee is still being judged by the masses


Default

Are these the same as the ones that came out a few days ago?..I'm downloading them anyway..
__________________
AMD 8320 FX | Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 | 16GB Corsair DDR3 1600Mhz | Samsung 840 500GB SSD | Sapphire 7950 | Sound Blaster Z | Asus PB278Q | Corsair AX850
Itchiee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 2001, 09:55 AM   #6
DOM
Radeon R520
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: France
Posts: 552
DOM is still being judged by the masses


Default Differences between 7115 Rage3D and 7115 ATI

Differences between 7115 Rage3D (http://www.ammoburners.com/3dxtreme/ati.php actually) and 7115 ATI

Apart from language files, files not in 7115 from ATI but present in 7115 from ammoburners :

.\ati9wdm.ca_
.\atiddc.dl_
.\atigart.da_
.\atigart.ex_
.\atii9xag.cat
.\atitvsnd.inf
.\ativsnxx.sy_
.\ativxbxx.sy_
.\atixbar.inf

File different :

.\atii9xag.inf

(Apart from language files the other files are identical : checked with windiff)

is it important ?

Last edited by DOM : May 31, 2001 at 09:58 AM.
DOM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 2001, 10:02 AM   #7
Itchiee
Why Bother?
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: United States Floriduh
Posts: 7,955
Itchiee is still being judged by the masses


Default Re: Differences between 7115 Rage3D and 7115 ATI

Quote:
Originally posted by DOM
Differences between 7115 Rage3D (http://www.ammoburners.com/3dxtreme/ati.php actually) and 7115 ATI

Apart from language files, files not in 7115 from ATI but present in 7115 from ammoburners :

.\ati9wdm.ca_
.\atiddc.dl_
.\atigart.da_
.\atigart.ex_
.\atii9xag.cat
.\atitvsnd.inf
.\ativsnxx.sy_
.\ativxbxx.sy_
.\atixbar.inf

File different :

.\atii9xag.inf

is it important ?
atii9xag.inf is the file that Windows looks for to install the driver..It is extremely important..

Oh & remember..That file (atii9xag.inf) always stays behind when uninstalling the drivers thru Add/Remove programs..

C:\Windows\INF\Other\atii9xag.inf..Remove this file when changing drivers..Before Windows tells you to reboot..
__________________
AMD 8320 FX | Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 | 16GB Corsair DDR3 1600Mhz | Samsung 840 500GB SSD | Sapphire 7950 | Sound Blaster Z | Asus PB278Q | Corsair AX850
Itchiee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 2001, 11:20 AM   #8
DOM
Radeon R520
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: France
Posts: 552
DOM is still being judged by the masses


Default I haven't installed 7115 yet, so...

it might be safer to install those from ATI.

I will do a manual installation (as well as MMC and ATI DVD player re-installation, with usual registry and ATI inf files deletion).

(current drivers : 7109)
DOM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 2001, 12:03 PM   #9
JRKIO
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 18
JRKIO is still being judged by the masses


Default

Uh, has the ATI TV button in Internet Explorer been there for a while? I just noticed it right now.
JRKIO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 2001, 12:05 PM   #10
Uriel
Unbiased Geek
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 4,829
Uriel is still being judged by the masses


Default hehe

it's been there since 7099 I think, maybe 7103 or maybe even earlier =)
__________________
lol
Uriel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 2001, 12:46 PM   #11
JRKIO
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 18
JRKIO is still being judged by the masses


Question

Has anyone been having any problems with TV-OUT with the 7115's? To get it to work correctly, I have to set it so that just my TV display is enabled and reboot. If I don't do that, there is a PuRplE HaZe over the display on my TV. This is pretty annoying since I'm downloading the stuff I want to watch with TV-OUT from FTP's that might be full after I reboot :P.
__________________
Abit KR7A-Raid
AthlonXP 1700+ @ 1.55 Ghz
Radeon 64mb VIVO
Turtle Beach Santa Cruz
2x256mb Crucial PC2100 DDR RAM
2x40gb Maxtor ATA/133 HDD in RAID 0
Linksys 10/100 NIC
Windows XP Pro
3870 3DMarks
JRKIO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 2001, 12:54 PM   #12
CoolasMoo
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: England By a tree
Posts: 289
CoolasMoo is still being judged by the masses


Exclamation

Video update for direct x 8 ???

I downloaded this as the driver install asked if it was present, dunno what it does.

Also i couldn't use the auto install as it kept saying ati inf set-up has produced errors and will now shut down.

So i manually installed and everything seems to be ok.

Win ME
__________________
Hey.... Im new here
CoolasMoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 2001, 01:17 PM   #13
James Crivellone
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: United States Tacoma WA
Posts: 2,797
James Crivellone is still being judged by the masses


Subscriber
Default

Well if ATI has them in the beta section then they must be somewhat decent. I personally have not had any problems with them....yet
James Crivellone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 2001, 01:25 PM   #14
Rik
Radeon R700
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 902
Rik is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by JRKIO
there is a PuRplE HaZe over the display on my TV.
Purple Haze is in my mind too...

I'm getting the same effect on my TV-Out. Funny thing is, video-overlays are not affected (either windowed or full-screen).
I tried installing the previous Rage Theatre driver, but it didn't help. It must be to do with the 2D portion of the driver.

I think I'll try that semi-official version of 7115 from ATi's site, but I doubt if there is any difference.
Rik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 2001, 01:31 PM   #15
JRKIO
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 18
JRKIO is still being judged by the masses


Default

Nope, there is no difference. I already tried doing that .
__________________
Abit KR7A-Raid
AthlonXP 1700+ @ 1.55 Ghz
Radeon 64mb VIVO
Turtle Beach Santa Cruz
2x256mb Crucial PC2100 DDR RAM
2x40gb Maxtor ATA/133 HDD in RAID 0
Linksys 10/100 NIC
Windows XP Pro
3870 3DMarks
JRKIO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 2001, 01:41 PM   #16
easyrider
Radeon R700
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 890
easyrider is still being judged by the masses


Default

These also have the same icon glitch, well on voodooextreme they do anyways, other than that haven't sen any glitches, so I just add the devbmp line in system.ini, reboot and viola, it's fixed.
__________________
Intel Core2duo 2.66ghz
2 x 1gb Corsair xms2 pc6400 DDR800
evga 8800gts 640MB pci-e
easyrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 2001, 01:55 PM   #17
instant
Activist
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 1,014
instant is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by easyrider
These also have the same icon glitch, well on voodooextreme they do anyways, other than that haven't sen any glitches, so I just add the devbmp line in system.ini, reboot and viola, it's fixed.
What is that icon error?

I checked voodoo extreme and the ve forums and noticed nothing...
__________________
< instant / homepage / "Playerkillers enhance your MMORPG" >
  • My Computer
  • Killer: 86% Achiever: 86% Explorer: 36% Socializer: 6%
  • Sapphire Atlantis Pro Radeon 9800 XT @ Compaq P1610 24" WS
instant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 2001, 01:57 PM   #18
Jamesisland
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 117
Jamesisland is still being judged by the masses


Unhappy I hope this one will have better DVD playback!!!

i installed the previous 7115 beta driver. That one has very back DVD playback, and only experienced problem with Tomb Raider Last Revelation. Otherwise, it was a great driver. Now, i'm downloading the 7115 from ATI, i hope this one will fix the DVD problems...
Let's Pray to God, and Good luck to us....
__________________
I like to Play Games
ANd READing This Forum!!!
I wish ATI can build better drivers...
I Don't need it faster, but stable and solved all games' issues...
Jamesisland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 2001, 02:25 PM   #19
O1RudeBoy
Radeon R520
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: OHIO
Posts: 405
O1RudeBoy is still being judged by the masses


Default Re: Re: Differences between 7115 Rage3D and 7115 ATI

Quote:
Originally posted by CyberStoner


atii9xag.inf is the file that Windows looks for to install the driver..It is extremely important..

Oh & remember..That file (atii9xag.inf) always stays behind when uninstalling the drivers thru Add/Remove programs..

C:\Windows\INF\Other\atii9xag.inf..Remove this file when changing drivers..Before Windows tells you to reboot..


so what happens if we dont remove that file? and if we must remove it before Windows asks us to reboot, does that mean we should remove them before even doing the uninstall procedure from Add/Remove programs or did you mean to delete it before we rebooted instead of before windows asked us to. i've never done this and have had no problems installing drivers successfully.
__________________
CPU: AMD Athlon XP 2600+ (333FSB)
Mobo: Asus A7N8X-Deluxe
Memory: Corsair XMS 1GB PC3200 CL2 (dual-channel)
HD1: WD 120GB Caviar 'Special Edition' SATA (7200 RPM)
HD2: WD 120GB Caviar 'Special Edition' IDE (7200 RPM)
Vid Card: Radeon 9700 Pro
Sound Card: Nvidia SoundStorm (onboard) [NewQ Gold DSP]
DVD+-R/RW: Sony Dual Layer 16x
DVD-ROM: Pioneer 16x [slot]
OS: Windows XP Professional
O1RudeBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 2001, 02:39 PM   #20
Itchiee
Why Bother?
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: United States Floriduh
Posts: 7,955
Itchiee is still being judged by the masses


Default Re: Re: Re: Differences between 7115 Rage3D and 7115 ATI

Quote:
Originally posted by O1RudeBoy
so what happens if we dont remove that file? and if we must remove it before Windows asks us to reboot, does that mean we should remove them before even doing the uninstall procedure from Add/Remove programs or did you mean to delete it before we rebooted instead of before windows asked us to. i've never done this and have had no problems installing drivers successfully.
When Windows asks you to reboot..Just say no & delete that file(Then reboot)..But like you said you have no problems so don't worry about it then..I do it this way & never had a problem..
__________________
AMD 8320 FX | Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 | 16GB Corsair DDR3 1600Mhz | Samsung 840 500GB SSD | Sapphire 7950 | Sound Blaster Z | Asus PB278Q | Corsair AX850
Itchiee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 2001, 03:42 PM   #21
mitchie
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Aachen, Germany
Posts: 185
mitchie is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by JRKIO
Uh, has the ATI TV button in Internet Explorer been there for a while? I just noticed it right now.
nothing to do with driver version. It's a feature of MMC7.1
__________________
Mitchie
-----------------
Asus A8N5X, AMD X2 3800+, 2x512MB Corsair PRO CL2, AiW Radeon X800 GT, Remote Wonder Plus, OS:XP MCE
mitchie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 2001, 05:01 PM   #22
qwex
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 116
qwex is still being judged by the masses


Default I am immortal

so are these drivers any faster or do they fix any bugs? I'm going to download them, but if there's no change, I might as well save myself the download time since I'm on a 33.6...
qwex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 2001, 05:22 PM   #23
Flying_Elbow
Radeon R420
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 348
Flying_Elbow is still being judged by the masses


Default

I see the glitch also, easyrider.

I think this link still works, which has a picture of the problem, so I'll give it a try.

http://www.geocities.com/mumley/veyuck.jpg

OK, damn it, it's not working, but just right click on it and copy short cut and then paste the link into the address bar of your browser and it should work.


If you put this in the system.ini, it fixes the problem:

[Display]
DevBMP=0


I think that setting makes windows handle BMP palette conversion type stuff instead of the Radeon, but that is just a guess.

Last edited by Flying_Elbow : May 31, 2001 at 05:28 PM.
Flying_Elbow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 2001, 05:28 PM   #24
wlp5
Radeon R200
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Greece
Posts: 86
wlp5 is still being judged by the masses


Default DVD

Well, it's the first driver that gives me shitty DVD playback with a green line at the bottom and picture shaking. I think it has something to do with de-interlacing.... hope they fix it soon.
wlp5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 2001, 06:12 PM   #25
Jamesisland
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 117
Jamesisland is still being judged by the masses


Default me toooooooooooo!!!!!!!!!!!

I got very bad DVD playback with the same line at the bottom, and jercky flame rate too. S H I T!!!!!!!!!!
__________________
I like to Play Games
ANd READing This Forum!!!
I wish ATI can build better drivers...
I Don't need it faster, but stable and solved all games' issues...

Last edited by Jamesisland : May 31, 2001 at 11:01 PM.
Jamesisland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 2001, 06:33 PM   #26
mkraft
Radeon R520
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 584
mkraft is still being judged by the masses


Default

The problem looks like this:



I also notice that if you leave the page and come back to it, the problem fixes itself.

A problem that still exists is the loading problem with the TV app. I loaded it about 15 minutes ago and the splash screen is still showing in the middle of the screen.

I didn't have the "purple haze" problem with TV out. I enabled it on the fly and it worked fine. I use s-video out.
__________________
Win XP Pro SP2, DX9.0c, Pentium III 600 (133 FSB), 256 megs ram (133 CS/3), TekRam P6Pro-A+ (Via Apollo Pro133 [Via 4.43v 4in1]), ATI Radeon AIW 7200 AGP [Catalyst 4.8, MMC 9.0.2], SB Live! value [5.12.01.0244], Maxtor 40 Gig (3 NTFS partitions), IBM 31 Gig (Fat32)
mkraft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 2001, 09:22 PM   #27
Dyre Straits
Radeon Caribbean Islands
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: United States Atlanta, GA USA
Posts: 4,107
Dyre Straits is still being judged by the masses


Default Fixed all my DirectX tests, too

All of my DirectX tests now show up, too. I was missing the hardware rendered bouncing white box prior to these drivers. Since it was most likely a timing issue, I always answered, YES, anyway.

Also, there are no icon corruptions on voodooextreme now. This fix may be due to me having the devbmp=0 still in the system.ini.

Dyre Straits

Last edited by Dyre Straits : May 31, 2001 at 09:27 PM.
Dyre Straits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2001, 03:27 AM   #28
INCAS
Radeon R200
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Dortmund, Germany
Posts: 65
INCAS is still being judged by the masses


Exclamation Re: DVD

Quote:
Originally posted by wlp5
Well, it's the first driver that gives me shitty DVD playback with a green line at the bottom and picture shaking. I think it has something to do with de-interlacing.... hope they fix it soon.
FIX!
The green line is a driver related problem. For DVD playback the driver has to decide witch kind of deinterlacing mode to choose. For HQ movies the player reproduce each line seperatly (weave mode). For trailers and TV films the player has to put two lines together (Bob mode). If you watch a HQ film in Bob mode, you get worse quality. If you watch a TV film in weave mode you get filckering lines if the film moves from left to right side (or other direction).
Normaly the driver use a mode ATI called "smart detection". My experiece is, that this does not always work correctly. The green line only appears if the player works in Bob mode.
For fixing this problem use DVD genie. Choose "force weave" option. This will force the driver not to double the lines. This is for best quality and the way to go for 95% of all DVD films. You might get picture corrution in the trailer, but that is not so important I think. If you see the flickering during the main film, it is a low quality film (Preview, trailer, TV film, hardcore and other "no cinema" stuff"). In this case go back and use "force bob".

BTW I own no low quality film. So I don´t know if the problem appears each time you look a film in bob mode or if the problem only appears if the driver make a mistake by showing HQ films in bob mode.

*german-english, I know*

Hope it helps.

Regards
INCAS.
INCAS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2001, 04:54 AM   #29
ZorPrime
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 105
ZorPrime is still being judged by the masses


Default sweet

I will try the fix hmm 7075's did this perfectly though it still needs work.
__________________
If it isn't tweaked I haven't touched it.
Abit KT7A-RAID
Duron @ 900
256 Megs 133mhz Cas2 Ram (Crucial)
Radeon 64DDR Vivo @ 200/200 by R3D
30gig ATA100 IBM Deskstar
SB-Live
Hitachi 12/40x DVD ROM
19" Gem/Delta Moniter .25
4 Point Cambridge SoundWorks sound
ZorPrime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2001, 06:33 AM   #30
jobb
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Beijing,China
Posts: 11
jobb is still being judged by the masses


Talking I want to know which one is the best for Radeon 32M

I want to know which one is the best for Radeon 32M DDR,7115 or 7109?
jobb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Official 4.13.9013 Win9x/Me Beta Driver Discussion MrB AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 117 Feb 8, 2002 11:55 PM
Official Win9x/ME Driver Discussion: 7199 The Guardian AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 44 Nov 7, 2001 07:22 AM
Madden still sucks with the 7115 official beta. DroogyDim AIW / Multimedia Discussion and Technical Support 1 Jun 15, 2001 01:13 AM
New Official 7115 out MR-G Radeon Technical Support 2 Jun 1, 2001 04:41 AM
New official 7115 for Win9x out MR-G Radeon Tweaking, Modding, and Overclocking 0 May 31, 2001 08:38 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:01 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink