Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Computing Forums » Smartphones, Tablets and Handheld Computing
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Smartphones, Tablets and Handheld Computing From Android, Symbian to Apple devices, this is the place for discussion and debate, whether it's smartphones, tablets or even gaming handhelds.

"
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old May 4, 2012, 04:26 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
GravY
Rage3D Spammer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: United States Michigan
Posts: 25,843
GravY is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialGravY is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialGravY is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialGravY is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialGravY is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialGravY is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialGravY is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialGravY is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialGravY is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialGravY is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialGravY is on Chuck Norris' speed-dial


Default Gtab ICS

Flashed the beta version of Ice Cream Sandwich to my Gtab and oh my is it nice.. runs fast and everything is snappy. Its like I just purchased a new current tablet.


Very happy person this had made me.
__________________
"Yes, but God has the right to get away with anything. Shoot animals, make ugly women, allow the existence of religious nuts, and watch liederhosen-wearing midget poodle-licking pornography. God's a sick bastard." - OzzieBloke



(\_/)
(O.o)
(> <)
GravY is online now   Reply With Quote
Old May 6, 2012, 02:21 PM   #2
Nascar24
HD 7970 OC Smoken!
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: United States BOINGGGGGGGG!
Posts: 6,684
Nascar24 can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyNascar24 can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyNascar24 can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Just read this and flashed myself, seems to work good so far, they never quite got honeycomb right for the gtab so I have been using 2.3 which was only so so. Hopefully ICS will make me happier about android

Last edited by Nascar24 : May 6, 2012 at 03:24 PM.
Nascar24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 6, 2012, 05:08 PM   #3
GravY
Rage3D Spammer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: United States Michigan
Posts: 25,843
GravY is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialGravY is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialGravY is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialGravY is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialGravY is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialGravY is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialGravY is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialGravY is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialGravY is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialGravY is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialGravY is on Chuck Norris' speed-dial


Default

its made the tablet extremely useful.. there are some hitches here and there but overall its a giant leap forward.
__________________
"Yes, but God has the right to get away with anything. Shoot animals, make ugly women, allow the existence of religious nuts, and watch liederhosen-wearing midget poodle-licking pornography. God's a sick bastard." - OzzieBloke



(\_/)
(O.o)
(> <)
GravY is online now   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old May 6, 2012, 06:36 PM   #4
Nascar24
HD 7970 OC Smoken!
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: United States BOINGGGGGGGG!
Posts: 6,684
Nascar24 can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyNascar24 can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyNascar24 can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GravY View Post
its made the tablet extremely useful.. there are some hitches here and there but overall its a giant leap forward.
Yea, its not perfect I'm finding after a few hours use, Amazon app store doesn't seem to want to download apps unless I am running an app, it downloads fast at that point. And I have noticed some hitching while browsing but its workable.
Nascar24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 8, 2012, 05:11 PM   #5
Nascar24
HD 7970 OC Smoken!
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: United States BOINGGGGGGGG!
Posts: 6,684
Nascar24 can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyNascar24 can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyNascar24 can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

I believe this is plenty good enough as a daily user, I think 2.3 can finally be retired off my gtab
Nascar24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 8, 2012, 05:13 PM   #6
Elysian
No sir, I don't like it.
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United States Austin, TX
Posts: 37,796
Elysian once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Elysian once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Elysian once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Elysian once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Elysian once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Elysian once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'


Default

Is this the 7" original GTab we're talking about? Is performance a lot better? That's what I instantly noticed even with very early builds of ICS on my OG Xoom.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by IamHere View Post
So again you show your ignorance of law and testimony.
Quote:
Originally Posted by IamHere View Post
Come to my neighborhood and take a swing at me. I will kill you and I will walk.
Elysian is online now   Reply With Quote
Old May 8, 2012, 05:55 PM   #7
Nascar24
HD 7970 OC Smoken!
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: United States BOINGGGGGGGG!
Posts: 6,684
Nascar24 can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyNascar24 can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyNascar24 can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elysian View Post
Is this the 7" original GTab we're talking about? Is performance a lot better? That's what I instantly noticed even with very early builds of ICS on my OG Xoom.
No this is the 10 inch GTab, They never really got acceleration to work with Honeycomb but the group that is working with ICS is doing a nice job on getting everything working with this. Really wasn't expecting ICS to come to my GTab but am pleasantly surprised. Runs much better then Honeycomb did there is no doubt. All the built in software is much better then 2.3 which I thought I was going to be stuck with.
Nascar24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 8, 2012, 05:58 PM   #8
Elysian
No sir, I don't like it.
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United States Austin, TX
Posts: 37,796
Elysian once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Elysian once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Elysian once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Elysian once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Elysian once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Elysian once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nascar24 View Post
No this is the 10 inch GTab, They never really got acceleration to work with Honeycomb but the group that is working with ICS is doing a nice job on getting everything working with this. Really wasn't expecting ICS to come to my GTab but am pleasantly surprised. Runs much better then Honeycomb did there is no doubt. All the built in software is much better then 2.3 which I thought I was going to be stuck with.
Wait this isn't the Samsung Galaxy Tab? The name is confusing
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by IamHere View Post
So again you show your ignorance of law and testimony.
Quote:
Originally Posted by IamHere View Post
Come to my neighborhood and take a swing at me. I will kill you and I will walk.
Elysian is online now   Reply With Quote
Old May 8, 2012, 06:04 PM   #9
Nascar24
HD 7970 OC Smoken!
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: United States BOINGGGGGGGG!
Posts: 6,684
Nascar24 can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyNascar24 can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyNascar24 can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elysian View Post
Wait this isn't the Samsung Galaxy Tab? The name is confusing
Oh hell no This is the Tablet you hated ever since I bought it! Still going strong a year later though!

Well worth the $299 I paid for it a year ago which was a great price for a tablet at the time, I'm really surprised its still going in the same price range, I expected it would have been down to $199 by now with its age.

Last edited by Nascar24 : May 8, 2012 at 06:33 PM.
Nascar24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 8, 2012, 07:10 PM   #10
GravY
Rage3D Spammer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: United States Michigan
Posts: 25,843
GravY is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialGravY is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialGravY is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialGravY is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialGravY is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialGravY is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialGravY is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialGravY is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialGravY is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialGravY is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialGravY is on Chuck Norris' speed-dial


Default

Few benches I've run have it coming out on top in comparison to like tablets.

Nascar have you messed with dpi switching?
__________________
"Yes, but God has the right to get away with anything. Shoot animals, make ugly women, allow the existence of religious nuts, and watch liederhosen-wearing midget poodle-licking pornography. God's a sick bastard." - OzzieBloke



(\_/)
(O.o)
(> <)
GravY is online now   Reply With Quote
Old May 8, 2012, 07:16 PM   #11
Nascar24
HD 7970 OC Smoken!
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: United States BOINGGGGGGGG!
Posts: 6,684
Nascar24 can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyNascar24 can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyNascar24 can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GravY View Post
Few benches I've run have it coming out on top in comparison to like tablets.

Nascar have you messed with dpi switching?
No I haven't what's to gain by doing this?
Nascar24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 9, 2012, 07:59 PM   #12
Nascar24
HD 7970 OC Smoken!
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: United States BOINGGGGGGGG!
Posts: 6,684
Nascar24 can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyNascar24 can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyNascar24 can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GravY View Post
Few benches I've run have it coming out on top in comparison to like tablets.

Nascar have you messed with dpi switching?
I was just reading that you can crash this beta if you use a dpi between 120 and 160. I think I will stick with the default!
Nascar24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 9, 2012, 08:08 PM   #13
GravY
Rage3D Spammer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: United States Michigan
Posts: 25,843
GravY is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialGravY is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialGravY is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialGravY is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialGravY is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialGravY is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialGravY is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialGravY is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialGravY is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialGravY is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialGravY is on Chuck Norris' speed-dial


Default

160 works for me...
__________________
"Yes, but God has the right to get away with anything. Shoot animals, make ugly women, allow the existence of religious nuts, and watch liederhosen-wearing midget poodle-licking pornography. God's a sick bastard." - OzzieBloke



(\_/)
(O.o)
(> <)
GravY is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:26 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink