Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Gaming Forums » PC Gaming » PC Gaming Support
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

PC Gaming Support The Rage3D community looks forward to helping you find a solution to the problems you're having with PC games, old and new.

"
 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Apr 25, 2012, 08:41 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
zapmon
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2
zapmon is still being judged by the masses


Thumbs up FX-8120 and 7970 Battlefield 3 low performance

Ok, hokai so basicly. Im getting 40-80 fps ultra settings, everything maxed out. But my GPU usage is barely 65% And CPU usage 40-50%. Can someone tell me what is going on? I have tried diffrent drivers. Nothing works. In my mind if im getting low fps the GPU usage should be at 99% whole time. But that is not the case. so basicly im getting bad fps with the card not even giving all what it could offer.

Current setup

FX8120 Running on 6 cores @ 4.2GHz
Asus 7970 DCU II TOP @ 1125/1575MHz
8gigs of kingston 1600mhz DDR3
990fx mobo

The problem is only while playing MP. so mayby a driver/battlefield issue?
Singleplayer has no problems with fps. Runs like a charm.

Does someone know a solution for the problem or do i just need to wait for new drivers and DICE making patches?

Cheers
zapmon is offline  
Old Apr 29, 2012, 10:11 PM   #2
zapmon
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2
zapmon is still being judged by the masses


Default

Nobody?? or is it the game? I just played sharqi with my friend who has an intel i5 clocked to 5GHz with watercooling and the same GPU as i do. He had maxed out settings and fps 55 on the roof of the TV station. Mine was 29-30. What is up with this? anybody?
zapmon is offline  
Old May 5, 2012, 08:40 AM   #3
Danny Nissan
high quality troll
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sweden Sweden
Posts: 3,637
Danny Nissan is still being judged by the masses


Default

Did you disable a module of the FX8120? Try running 8-cores and overclock it to 5GHz and see if you get any boost.

An i5 at 5GHz is probably faster than a 6 GHz FX cpu anyway so if the view on the roof of TV station is CPU limited then he will always get a lot more fps than you.

Ask him to run his i5 at ~2.7GHz and compare to your 4.2GHz on the same spot.
__________________
Antec P180 | Be Quiet! Straight Power CM E9 580W | ASUS Maximus V Gene | Intel i5-3570K 4.7GHz [Noctua NH-U12P SE2] | 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance Pro DDR3-2400 10-12-12-31-1T | ASUS GTX 770 DCU-II OC | SyncMaster 2433BW 1920X1200 | Razer Lachesis | Sennheiser HD-555 | SupremeFX III | Samsung 840 Evo 250GB | WD Caviar Black 1TB | Windows 8.1 Professional

Google Nexus 4 | franco.Kernel

Last edited by Danny Nissan : May 5, 2012 at 11:37 AM.
Danny Nissan is offline  
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Should I Buy? AMD FX 8120 The Voodoo General Hardware 7 Apr 28, 2012 04:53 PM
FX-6200 & FX-4170 launch, FX-8120 price cut caveman-jim General News 6 Mar 1, 2012 03:39 AM
AMD Radeon HD 7970 Performance Driver caveman-jim General News 0 Jan 10, 2012 01:26 PM
Battlefield 2 performance.... bad, help! RedAlley PC Gaming 8 Nov 13, 2005 07:41 AM
Battlefield 1942 performance help Sgt. Sinister PC Gaming 20 Jan 8, 2004 04:57 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:12 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink