Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » News Forums » General News
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

General News News as it appears on the frontpage of Rage3D.com

"
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Apr 26, 2012, 10:39 AM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
caveman-jim
Retired
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 48,615
caveman-jim once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'caveman-jim once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'caveman-jim once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'caveman-jim once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'caveman-jim once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'caveman-jim once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'


Intel Excited about Intel's Sandy Bridge-E baked in PCI-E 3.0 Support? Check your stepping

A forum post at Anandtech has shed some light on the apparent issues Intel's new Ivy Sandy Bridge E processors have with running multi-GPU configurations with the built in PCI-Express 3.0 controller:


Update from ASUS: Just asked HQ, they told me some CPUs can't handle two cards in Gen 3 mode. Intel know about this and won't chage out the CPUs. Apparently the C2s are better than the C1 steppings but Intel have now removed official Gen 3 support from their product pages. If that is the issue, what you can do is set PCIe to Gen 2 mode in UEFI just to debug and see if the lock ups persist. If they do then the issue lies elsewhere, if they do, then the CPU is not capable of Gen 3 on two slots at the same time. Some CPUs are better than others in this regard and it is luck of the draw.


If you're jumping into Sandy Bridge E for more bandwidth under your multi-GPU configuration, double check that stepping code - you might be falling back to PCI-E 2.0 speeds to avoid hard locks.

Thanks for forum member demo for the info.

Note = the original issue here is reported on Sandy Bridge E platforms, not IB. No idea if there's anything wrong with IB.

Last edited by caveman-jim : Apr 26, 2012 at 05:23 PM. Reason: issue reported on SB-E platform not IB
caveman-jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2012, 10:48 AM   #2
CurrentlyPissed
2.0 Litres of Fury
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: United States Missouri
Posts: 11,008
CurrentlyPissed knows why the caged bird singsCurrentlyPissed knows why the caged bird singsCurrentlyPissed knows why the caged bird singsCurrentlyPissed knows why the caged bird singsCurrentlyPissed knows why the caged bird singsCurrentlyPissed knows why the caged bird sings


Default

God dammit intel.
__________________
Quote:
The reason I talk to myself is because I’m the only one whose answers I accept.

-George Carlin

Quote:
Life is like an Arrow on a bow. It constantly drags you back. But you are just moments away from springing forward.
CurrentlyPissed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2012, 11:15 AM   #3
Swiftdeathz
7870 CFX
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: United States NYC/NJ, USA
Posts: 511
Swiftdeathz is still being judged by the masses


Default

And there is no way to tell until I have the CPU box in my hand. How could I look up which codes I should be aiming for when I go to buy a new IB cpu?

Edit: Woops. Through my quick read I missed the part that says it is affecting X79 chipset motherboards. I guess Z77 is safe for now.
__________________
Intel i5 3570k || Sapphire HD 7870 OC CrossFireX || Asrock Z77 Extreme4 || 8GB DDR3 G.SKILL || Seasonic X750
Intel Core2Duo E8400 || PowerColor HD 5450 || Gigabyte P35-DS3L || 4GB DDR2 G.SKILL || Enermax 431W
Folding@Home...

Last edited by Swiftdeathz : Apr 26, 2012 at 11:30 AM.
Swiftdeathz is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Apr 26, 2012, 04:44 PM   #4
moshpit
Resident Mac Hater
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: United States PIT, PIT, PIT, in the PIT!!!
Posts: 19,005
moshpit is still being judged by the masses


Subscriber
Default

Okay, I'm confused. This story is about a P9X79 mobo, aka, X79 chipset, aka a socket 2011 motherboard. Am to understand the new Ivy Bridge is now NOT socket 1155 anymore? Ivy Bridge-E is not out. Rereading the article several times, they never actually say Ivy Bridge either. I think this is a Sandy Bridge-E setup, perhaps?

Edit: Though X79 is indeed Ivy Bridge ready, there are no Ivy Bridge chips to fill socket 2011 yet, is my understanding. Ivy Bridge-E will fill this roll later in the year.
__________________
Ci7 2600K @5Ghz/8Gb Patriot Viper II/Asus Sabertooth P67/EVGA GTX680 SC/2x Patriot Torqx 128G(OS)/1Tb WD Black
Ci7 920/6Gb Corsair DDR3 1600/GA-EX58-UD3R/Geforce GTX580/750Gb Seagate ES.2(OS)/2x 2Tb WD Green
Ci7 860/4Gb Patriot Viper II/EVGA P55 SLI/Radeon HD5870/750Gb Seagate ES.2 (wife's rig)


If you feel like I'm hurting your wittle feelings too much, refer me to this thread : A new nicer moshpit???
"Go screw yourself Apple."

Last edited by moshpit : Apr 26, 2012 at 04:52 PM.
moshpit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2012, 04:47 PM   #5
caveman-jim
Retired
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 48,615
caveman-jim once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'caveman-jim once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'caveman-jim once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'caveman-jim once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'caveman-jim once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'caveman-jim once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'


Default

Mosh - you're right this issue is reported on X79 and SB-E, but it is apparently being reported on Z77 and IB as well. I don't have a link currently though, so pinch of salt.

I asked Intel and they said talk to AMD and NVIDIA, cos they make the PCI-E 3 gen products.
caveman-jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2012, 04:59 PM   #6
moshpit
Resident Mac Hater
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: United States PIT, PIT, PIT, in the PIT!!!
Posts: 19,005
moshpit is still being judged by the masses


Subscriber
Default

*Preens himself and beams that being out of the tech loop for a year hasn't dulled his sharp technical eye*

w00t fer me! :P
__________________
Ci7 2600K @5Ghz/8Gb Patriot Viper II/Asus Sabertooth P67/EVGA GTX680 SC/2x Patriot Torqx 128G(OS)/1Tb WD Black
Ci7 920/6Gb Corsair DDR3 1600/GA-EX58-UD3R/Geforce GTX580/750Gb Seagate ES.2(OS)/2x 2Tb WD Green
Ci7 860/4Gb Patriot Viper II/EVGA P55 SLI/Radeon HD5870/750Gb Seagate ES.2 (wife's rig)


If you feel like I'm hurting your wittle feelings too much, refer me to this thread : A new nicer moshpit???
"Go screw yourself Apple."
moshpit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2012, 05:24 PM   #7
caveman-jim
Retired
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 48,615
caveman-jim once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'caveman-jim once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'caveman-jim once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'caveman-jim once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'caveman-jim once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'caveman-jim once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by moshpit View Post
*Preens himself and beams that being out of the tech loop for a year hasn't dulled his sharp technical eye*

w00t fer me! :P
caveman-jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2012, 05:54 PM   #8
moshpit
Resident Mac Hater
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: United States PIT, PIT, PIT, in the PIT!!!
Posts: 19,005
moshpit is still being judged by the masses


Subscriber
Default

Who's that hottie chick behind the dude's head? I would so do her...
__________________
Ci7 2600K @5Ghz/8Gb Patriot Viper II/Asus Sabertooth P67/EVGA GTX680 SC/2x Patriot Torqx 128G(OS)/1Tb WD Black
Ci7 920/6Gb Corsair DDR3 1600/GA-EX58-UD3R/Geforce GTX580/750Gb Seagate ES.2(OS)/2x 2Tb WD Green
Ci7 860/4Gb Patriot Viper II/EVGA P55 SLI/Radeon HD5870/750Gb Seagate ES.2 (wife's rig)


If you feel like I'm hurting your wittle feelings too much, refer me to this thread : A new nicer moshpit???
"Go screw yourself Apple."
moshpit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2012, 10:18 PM   #9
demo
space cadet
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Australia Melbourne
Posts: 23,525
demo doesn't need no stinkin' badgesdemo doesn't need no stinkin' badgesdemo doesn't need no stinkin' badgesdemo doesn't need no stinkin' badgesdemo doesn't need no stinkin' badgesdemo doesn't need no stinkin' badgesdemo doesn't need no stinkin' badgesdemo doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

I've hit the big time, in rage3d news article! pack the bags kids, we're going to hollywood.

__________________
____________________
demo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2012, 08:24 AM   #10
PeaceKeeper
Keeping The Peace
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: United States New Jersey
Posts: 1,228
PeaceKeeper is still being judged by the masses


Subscriber
Default

If I'm not mistaking only the 6-core cpus are the ones that have C1 and C2 steppings. I believe all the Quad Core Sandy E's are C2's like mine.
__________________

ASUS Rampage IV Formula (Bios 4901) | Intel Core i7 4820K @ 3.7GHz | Noctua NH-D14 SE2011 | 16GB Crucial Ballistix Tactical LP PC3-12800 DDR3L @ 1600MHz (8-8-8-24-1T) @ 1.35v | EVGA GeForce GTX 780 SC 3GB w/ Backplate | Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium | Intel 320 Series SSDSA2CW300G3B5 300GB SATA II SSD | 2x Western Digital Caviar Black WD6401AALS 640GB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA2 Hard Drives RAID 1 | ASUS BC-12B1ST 12x BD-ROM | ASUS DRW-24B1ST 24x DVD-RW | Logitech G400 Mouse | Das Keyboard Model S Professional Silent | Corsair HX1050W Modular Power Supply | Corsair Obsidian 650D | 2x Dell UltraSharp U2410 24" LCD Rev. A02 | Logitech Z-2300 THX-Certified 2.1 / Sennheiser RS 170 | APC Smart-UPS 1500VA | Windows 7 Enterprise x64 SP1



ASUS Rampage III Formula (Bios 0903) | Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.6GHz | Thermalright Ultra 120 eXtreme 1366 RT Rev C | 12GB OCZ Gold PC-12800 DDR3 @ 1440MHz (7-7-7-20) @ 1.65v | EVGA GeForce GTX 580 1.5GB | HT Omega Claro Plus+ | Western Digital Caviar SE16 WD2500AAKS 250GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA2 Hard Drive | 2x Western Digital Caviar SE16 WD3200AAKS 320GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA2 Hard Drives RAID 1 | ASUS BC-08B1ST 8x BD-ROM | ASUS DRW-24B1ST 24x DVD-RW | Logitech G400 Mouse | Das Keyboard Model S Professional Silent | Corsair HX850W Modular Power Supply | Lian Li 1010B/w Window | LG 26" TV | Altec Lansing VS4121 2.1 | Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1



MacBook (Uni-body) | 13.3 Inch Widescreen Display | Intel Core 2 Duo P7550 @ 2.26GHz | 4GB DDR3 @ 1066MHz | GeForce 9400M 256MB | 256GB Samsung SSD 840 Pro | OS X Mavericks
PeaceKeeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2012, 12:31 PM   #11
jlpktnst
Radeon HD 6950
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Slovenia Slovenia
Posts: 378
jlpktnst is still being judged by the masses


Default

It is funny how they handle things.

Can't customers in USA push companies for selling em goods that don't work as specified?
jlpktnst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2012, 07:47 AM   #12
moshpit
Resident Mac Hater
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: United States PIT, PIT, PIT, in the PIT!!!
Posts: 19,005
moshpit is still being judged by the masses


Subscriber
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jlpktnst View Post
It is funny how they handle things.

Can't customers in USA push companies for selling em goods that don't work as specified?
Yup, but usually it's called a law suit.
__________________
Ci7 2600K @5Ghz/8Gb Patriot Viper II/Asus Sabertooth P67/EVGA GTX680 SC/2x Patriot Torqx 128G(OS)/1Tb WD Black
Ci7 920/6Gb Corsair DDR3 1600/GA-EX58-UD3R/Geforce GTX580/750Gb Seagate ES.2(OS)/2x 2Tb WD Green
Ci7 860/4Gb Patriot Viper II/EVGA P55 SLI/Radeon HD5870/750Gb Seagate ES.2 (wife's rig)


If you feel like I'm hurting your wittle feelings too much, refer me to this thread : A new nicer moshpit???
"Go screw yourself Apple."
moshpit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2012, 12:57 AM   #13
caveman-jim
Retired
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 48,615
caveman-jim once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'caveman-jim once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'caveman-jim once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'caveman-jim once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'caveman-jim once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'caveman-jim once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'


Default

NVIDIA patch for enabling PCI-E 3.0 speeds on X79 platforms

www.madshrimps.be/news/item/90612
caveman-jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RealWorldTech discusses QPI 1.1, Intel's Sandy Bridge-EP server platform interconnect caveman-jim General News 0 Jul 20, 2011 05:21 PM
Intel's Sandy Bridge-E will not have high stock clocks moshpit General News 0 May 11, 2011 12:44 AM
Intel's 22nm processors (Ivy Bridge,) the picture for details! erek General News 0 Apr 12, 2011 07:53 AM
AMD - Llano Architecture Vastly Superior To Intel's Sandy Bridge caveman-jim General News 7 Feb 19, 2011 10:03 AM
How to check the stepping without removing the heatsink? sAxman Radeon Technical Support 11 Oct 13, 2002 02:31 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:20 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink