Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Graphics Technology Forums » General Radeon Discussion
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

General Radeon Discussion General discussion for news and rumours about discrete Radeon graphics products. Do not ask for tech support here, instead please use the Radeon Technical Support forum.

"
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Apr 11, 2012, 08:50 AM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
oozz77
Radeon HD 7970
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Australia Australia
Posts: 928
oozz77 is still being judged by the masses


Default 5770 Safe Temps

Hi Guys,

Can anyone running an over clocked 5770 with stock fan give me an idea what the temp range is "safe" to run in!

I'm looking at upgrading my whole system soon so I just want to push this thing to see how far it will go! I did run it at 975 core and 1300 mem but temps approached 79C.

Is that temp still OK and what are some of the overclocks and temps that others are getting?
__________________
Asus M3A78-EMH HDMI
AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+
4 Gig Kingston PC2-6400
ASUS EAH5770 CuCore
LG 20' Wide Screen Flatron
LG-GSA DVD Rewriter/Burner, Pioneer DVD-RW DVR-106D,
3 x 620 gig drives, Cable Internet,
SoundWorks FPS 1000+Altec Lansing(6.1 setup),
oozz77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2012, 09:49 AM   #2
Danny Nissan
high quality troll
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sweden Sweden
Posts: 3,609
Danny Nissan is still being judged by the masses


Default

79C is absolutly fine. Worry when you reach around 90C.

Important is to check VRM temps/memory/shader temps (try GPU-z for that). Those are the ones getting hot when you increase voltage for example.

For VRMs you want less than 100C (in games that is, dont test with furmark exclusivly).

Also, side note, but when overclocking.. push the GPU core first, until you get artifacts/driver crashes. THEN start on the memory clock. It is normal that overclocking memory can lower maximum core clock (and usually core clock is more important than memory clock)
__________________
Antec P180 | Be Quiet! Straight Power CM E9 580W | ASUS Maximus V Gene | Intel i5-3570K 4.7GHz [Noctua NH-U12P SE2] | 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance Pro DDR3-2400 10-12-12-31-1T | ASUS GTX 770 DCU-II OC | SyncMaster 2433BW 1920X1200 | Razer Lachesis | Sennheiser HD-555 | SupremeFX III | WD Caviar Black 1TB | Windows 8.1 Professional

Google Nexus 4 | franco.Kernel
Danny Nissan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 12, 2012, 02:37 AM   #3
Melchior
RG SSAA ftw!
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: United States Florida
Posts: 719
Melchior is still being judged by the masses


Default

90C = High but within the safety margin. 100C+ = danger zone.
__________________
Windows Vista64 Buisness
X6 1090T Asus M4A87TD Evo
8GB Gskill Sniper DDR3 1333
Lite-On Combo drive /WD Caviar Black 640gb
ATI x1800xl Sapphire 6570, yay ssaa again
M-audio Delta 410 | Magnepan MMGs
Corsair 650TX PSU
Melchior is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Apr 13, 2012, 08:25 AM   #4
oozz77
Radeon HD 7970
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Australia Australia
Posts: 928
oozz77 is still being judged by the masses


Default

I kept pushing this last night and got the core to 1090 and left mem at 1300 and temps hit only 82c and fan got to 82 so I am quite surprised by the overclock!!

Played a couple of games only for a short time with no problems!

Seems to have been a great card for it's time and price!!!
__________________
Asus M3A78-EMH HDMI
AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+
4 Gig Kingston PC2-6400
ASUS EAH5770 CuCore
LG 20' Wide Screen Flatron
LG-GSA DVD Rewriter/Burner, Pioneer DVD-RW DVR-106D,
3 x 620 gig drives, Cable Internet,
SoundWorks FPS 1000+Altec Lansing(6.1 setup),
oozz77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 22, 2012, 08:39 PM   #5
xXH3llRaiserXx
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 14
xXH3llRaiserXx is still being judged by the masses


Default

Here I use two 5770 in CFX and must say the heat is much more a problem since both cars run with almost no space between them (and with stock coolers is a hell inside the computer case).

But without overclock my CFX on games barely reaches 60º. With overclock (currently 970/1300 1.220v on both) the temps reaches 80~83º and on stress tests (Kombustor , Furmark , etc) sometimes get past 90º (this on the top card) the lower card is always 10º less than the top card.

So far no issues at all... and from what I know , gpus can reach near 120º (but for security reasons they all are "capped" at 100º). I say 90º is the best you can reach (with OC of course) without getting trouble.

Last edited by xXH3llRaiserXx : Apr 22, 2012 at 08:44 PM.
xXH3llRaiserXx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 23, 2012, 06:55 AM   #6
oozz77
Radeon HD 7970
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Australia Australia
Posts: 928
oozz77 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Thanks for that guys.

Even though it is getting long in the tooth, I don't think the rest of my current system would warrant or benefit much from getting a low end 7000 series-or would it?
__________________
Asus M3A78-EMH HDMI
AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+
4 Gig Kingston PC2-6400
ASUS EAH5770 CuCore
LG 20' Wide Screen Flatron
LG-GSA DVD Rewriter/Burner, Pioneer DVD-RW DVR-106D,
3 x 620 gig drives, Cable Internet,
SoundWorks FPS 1000+Altec Lansing(6.1 setup),
oozz77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 23, 2012, 08:03 AM   #7
Melchior
RG SSAA ftw!
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: United States Florida
Posts: 719
Melchior is still being judged by the masses


Default

In the majority of cases, no. Your 5770 would get a healthy boost from a faster CPU though, start saving
__________________
Windows Vista64 Buisness
X6 1090T Asus M4A87TD Evo
8GB Gskill Sniper DDR3 1333
Lite-On Combo drive /WD Caviar Black 640gb
ATI x1800xl Sapphire 6570, yay ssaa again
M-audio Delta 410 | Magnepan MMGs
Corsair 650TX PSU
Melchior is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 23, 2012, 08:06 AM   #8
Danny Nissan
high quality troll
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sweden Sweden
Posts: 3,609
Danny Nissan is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Melchior View Post
In the majority of cases, no. Your 5770 would get a healthy boost from a faster CPU though, start saving
Indeed. Get a new cpu (sandy or ivy) and that 5770 at 1ghz+ will be newborn.
__________________
Antec P180 | Be Quiet! Straight Power CM E9 580W | ASUS Maximus V Gene | Intel i5-3570K 4.7GHz [Noctua NH-U12P SE2] | 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance Pro DDR3-2400 10-12-12-31-1T | ASUS GTX 770 DCU-II OC | SyncMaster 2433BW 1920X1200 | Razer Lachesis | Sennheiser HD-555 | SupremeFX III | WD Caviar Black 1TB | Windows 8.1 Professional

Google Nexus 4 | franco.Kernel
Danny Nissan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 23, 2012, 08:54 AM   #9
oozz77
Radeon HD 7970
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Australia Australia
Posts: 928
oozz77 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Hey Danny,

Out of curiosity, why a sandy or ivy if you have a Phenom X 4 965.

Would I not then be better off until I upgrade my whole system just to get the fastest AMD CPU possible for my mobo?

Any suggestions?
__________________
Asus M3A78-EMH HDMI
AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+
4 Gig Kingston PC2-6400
ASUS EAH5770 CuCore
LG 20' Wide Screen Flatron
LG-GSA DVD Rewriter/Burner, Pioneer DVD-RW DVR-106D,
3 x 620 gig drives, Cable Internet,
SoundWorks FPS 1000+Altec Lansing(6.1 setup),
oozz77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 23, 2012, 09:07 AM   #10
Danny Nissan
high quality troll
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sweden Sweden
Posts: 3,609
Danny Nissan is still being judged by the masses


Default

To be honest, here in sweden in most shops they have actually stopped selling phenom IIs. There are just FX-processors to buy and i forgot that if you can go with a phenom II it might be worth it.

Problem is you motherboard only support first gen Phenoms, and those are really bad and slow (the fastest one your motherboard support runs at 2.0ghz - horrible). http://www.asus.com/Motherboards/AMD...EMH_HDMI/#CPUS

I really suggest saving until you can afford some P67 motherboard/2500K combination - these things will come down in price alot now that ivybridge is released if youre looking at saving money.

And a 2500K with a 30$ cooler (DEFINITELY get a cooler!) will overclock to at the very least 4.2GHz (4.5GHz very common) and that is simply amazing performance for the price.
__________________
Antec P180 | Be Quiet! Straight Power CM E9 580W | ASUS Maximus V Gene | Intel i5-3570K 4.7GHz [Noctua NH-U12P SE2] | 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance Pro DDR3-2400 10-12-12-31-1T | ASUS GTX 770 DCU-II OC | SyncMaster 2433BW 1920X1200 | Razer Lachesis | Sennheiser HD-555 | SupremeFX III | WD Caviar Black 1TB | Windows 8.1 Professional

Google Nexus 4 | franco.Kernel
Danny Nissan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 23, 2012, 08:42 PM   #11
oozz77
Radeon HD 7970
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Australia Australia
Posts: 928
oozz77 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Thanks Danny,

But I am an underdog loyalist and will never buy Intel.

With a good card at higher resolutions a few FPS would never make me change! We still need a healthy AMD at all costs!!

If it were not for AMD we would all still be paying $1,0000 for Pentium 4 and Intels practices over the years are abhorrent so it is AMD for me.

So sorry but what AMD based mobo and CPU should I look at with a graphics card upgrade a little later when prices drop?
__________________
Asus M3A78-EMH HDMI
AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+
4 Gig Kingston PC2-6400
ASUS EAH5770 CuCore
LG 20' Wide Screen Flatron
LG-GSA DVD Rewriter/Burner, Pioneer DVD-RW DVR-106D,
3 x 620 gig drives, Cable Internet,
SoundWorks FPS 1000+Altec Lansing(6.1 setup),
oozz77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2012, 04:43 AM   #12
Danny Nissan
high quality troll
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sweden Sweden
Posts: 3,609
Danny Nissan is still being judged by the masses


Default

Then i recommend getting the FX series and AM3+ motherboards

I would personally not buy anything less than the 8-core. The FX-8120 should be pretty cheap? Its a good 8-core, and will easily overclock to above 4GHz, but you do need cooling (please do NOT try to save money by not buying a CPU cooler, cannot stress this enough)!

As for motherboard, check out the following models depending on how much you want to pay;

ASUS Sabertooth 990FX (they are pretty cheap around here, dont know in your place).

Asrock 990FX extreme4.

If you want even cheaper models check out some of the M5Axxx models from ASUS (but try to get a 990FX chipset as they are high end).

Overclocking the FX-8120 is easy as its a black edition and you can simply increase the multiplier and voltage (thats only 2 settings!).
__________________
Antec P180 | Be Quiet! Straight Power CM E9 580W | ASUS Maximus V Gene | Intel i5-3570K 4.7GHz [Noctua NH-U12P SE2] | 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance Pro DDR3-2400 10-12-12-31-1T | ASUS GTX 770 DCU-II OC | SyncMaster 2433BW 1920X1200 | Razer Lachesis | Sennheiser HD-555 | SupremeFX III | WD Caviar Black 1TB | Windows 8.1 Professional

Google Nexus 4 | franco.Kernel
Danny Nissan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2012, 10:38 AM   #13
oozz77
Radeon HD 7970
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Australia Australia
Posts: 928
oozz77 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Thanks Danny,

Just out of curiosity, how many PCI 16 slots- 2 or more with the 990FX boards?
__________________
Asus M3A78-EMH HDMI
AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+
4 Gig Kingston PC2-6400
ASUS EAH5770 CuCore
LG 20' Wide Screen Flatron
LG-GSA DVD Rewriter/Burner, Pioneer DVD-RW DVR-106D,
3 x 620 gig drives, Cable Internet,
SoundWorks FPS 1000+Altec Lansing(6.1 setup),
oozz77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 2012, 04:05 AM   #14
Danny Nissan
high quality troll
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sweden Sweden
Posts: 3,609
Danny Nissan is still being judged by the masses


Default

I think most have 3 (for dual cfx its two 16x pci-e 2.0) and for three they have 16x+8x+8x but it probably depends on the boards. You have to check before buying
__________________
Antec P180 | Be Quiet! Straight Power CM E9 580W | ASUS Maximus V Gene | Intel i5-3570K 4.7GHz [Noctua NH-U12P SE2] | 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance Pro DDR3-2400 10-12-12-31-1T | ASUS GTX 770 DCU-II OC | SyncMaster 2433BW 1920X1200 | Razer Lachesis | Sennheiser HD-555 | SupremeFX III | WD Caviar Black 1TB | Windows 8.1 Professional

Google Nexus 4 | franco.Kernel
Danny Nissan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2012, 06:29 AM   #15
oozz77
Radeon HD 7970
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Australia Australia
Posts: 928
oozz77 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Just to clarify, the new 990FX boards only support PCI-e 2 and not PCI-e 3?

If I were to upgrade soon I would prefer to pick up a PCI-e 3 board.
__________________
Asus M3A78-EMH HDMI
AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+
4 Gig Kingston PC2-6400
ASUS EAH5770 CuCore
LG 20' Wide Screen Flatron
LG-GSA DVD Rewriter/Burner, Pioneer DVD-RW DVR-106D,
3 x 620 gig drives, Cable Internet,
SoundWorks FPS 1000+Altec Lansing(6.1 setup),
oozz77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2012, 07:12 AM   #16
Danny Nissan
high quality troll
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sweden Sweden
Posts: 3,609
Danny Nissan is still being judged by the masses


Default

Correct, for PCI-E 3.0 you need intel ivy bridge or their 2011 socket (expensive).
__________________
Antec P180 | Be Quiet! Straight Power CM E9 580W | ASUS Maximus V Gene | Intel i5-3570K 4.7GHz [Noctua NH-U12P SE2] | 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance Pro DDR3-2400 10-12-12-31-1T | ASUS GTX 770 DCU-II OC | SyncMaster 2433BW 1920X1200 | Razer Lachesis | Sennheiser HD-555 | SupremeFX III | WD Caviar Black 1TB | Windows 8.1 Professional

Google Nexus 4 | franco.Kernel
Danny Nissan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2012, 08:38 PM   #17
oozz77
Radeon HD 7970
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Australia Australia
Posts: 928
oozz77 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Gee Danny,

I do read many posts on this forum and I'm sure I've seen many people posting their specs with Radeon 7900 series running on their AMD systems and even pointing to reviews showing that at very high resolutions, PCI-e 3 boards showing a speed improvment over PCE-e 2.

My point here is I am sure they were running AMD mobo and CPU!!
__________________
Asus M3A78-EMH HDMI
AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+
4 Gig Kingston PC2-6400
ASUS EAH5770 CuCore
LG 20' Wide Screen Flatron
LG-GSA DVD Rewriter/Burner, Pioneer DVD-RW DVR-106D,
3 x 620 gig drives, Cable Internet,
SoundWorks FPS 1000+Altec Lansing(6.1 setup),
oozz77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2012, 10:32 PM   #18
KAC
Pussy face to my axe
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pakistan Lahore
Posts: 38,907
KAC has a basement full of buried neg-reppersKAC has a basement full of buried neg-reppersKAC has a basement full of buried neg-reppersKAC has a basement full of buried neg-reppersKAC has a basement full of buried neg-reppersKAC has a basement full of buried neg-reppersKAC has a basement full of buried neg-reppersKAC has a basement full of buried neg-reppersKAC has a basement full of buried neg-reppersKAC has a basement full of buried neg-reppersKAC has a basement full of buried neg-reppers


Default

150C is when you should start getting worried...
KAC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2012, 11:09 PM   #19
oozz77
Radeon HD 7970
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Australia Australia
Posts: 928
oozz77 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Hi KAC,

Quote:
150C is when you should start getting worried...


You are joking are you not? I can imagine possibly up to 95c but no way 150C!!
__________________
Asus M3A78-EMH HDMI
AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+
4 Gig Kingston PC2-6400
ASUS EAH5770 CuCore
LG 20' Wide Screen Flatron
LG-GSA DVD Rewriter/Burner, Pioneer DVD-RW DVR-106D,
3 x 620 gig drives, Cable Internet,
SoundWorks FPS 1000+Altec Lansing(6.1 setup),
oozz77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2012, 11:06 AM   #20
KAC
Pussy face to my axe
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pakistan Lahore
Posts: 38,907
KAC has a basement full of buried neg-reppersKAC has a basement full of buried neg-reppersKAC has a basement full of buried neg-reppersKAC has a basement full of buried neg-reppersKAC has a basement full of buried neg-reppersKAC has a basement full of buried neg-reppersKAC has a basement full of buried neg-reppersKAC has a basement full of buried neg-reppersKAC has a basement full of buried neg-reppersKAC has a basement full of buried neg-reppersKAC has a basement full of buried neg-reppers


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oozz77 View Post
Hi KAC,



You are joking are you not? I can imagine possibly up to 95c but no way 150C!!
Yes, oozz77, I am joking.
KAC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
5770 Lower Temps with 10.9a Retrimourne CATALYST Drivers 1 Oct 11, 2010 07:20 AM
safe temps for hdd biscuitownz General Hardware 5 May 20, 2009 10:03 PM
Safe Temps for GPU and CPU. Dr Gonzo General Hardware 12 Jun 26, 2007 06:52 PM
Safe Temps... mcrobrewer Radeon Tweaking, Modding, and Overclocking 1 Aug 11, 2006 08:39 PM
Safe GPU Temps armageddon415 General Radeon Discussion 1 May 24, 2003 06:04 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:49 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink