Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Computing Forums » General Hardware
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

General Hardware Talk about PCs/Macs, motherboards, CPUs, sound cards, RAM, hard drives, networking and everything else about computer hardware!

"
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Apr 14, 2012, 03:07 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
bounty_hunter
Rage3D Spammer
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: United States earth
Posts: 13,143
bounty_hunter is still being judged by the masses


Default PC to TV No sound

Hello all you wonderful people, I have a dilly of a pickle here. Getting back into desktop gaming I decided to use my tv ( with a vizio soundbard connected to it via optical audio cable) for my monitor. Pc is up and running but no sound. Now the PC is connected to the tv via hdmi cable, my xbox is occupying the other hdmi port on my tv. Finally the last bit of information that i think would be useful is that the xbox sound is working fine, my tv audio settings are the same for both. I don't understand what could be the problem other than software? My motherboard is a KA3 mvp motherboard.
__________________
Lifes a laugh and deaths a Joke
There are no winners in online gaming just diffrent degrees of losers - myself :)
http://www.rage3d.com/board/showthre...eadid=33733484 <----hub thread go there for info.

system sepcs: Ultra X-Finity 500W ATX PS w/2 80mm Fans-Athlon-64 3400+ - GigaByte K8NS nForce-3 250 Chipset- ATI Radeon X800-Pro 256MB-Western Digital 200 GB 7200 RPM-dvd 16x-sony dvd rw dw-d22a
once in the 70's i tried boy scout cookies, they tasted weird and confusing. -logen
bounty_hunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2012, 10:23 PM   #2
lil bastard
Radeon HD 6970
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Greece Boca Raton FL
Posts: 557
lil bastard is still being judged by the masses


Default

Is the HDMI on a video card or the motherboard?

It could be something as simple as right clicking on the volume icon on the task bar, select playback devices, and make sure the HDMI thats connected to the TV is selected as the default audio device. (windows 7)

I know when I was looking for a receiver a few years ago, not all of them accepted audio from the HDMI cable. You needed to run an optical cable along side it. Is it possible your second HDMI port on the TV is set up the same way?

Depending how old your video card or motherboard is, it might not support audio over HDMI either.

Other than that, I dont know what to tell you.
__________________
Asus Maximus IV Gene-Z | i5-2500k | 8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3-1600 | 256GB Samsung 830 SSD| Samsung F3 1TB | Antec Truepower 650w | Dell 2405FPW PVA | Dell 2007FP IPS | MSI N460GTX Hawk

Gigabyte GA-Z68MX-UD2H-B3 | i5-2400 | 8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3-1600 | 60GB OCZ Vertex Plus SSD - SRT | WD Black 1TB | Antec Earthwatts 500w | Vizio 42" 1080P | Sapphire HD7850 OC | ATI Theater 650 Pro

Intel DH67BL | i3-2100 | 8GB Kingston HyperX DDR3-1600 | 1x2TB WD EARS | 4x2TB Samsung F4EG | Antec Earthwatts 380w | Headless

Lenovo x230t Tablet PC | i5-3320M | 8GB DDR3-1600 | Samsung 256GB 830SSD |

lil bastard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 16, 2012, 05:31 PM   #3
Sweetz
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 5,325
Sweetz can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultySweetz can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

So are the system specs in your sig accurate, or some kind of parody?

If they're accurate: You can't get sound over HDMI with an X800.

Some TVs have an HDMI port specifically meant for PC and will support sound for that input via separate minijack in (which you'd then connect to your sound card) - you'll only be able to get stereo with that though.
Sweetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Apr 17, 2012, 07:11 AM   #4
Guybo
Anonymous Proletariat
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: United States The Big Guava
Posts: 3,055
Guybo is still being judged by the masses


Default

If the vid card has a HDMI port than it can do audio- but you need a special connector to go from your mobo's audio jumper to the vid card. My old 8800 worked this way.
Guybo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 2012, 03:19 PM   #5
Sweetz
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 5,325
Sweetz can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultySweetz can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Guybo View Post
If the vid card has a HDMI port than it can do audio- but you need a special connector to go from your mobo's audio jumper to the vid card. My old 8800 worked this way.
That only applies to nVidia cards of older generations.

To my knowledge ATI has never made a card with an SPDIF passthrough for HDMI audio. They all have their own basic integrated sound chips. So if you had a dedicated sound card you couldn't actually use that for audio over HDMI.

Also nVidia went this route with the 400+ series, their new cards have their own sound chip and function as the sound card themselves.

If you want to use a good dedicated sound card in conjunction with a TV these days you'll typically need to hook that up separately via optical (TOSLINK). Though for that to be worthwhile you'd want a receiver and surround system. Might was well just use the video cards' sound processor if you're only outputting to crappy TV speakers.

In any case, an X800, if that is what bounty_hunter has (but methinks he's just trolling) predates all that. He'd have to be using a DVI->HDMI cable if that's actually the video card he's using.

Last edited by Sweetz : Apr 19, 2012 at 03:21 PM.
Sweetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sound Blaster has finally blasted sound one last time, and fallen silent. Faceless Rebel General Hardware 69 Jan 24, 2010 11:08 AM
Help - sound not playing - Integrated Sound Blaster Audigy ADVANCED HD Audio dumb1 PC Gaming 1 Apr 15, 2006 12:40 AM
Sound issues in Full Spectrum Warrior (crackling sound) dumb1 PC Gaming 6 Sep 30, 2004 06:49 PM
Unable To Record Sound When Recording TV on the AIW 8500 Using SB Audigy Sound Card kennethmh Multimedia Discussion and Technical Support 1 Apr 2, 2003 07:58 PM
Which is Better nforce mother board sound card or Sound blaster 512D Reply Quick! Rob McClelland General Hardware 3 Jan 7, 2003 03:18 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:54 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink