Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Graphics Technology Forums » CATALYST Drivers
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

CATALYST Drivers Discussion and Technical support forum for AMD's Catalyst Drivers. Please put Linux-specific driver posts and Remote Wonder discussion in their respective forums.

"
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Mar 24, 2010, 04:11 PM   #91
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
nbohr1more
Radeon HD 6870
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: United States ROCHESTER, NY
Posts: 203
nbohr1more is still being judged by the masses


Default

__________________
WinXP Pro SP3
P4 3.0GHZ 800 BUS
HD 4650 1GB GDDR2 AGP
Dual Channel 2GB DDR 400
Intel D865GBFL (got a deal at work)

"Videogames are not for us. They're here to entertain the television." -Mel Brooks
nbohr1more is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2010, 11:05 PM   #92
nbohr1more
Radeon HD 6870
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: United States ROCHESTER, NY
Posts: 203
nbohr1more is still being judged by the masses


Default

...so far the window 7 version of 10.3 agp hf is pretty decent... i didnt even have to kill windows explorer to get decent RE5 framerates... ghostbusters is still much more laggy in windows 7 vs xp with 9.10 but I`ll chalk that up to being at the edge of having enough cpu ... unless I see significant improvement in 10.3 in xp
__________________
WinXP Pro SP3
P4 3.0GHZ 800 BUS
HD 4650 1GB GDDR2 AGP
Dual Channel 2GB DDR 400
Intel D865GBFL (got a deal at work)

"Videogames are not for us. They're here to entertain the television." -Mel Brooks
nbohr1more is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2010, 07:33 AM   #93
nbohr1more
Radeon HD 6870
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: United States ROCHESTER, NY
Posts: 203
nbohr1more is still being judged by the masses


Default 10.3? Not for Ghostbusters...

While there were less lockups in Ghostbusters than in 10.2 the number and severity were still far too severe. Back to 9.10 where slowdowns were the only real problem (and likely due to my weak CPU)... As I said, I don't really expect AMD to work on this problem as my CPU isn't really supported anyway...


(lockups in XP SP3 not Win7, sorry)...
__________________
WinXP Pro SP3
P4 3.0GHZ 800 BUS
HD 4650 1GB GDDR2 AGP
Dual Channel 2GB DDR 400
Intel D865GBFL (got a deal at work)

"Videogames are not for us. They're here to entertain the television." -Mel Brooks

Last edited by nbohr1more : Mar 28, 2010 at 03:23 PM. Reason: OS not specified
nbohr1more is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old May 1, 2010, 04:45 PM   #94
nbohr1more
Radeon HD 6870
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: United States ROCHESTER, NY
Posts: 203
nbohr1more is still being judged by the masses


Default

10.4 about the same as 10.3 in Ghostbusters (less frequent lockups though and they recover a little quicker...)...

I was kinda hoping for OpenGL improvement but "The Dark Mod" Training Mission time-demo was slower and still has the Hall-of-Mirrors effect in the Sky-box.

Not much for me in this release...
__________________
WinXP Pro SP3
P4 3.0GHZ 800 BUS
HD 4650 1GB GDDR2 AGP
Dual Channel 2GB DDR 400
Intel D865GBFL (got a deal at work)

"Videogames are not for us. They're here to entertain the television." -Mel Brooks
nbohr1more is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2010, 08:26 AM   #95
nbohr1more
Radeon HD 6870
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: United States ROCHESTER, NY
Posts: 203
nbohr1more is still being judged by the masses


Default

I was going to wait for 10.6 but got impatient so I have tried the 10.5 AGP HF. Ghostbusters seems faster but one big lockup at the beginning has soured my experience (didn't have much test time this morning) but the lockup seemed to recover quicker than in previous 10.x versions. OpenGL was indeed much slower but I put the atioglxx.dll from the 10.6 beta 2 into my Doom 3 folder and it was much smoother.
__________________
WinXP Pro SP3
P4 3.0GHZ 800 BUS
HD 4650 1GB GDDR2 AGP
Dual Channel 2GB DDR 400
Intel D865GBFL (got a deal at work)

"Videogames are not for us. They're here to entertain the television." -Mel Brooks
nbohr1more is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2010, 04:24 AM   #96
delirium121
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: United Kingdom England
Posts: 2,178
delirium121 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nbohr1more View Post
I was going to wait for 10.6 but got impatient so I have tried the 10.5 AGP HF. Ghostbusters seems faster but one big lockup at the beginning has soured my experience (didn't have much test time this morning) but the lockup seemed to recover quicker than in previous 10.x versions. OpenGL was indeed much slower but I put the atioglxx.dll from the 10.6 beta 2 into my Doom 3 folder and it was much smoother.

please tell me that 10.6 is a full legacy driver (e.g. it will keep my x1950 going for a while longer)

the current one (10.2) has a habit of dropping the dvi connection to my monitor whilst playing games for any longer than 20mins or so

EDIT: Fixed via switching off catalyst AI
__________________
./)/)
( . .)
c(")(")
BEWARE!.. the lemon wheels

Last edited by delirium121 : Jun 15, 2010 at 01:44 PM.
delirium121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 2010, 11:07 PM   #97
nbohr1more
Radeon HD 6870
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: United States ROCHESTER, NY
Posts: 203
nbohr1more is still being judged by the masses


Default

Not sure about DVI issues... (I have a CRT)... Ghostbusters was much worse than 10.5 (so 9.10 is still the champ)... OpenGL is much more stable, I actually had Catalyst AI enabled with The Dark Mod (for Doom 3) and didn't have crashes (but enabling bloom still causes upside-down issues and skyboxes still rotate in weird ways...)
__________________
WinXP Pro SP3
P4 3.0GHZ 800 BUS
HD 4650 1GB GDDR2 AGP
Dual Channel 2GB DDR 400
Intel D865GBFL (got a deal at work)

"Videogames are not for us. They're here to entertain the television." -Mel Brooks
nbohr1more is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2010, 07:58 AM   #98
MIXXX
=-FanATIc-=
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Canada BigEasy
Posts: 246
MIXXX is still being judged by the masses


ATI Technologies

so far the CATALYST 10.4's AGP version have been the most stable for me.

All Quake and Doom 3 games work fine with these.

10.5 and 10.6 OGL is not working well, texture corruption all over.

PEACE
__________________
P4 3.06 HT Northwood 2048 PC800 RDRAM Intel 850E
SAPPHIRE HD 3850 AGP 512 RAM
Sound Blaster Audigy Gamer
250GB 8MB cache WD hard drive
80GB 8MB cache WD hard drive
DUAL NEC 16x dvdrw/cdrw
Samsung 21" LCD
Dual Boot
WINXP PRO SP3 DX9.0c(latest Runtime)
WINDOWS 7 PRO 32 BIT
MIXXX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 27, 2010, 03:26 AM   #99
chicknfood
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1
chicknfood is still being judged by the masses


Default

10.6 doesn't seem to be working for me on a Radeon HD 2600 Pro AGP

Anyone know a working version of the catalyst drivers that are good for this card?
chicknfood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2010, 07:51 AM   #100
MIXXX
=-FanATIc-=
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Canada BigEasy
Posts: 246
MIXXX is still being judged by the masses


ATI Technologies

Hello

for the 2900 I would use the 7.12's .

I think this will be my last driver update.

Thanks
__________________
P4 3.06 HT Northwood 2048 PC800 RDRAM Intel 850E
SAPPHIRE HD 3850 AGP 512 RAM
Sound Blaster Audigy Gamer
250GB 8MB cache WD hard drive
80GB 8MB cache WD hard drive
DUAL NEC 16x dvdrw/cdrw
Samsung 21" LCD
Dual Boot
WINXP PRO SP3 DX9.0c(latest Runtime)
WINDOWS 7 PRO 32 BIT
MIXXX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2010, 08:56 PM   #101
cromwell
Radeon HD 6850
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 164
cromwell is still being judged by the masses


Default

I am using the Cat 9-2 drivers for both my X1600 on XP and 2600 XT on Vista with a Visiontek 17" and Acer 19" flatscreen with excellent results. I've tried some of the later drivers but keep coming back to the 9-2's for consistently good graphics on XP and/or Vista. I don't have 7 yet

Just one man's setup and as we all know windows setups vary greatly by user.
cromwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2010, 08:53 PM   #102
nbohr1more
Radeon HD 6870
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: United States ROCHESTER, NY
Posts: 203
nbohr1more is still being judged by the masses


Default

Lockups in Ghostbusters for Catalyst 10.10
Portal Sky rendering bug in Doom 3 (The Dark Mod)
__________________
WinXP Pro SP3
P4 3.0GHZ 800 BUS
HD 4650 1GB GDDR2 AGP
Dual Channel 2GB DDR 400
Intel D865GBFL (got a deal at work)

"Videogames are not for us. They're here to entertain the television." -Mel Brooks
nbohr1more is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2010, 10:57 AM   #103
MIXXX
=-FanATIc-=
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Canada BigEasy
Posts: 246
MIXXX is still being judged by the masses


ATI Technologies

I have a question nbohr1more

are the Quake 3 textures still messed up with the 10.10 AGP hot fix or is the extension limit issue still there.

I am at 10.4 AGP right now

PEACE
__________________
P4 3.06 HT Northwood 2048 PC800 RDRAM Intel 850E
SAPPHIRE HD 3850 AGP 512 RAM
Sound Blaster Audigy Gamer
250GB 8MB cache WD hard drive
80GB 8MB cache WD hard drive
DUAL NEC 16x dvdrw/cdrw
Samsung 21" LCD
Dual Boot
WINXP PRO SP3 DX9.0c(latest Runtime)
WINDOWS 7 PRO 32 BIT
MIXXX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2010, 07:43 AM   #104
MIXXX
=-FanATIc-=
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Canada BigEasy
Posts: 246
MIXXX is still being judged by the masses


ATI Technologies

10.10 AGP Drivers work well on this aging system.

Quake 3 working flawless

Left for dead and all my steam games working well too.

PEACE
__________________
P4 3.06 HT Northwood 2048 PC800 RDRAM Intel 850E
SAPPHIRE HD 3850 AGP 512 RAM
Sound Blaster Audigy Gamer
250GB 8MB cache WD hard drive
80GB 8MB cache WD hard drive
DUAL NEC 16x dvdrw/cdrw
Samsung 21" LCD
Dual Boot
WINXP PRO SP3 DX9.0c(latest Runtime)
WINDOWS 7 PRO 32 BIT
MIXXX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2010, 09:42 AM   #105
theshadowcult
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Australia Opet
Posts: 9,569
theshadowcult can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultytheshadowcult can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Probably about time i install new drivers, but i don't think there would be anything really worth worrying about any more. Too many generations since the last agp card.
__________________
Saggypoo: Cause when it comes to the release of HL3, we've all been...

(•_•)

( •_•)>⌐■-■

(⌐■_■)

Left for Dead.
theshadowcult is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2010, 10:27 AM   #106
nbohr1more
Radeon HD 6870
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: United States ROCHESTER, NY
Posts: 203
nbohr1more is still being judged by the masses


Default

Thanks MIXX. I was feeling a little guilty about not replying but I haven't had time to install the Quake 3 demo to test.

Oh Atari, won't you please patch Ghostbusters so it works better with modern ATI drivers? I don't think ATI will go back to Catalyst 9.10 behavior just for your game... (I need a new rig )
__________________
WinXP Pro SP3
P4 3.0GHZ 800 BUS
HD 4650 1GB GDDR2 AGP
Dual Channel 2GB DDR 400
Intel D865GBFL (got a deal at work)

"Videogames are not for us. They're here to entertain the television." -Mel Brooks

Last edited by nbohr1more : Nov 3, 2010 at 10:28 AM. Reason: s
nbohr1more is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2010, 11:51 AM   #107
MIXXX
=-FanATIc-=
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Canada BigEasy
Posts: 246
MIXXX is still being judged by the masses


ATI Technologies

Just an FYI

Quake II and Return to Castle Wolfenstein not working with 10.10

so I tried to copy the 10.4 opengl to the directory but no go

so with that said, I think the 10.4 are the last driver for me

PEACE
__________________
P4 3.06 HT Northwood 2048 PC800 RDRAM Intel 850E
SAPPHIRE HD 3850 AGP 512 RAM
Sound Blaster Audigy Gamer
250GB 8MB cache WD hard drive
80GB 8MB cache WD hard drive
DUAL NEC 16x dvdrw/cdrw
Samsung 21" LCD
Dual Boot
WINXP PRO SP3 DX9.0c(latest Runtime)
WINDOWS 7 PRO 32 BIT
MIXXX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2010, 07:56 AM   #108
maddoguk_00
Radeon HD 6670
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 35
maddoguk_00 is still being judged by the masses


Default 10.10hotfix agp all good

I got a club3d agp 3850 256bit 512 and i have to say the new drives/CC works good for me even installing them went good no problems at all (wipes forhead after finishing installing it).(i installed windows 7)

the only problem is that i did not see the option to turn down the speed for my card from 8x to 4x, becouse i know the problem with agp 8x speed on my 3850, so i had to d/l river tuner it works good.

Its keep my work station going for other 2-3 years i be happy as hell.
my old rig spec's just to tell you ppl

dell 650 precision
Xeon 3.06ghz 2xcpu
4GBs ddr
Club3d HD3850 256bit 512gddr3 agp
samsung 22"
80gb
120gb
dvd-rom
dvd/cd-rw

I am so happy that 10.10 drives work. i allways came here to see what good drivers are keeps up the good work ppl THX ALLLOT
maddoguk_00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2010, 01:53 PM   #109
MIXXX
=-FanATIc-=
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Canada BigEasy
Posts: 246
MIXXX is still being judged by the masses


ATI Technologies

Hi there

can you test Return to Castle Wolf and Quake II

Just want to see if this error is there for you too

PEACE
__________________
P4 3.06 HT Northwood 2048 PC800 RDRAM Intel 850E
SAPPHIRE HD 3850 AGP 512 RAM
Sound Blaster Audigy Gamer
250GB 8MB cache WD hard drive
80GB 8MB cache WD hard drive
DUAL NEC 16x dvdrw/cdrw
Samsung 21" LCD
Dual Boot
WINXP PRO SP3 DX9.0c(latest Runtime)
WINDOWS 7 PRO 32 BIT
MIXXX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2010, 02:20 PM   #110
maddoguk_00
Radeon HD 6670
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 35
maddoguk_00 is still being judged by the masses


Default

yer tried playing quake 2 did not load up and had to restart my pc lol don't have it any more dele't and i don't have Return to Castle Wolf sorry only game i have so fare is l4d2 installed so fare only game i played and tested it and works nice and smoothey
maddoguk_00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2010, 10:25 PM   #111
theshadowcult
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Australia Opet
Posts: 9,569
theshadowcult can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultytheshadowcult can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

You change the agp speed in your motherboards BIOS. You should really do it there!
__________________
Saggypoo: Cause when it comes to the release of HL3, we've all been...

(•_•)

( •_•)>⌐■-■

(⌐■_■)

Left for Dead.
theshadowcult is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2010, 03:52 AM   #112
maddoguk_00
Radeon HD 6670
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 35
maddoguk_00 is still being judged by the masses


Default

yer the is no option for me to do that i got a dell and it has not a option to change my agp speed on it
maddoguk_00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2010, 10:21 AM   #113
MIXXX
=-FanATIc-=
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Canada BigEasy
Posts: 246
MIXXX is still being judged by the masses


ATI Technologies

Thanks for checking

Yes the L4D2 plays well for me with 10.10 and 10.4

but I like that the 10.4 plays all my games well.

I am a gamer from the 3dfx days so I have lots of old titles that my kids enjoy .

thanks

PEACE
__________________
P4 3.06 HT Northwood 2048 PC800 RDRAM Intel 850E
SAPPHIRE HD 3850 AGP 512 RAM
Sound Blaster Audigy Gamer
250GB 8MB cache WD hard drive
80GB 8MB cache WD hard drive
DUAL NEC 16x dvdrw/cdrw
Samsung 21" LCD
Dual Boot
WINXP PRO SP3 DX9.0c(latest Runtime)
WINDOWS 7 PRO 32 BIT
MIXXX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2010, 02:55 PM   #114
nbohr1more
Radeon HD 6870
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: United States ROCHESTER, NY
Posts: 203
nbohr1more is still being judged by the masses


Default

Rinse and repeat:

Lockups in Ghostbusters for Catalyst 10.12
Portal Sky rendering bug in Doom 3 (The Dark Mod)
__________________
WinXP Pro SP3
P4 3.0GHZ 800 BUS
HD 4650 1GB GDDR2 AGP
Dual Channel 2GB DDR 400
Intel D865GBFL (got a deal at work)

"Videogames are not for us. They're here to entertain the television." -Mel Brooks
nbohr1more is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2011, 01:06 PM   #115
jura1985
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1
jura1985 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Hi,
I have sapphire hd3650 512DD2 AGP card and no drivers i have tried this far work, every game crashes on the start...
Can you tell me any "golden" driver version that worked for most users with this card?
Thanks in advance!
jura1985 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2011, 05:16 AM   #116
theshadowcult
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Australia Opet
Posts: 9,569
theshadowcult can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultytheshadowcult can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

You could try 10.4 or something in the 9's.
__________________
Saggypoo: Cause when it comes to the release of HL3, we've all been...

(•_•)

( •_•)>⌐■-■

(⌐■_■)

Left for Dead.
theshadowcult is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2011, 07:40 AM   #117
MIXXX
=-FanATIc-=
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Canada BigEasy
Posts: 246
MIXXX is still being judged by the masses


ATI Technologies

What are your complete systems specs?

I find that older games will benefit from the CATALYST 7.12 and even the 9.12.

I use 10.4 and they play everything. I cant play recent games since they require DX11 to look the best.

Have you uninstalled and ran a driver cleaner just to make sure?

Let us know

PEACE
__________________
P4 3.06 HT Northwood 2048 PC800 RDRAM Intel 850E
SAPPHIRE HD 3850 AGP 512 RAM
Sound Blaster Audigy Gamer
250GB 8MB cache WD hard drive
80GB 8MB cache WD hard drive
DUAL NEC 16x dvdrw/cdrw
Samsung 21" LCD
Dual Boot
WINXP PRO SP3 DX9.0c(latest Runtime)
WINDOWS 7 PRO 32 BIT
MIXXX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 2, 2011, 07:55 AM   #118
MIXXX
=-FanATIc-=
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Canada BigEasy
Posts: 246
MIXXX is still being judged by the masses


ATI Technologies

I tried the 11.1 AGP version on Windows XP sp3 and older titles quake titles dont work.

Only Quake 3 works.

I think they were saying that the 11.1a version 8.22 was working with older titles.

anyone else have any luck with an AGP system

PEACE
__________________
P4 3.06 HT Northwood 2048 PC800 RDRAM Intel 850E
SAPPHIRE HD 3850 AGP 512 RAM
Sound Blaster Audigy Gamer
250GB 8MB cache WD hard drive
80GB 8MB cache WD hard drive
DUAL NEC 16x dvdrw/cdrw
Samsung 21" LCD
Dual Boot
WINXP PRO SP3 DX9.0c(latest Runtime)
WINDOWS 7 PRO 32 BIT
MIXXX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 2, 2011, 07:59 AM   #119
spyre
ATI Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom England
Posts: 18,352
spyre is still being judged by the masses


Default

XP doesn't have the OpenGL fixes that the 11.1a Windows 7 drivers does. You will have to wait or use a none ancient OS.
__________________
I do NOT work for AMD/ATI!!!!
AMD/ATI Beta Tester
spyre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 2, 2011, 10:54 AM   #120
MIXXX
=-FanATIc-=
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Canada BigEasy
Posts: 246
MIXXX is still being judged by the masses


ATI Technologies AGP GAMING

Thanks for the updated info Spyre.

Looks like CATALYST 10.4 AGP HOTFIX until the newer XP fix shows up.

happy gaming to all

PEACE
__________________
P4 3.06 HT Northwood 2048 PC800 RDRAM Intel 850E
SAPPHIRE HD 3850 AGP 512 RAM
Sound Blaster Audigy Gamer
250GB 8MB cache WD hard drive
80GB 8MB cache WD hard drive
DUAL NEC 16x dvdrw/cdrw
Samsung 21" LCD
Dual Boot
WINXP PRO SP3 DX9.0c(latest Runtime)
WINDOWS 7 PRO 32 BIT
MIXXX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Catalyst 11.1 & 11.1a Hotfix Now Available shane_p CATALYST Drivers 129 Feb 9, 2011 05:11 AM
AMD Catalyst 11.1a Hotfix Shloppy CATALYST Drivers 97 Feb 3, 2011 01:54 AM
Catalyst 10.10e Hotfix Hopper64 CATALYST Drivers 37 Nov 16, 2010 11:09 AM
AMD Catalyst 10.10c Hotfix Rik55 CATALYST Drivers 48 Nov 7, 2010 08:59 PM
ATi Catalyst 7.5 Hotfix Lupine General News 2 Jun 7, 2007 10:02 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:47 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink