Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Graphics Technology Forums » AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support Discussion and Technical support forum for AMD's Radeon Software.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Sep 15, 2010, 04:34 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
narciso
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,123
narciso is still being judged by the masses


Default Catalyst 10.9a Hotfix

narciso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2010, 06:26 PM   #2
spyre
ATI Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom England
Posts: 18,438
spyre is still being judged by the masses


Default

People are saying that these fix the HDMI overscan/underscan scaling bug although its not mentioned in the text. These drivers also fix Vsync not working in Quake 3 and the Popcap games not working amongst other things.
__________________
I do work for AMD
AMD/ATI Beta Tester
spyre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2010, 06:34 PM   #3
|ALE|
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 17
|ALE| is still being judged by the masses


Default

this hotfix are only for 4870/4850 X2 card or even for 5970... ?
|ALE| is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Sep 15, 2010, 07:07 PM   #4
caveman-jim
Deposed King of Rage3D
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 48,926
caveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

4850 X2
4870 X2
Only, apparently. 10.8 hotfix did all cards.
caveman-jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2010, 07:07 PM   #5
ECH1
deal with it
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,622
ECH1 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by |ALE| View Post
this hotfix are only for 4870/4850 X2 card or even for 5970... ?
I don't think they are specific to 4870/4850 X2
ECH1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2010, 07:08 PM   #6
spyre
ATI Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom England
Posts: 18,438
spyre is still being judged by the masses


Default

No they aren't specific.
__________________
I do work for AMD
AMD/ATI Beta Tester
spyre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2010, 07:09 PM   #7
caveman-jim
Deposed King of Rage3D
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 48,926
caveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

It's pretty clear:

Applicable Products:
This article applies to the following configuration(s):
  • Hardware
    • ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 series of products
    • ATI Radeon HD 4850 X2 series of products

Although the 10.8 hotfixes said the same thing, then was updated to include HD 2000 - 5000 series. Right now it said those two cards only.
caveman-jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2010, 07:17 PM   #8
spyre
ATI Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom England
Posts: 18,438
spyre is still being judged by the masses


Default

The inf has all the cards, so it doesn't matter what the description says.
__________________
I do work for AMD
AMD/ATI Beta Tester
spyre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2010, 07:28 PM   #9
bennypoo
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1
bennypoo is still being judged by the masses


Default

Okay so what about the 5870 X2??? isnt there any fix for us? We are the lastest cards why isnt there any fix for us CFX users?
bennypoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2010, 07:37 PM   #10
spyre
ATI Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom England
Posts: 18,438
spyre is still being judged by the masses


Default

what are you on about? 5xxx cards are not affected by the 2nd GPU clock bug that 4870X2 and 4850X2 cards are.
__________________
I do work for AMD
AMD/ATI Beta Tester
spyre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2010, 07:40 PM   #11
caveman-jim
Deposed King of Rage3D
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 48,926
caveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spyre View Post
The inf has all the cards, so it doesn't matter what the description says.
Yeah, I meant:
Quote:
Originally Posted by spyre View Post
5xxx cards are not affected by the 2nd GPU clock bug that 4870X2 and 4850X2 cards are.
caveman-jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2010, 07:43 PM   #12
Lurk
Going Nowhere Fast
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Italy Torino
Posts: 4,487
Lurk can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyLurk can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Sooo, would it make any sense for a single card user to install 10.9a, other than the compulsion to be constantly updated?
__________________
No question is dumb if you do not know the answer.
Q: How can you move on in life if all you care about is pussy and videogames?
A: You don't.
Lurk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2010, 07:47 PM   #13
spyre
ATI Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom England
Posts: 18,438
spyre is still being judged by the masses


Default

Depends if you want working OGL vsync or not etc.
__________________
I do work for AMD
AMD/ATI Beta Tester
spyre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2010, 07:50 PM   #14
twohype
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 143
twohype is still being judged by the masses


Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by |ALE| View Post
this hotfix are only for 4870/4850 X2 card or even for 5970... ?
Yep, they work with 5970, I just installed them and they fixed the overscan issue I was having with 10.9 so I'm a happy camper now :-)
__________________
AMD-Breast-Station Specs
-----------------------------------------------------------------
AMD FX 8350
GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD7 AM3 (AMD 990FX chipset)
Crucial Ballistix 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR3 1866 (Timings:8-8-8-24-T1)
Radeon HD 7990 + 7970 (Tri-Fire Mode)
AMD HDMI sound (via Radeon HD 7970)
Display: 73" Mitsubishi 73838 3DTV
Primary Drive: OCZ Agility 3 SSD (2*480GB) in Raid 0 (SATA 3 mode)
Secondary Drives: 5 (SATA 3) Drives total 13 Tera Bytes Secondary Storage

Last edited by twohype : Sep 16, 2010 at 08:59 AM.
twohype is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2010, 03:38 AM   #15
demo
space cadet
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Australia Melbourne
Posts: 26,111
demo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bound


Default

so wtf, installed 10.9 then during installation of 10.9 hotfix it BSOD's... reboot and get a message "no ATI hardware detected"

reinstalled 10.4a and no problems and everything working as it should..
__________________
____________________
demo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2010, 04:46 AM   #16
oap
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Portsmouth, uk
Posts: 110
oap is still being judged by the masses


Default

10.9 working fine on 4890, soon as i install the hotfix i get flickering on websites? Go back to plain 10.9 = all fine again. I know i probably didnt need the hotfix anyway, but i have a strange urge to always try the latest drivers regardless
oap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2010, 06:41 AM   #17
xxJACKxx
Radeon R420
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: United States Here
Posts: 289
xxJACKxx is still being judged by the masses


Default

Has anyone tried these on a 4870x2? Both cores working and Popcap games working? I don't have time to check them out myself yet. Thanks.
xxJACKxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2010, 07:25 AM   #18
DOXau
Random Lurker
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Australia Perth
Posts: 223
DOXau is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xxJACKxx View Post
Has anyone tried these on a 4870x2? Both cores working and Popcap games working? I don't have time to check them out myself yet. Thanks.

Basically the same as 10.8b, 2nd gpu gets enabled, but then gets stuck in 3d clocks on exit in dx9 games etc
Also some dx10 games like farcry2, 2nd gpu gives 0 performance even tho clocks say its in 3d.
DOXau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2010, 08:34 AM   #19
Burn
Radeon R700
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Canada in my house
Posts: 878
Burn is still being judged by the masses


Default

i guess my 4870X2 is a legacy card now ....i will never get a newer working driver than 10.5a ,i tried 10.9a last night and the performance was horrible
__________________
-Burn
see button on the left for system specs.


There's a fine line between fishing and just standing on the shore like an idiot.
Burn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2010, 11:17 AM   #20
Danny Nissan
high quality troll
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sweden Sweden
Posts: 4,041
Danny Nissan can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyDanny Nissan can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oap View Post
10.9 working fine on 4890, soon as i install the hotfix i get flickering on websites? Go back to plain 10.9 = all fine again. I know i probably didnt need the hotfix anyway, but i have a strange urge to always try the latest drivers regardless
I installed it on mine and havent noticed any flicker. But i had uninstalled 10.8b and installed 10.9a fresh.
__________________
ASUS PG279Q | ASUS Strix GTX 1080 Ti OC 2025MHz/12.2GHz | Intel i7 3770K 4.7GHz [Noctua NH-U12P SE2] | 2x8GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-2400 10-12-12-31-1T | Fractal Design R4 | Be Quiet! Straight Power CM E9 580W | ASUS Maximus V Gene | SteelSeries Rival 310 | Qpad MK-50 | Sennheiser HD-555 | SupremeFX III | Samsung 850 Evo 250GB + 840 Evo 250GB | WD Caviar Black 1TB | Windows 10 Professional

iPhone 8 Plus
Danny Nissan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2010, 12:52 PM   #21
lemonhead
Radeon R700
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 898
lemonhead can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultylemonhead can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultylemonhead can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

I moved from 10.8 to 10.9a, but had a very hard time during install.

For some reason, the installation process would crash with the message "Catalyst Install Manager has stopped working". It's the first time I saw this issue (Windows 7 x64, i7 920), and ended up re-installing bunch of VC++ libraries from MS. I also uninstalled the driver, ran driver-cleaner and CClean in safe mode.

After all that I didn't see the crash, but the install process still only works half the time. It sometimes gets stuck during "Hardware detection" or "Installing Catalyst Install Manager" phase. If it gets through these two steps, the main parts (CCC, driver etc) are installed without any issue.

Overall, my HD4850 is running fine. The only thing I don't like and that has been there for a while is that the memory clock stays high in idle, if the card is overclocked. Even if only the GPU is overclocked, the memory clock would still stay at its high setting. It's either a bug or a poorly thought through feature.
lemonhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2010, 01:41 PM   #22
the_gas
Radeon R700
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: England Norwich
Posts: 896
the_gas is still being judged by the masses


Default

Apologies if this is a tard question.

I have a 5850 and use dvi. It is worth me using these or just the 10.9?

Also, do i install just these, or do i install 10.9 reboot then install the hotfix?

Cheers
__________________
Report AMD Driver Bugs Beta Drivers | WHQL Drivers
the_gas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2010, 01:52 PM   #23
Danny Nissan
high quality troll
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sweden Sweden
Posts: 4,041
Danny Nissan can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyDanny Nissan can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Hotfixes are the same as full drivers, you dont need anything before you install them.

So basicly. You can install them without having any driver installed. Or you can install them over any driver (doesnt have to be 10.9).

Spyre said these fix vsync in quake etc (opengl?) so why not? They are newer than 10.9.
__________________
ASUS PG279Q | ASUS Strix GTX 1080 Ti OC 2025MHz/12.2GHz | Intel i7 3770K 4.7GHz [Noctua NH-U12P SE2] | 2x8GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-2400 10-12-12-31-1T | Fractal Design R4 | Be Quiet! Straight Power CM E9 580W | ASUS Maximus V Gene | SteelSeries Rival 310 | Qpad MK-50 | Sennheiser HD-555 | SupremeFX III | Samsung 850 Evo 250GB + 840 Evo 250GB | WD Caviar Black 1TB | Windows 10 Professional

iPhone 8 Plus
Danny Nissan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2010, 02:46 PM   #24
xxJACKxx
Radeon R420
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: United States Here
Posts: 289
xxJACKxx is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DOXau View Post
Basically the same as 10.8b, 2nd gpu gets enabled, but then gets stuck in 3d clocks on exit in dx9 games etc
Also some dx10 games like farcry2, 2nd gpu gives 0 performance even tho clocks say its in 3d.
Thanks for testing it out. I guess I'll stick with the 10.3.
xxJACKxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2010, 03:12 PM   #25
Ust
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Copenhagen Denmark
Posts: 151
Ust is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Basically the same as 10.8b, 2nd gpu gets enabled, but then gets stuck in 3d clocks on exit in dx9 games etc
Also some dx10 games like farcry2, 2nd gpu gives 0 performance even tho clocks say its in 3d.
Quote:

i guess my 4870X2 is a legacy card now ....i will never get a newer working driver than 10.5a ,i tried 10.9a last night and the performance was horrible

Which titles did you guys test with 4870X2 and 10.9b?
You say that performance is still off with drivers post 10.4/10.5
Ust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2010, 12:59 AM   #26
the_gas
Radeon R700
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: England Norwich
Posts: 896
the_gas is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danny Nissan View Post
Hotfixes are the same as full drivers, you dont need anything before you install them.

So basicly. You can install them without having any driver installed. Or you can install them over any driver (doesnt have to be 10.9).

Spyre said these fix vsync in quake etc (opengl?) so why not? They are newer than 10.9.
Thanks Danny, think ill just install the hotfix then in that case.
__________________
Report AMD Driver Bugs Beta Drivers | WHQL Drivers
the_gas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2010, 05:33 AM   #27
BRMSlash
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Australia Collie
Posts: 6
BRMSlash is still being judged by the masses


Default

Looks like they've finally fixed the de-interlacing bug that has been around since 10.4 something. Now I can actually select the method of deinterlacing in Windows 7 on my 4870! What a miracle. Now they need to fix the refresh rate problem, so I can go back to 1280x800 at 75Hz rather than being fixed to 60Hz.

Slowly getting there. Don't stop AMD. You've almost got decent drivers.
BRMSlash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2010, 09:11 AM   #28
Blín D'ñero
HD7970 crossfire
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Netherlands Netherlands
Posts: 1,812
Blín D'ñero is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BRMSlash View Post
Looks like they've finally fixed the de-interlacing bug that has been around since 10.4 something. Now I can actually select the method of deinterlacing in Windows 7 on my 4870! What a miracle. Now they need to fix the refresh rate problem, so I can go back to 1280x800 at 75Hz rather than being fixed to 60Hz.

Slowly getting there. Don't stop AMD. You've almost got decent drivers.
"refresh rate problem"? You have your monitor connected via D-Sub (=standard VGA) perhaps? If so, then switch to DVI.
__________________
Intel i7 2700K @ 4.8 Ghz | Zalman CPNS9900LED | Asus Maximus IV Extreme-Z | 16 GB Corsair Dominator GT CMT16GX3M4X2133C9 DDR3 | 2 x (Sapphire) AMD Radeon HD7970 (crossfire) | Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatality Pro | Corsair AX 1200W | 4 x WDC WD1002FAEX | Optiarc AD 5240S | Dell U3011 @ 2560x1600 | Steelseries 7G | Razer Imperator 2012 | Coolermaster Stacker STC T01 | Logitech Z-5500 | Sennheiser HD598 | Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1 |
Blín D'ñero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2010, 11:55 AM   #29
Hardwood
Radeon Evergreen
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Canada Alberta, Canada
Posts: 1,708
Hardwood is still being judged by the masses


Default

I installed these overtop 10.9 and it fixed the HDMI scaling issue. (on 5870)
__________________
<---Computer #1 in System Specs Button

Computer #2) MSI A88X-G45, AMD A10-7850K, IGP, AMD 2x4GB 2133 Ram (R938G2130U1K), Antec 750w True, 128GB Sandisk SSD, 1TB WD Black, Win 10pro x64
Computer#3) GA-MA790FX, AMD 955, Thermaltake 550w, ASUS HD5870, Win10pro x86
Hardwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2010, 01:49 PM   #30
spyre
ATI Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom England
Posts: 18,438
spyre is still being judged by the masses


Default

The 10.9a drivers also fix Final Fantasy XI crashing on startup if anyone still plays that MMO.
__________________
I do work for AMD
AMD/ATI Beta Tester
spyre is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Catalyst™ 11.4c hotfix Burn AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support 10 May 8, 2011 10:21 AM
AMD Catalyst 11.1 & 11.1a Hotfix Now Available shane_p AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support 129 Feb 9, 2011 05:11 AM
Catalyst 10.10e Hotfix Hopper64 AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support 37 Nov 16, 2010 11:09 AM
AMD Catalyst 10.10c Hotfix Rik55 AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support 48 Nov 7, 2010 08:59 PM
ATi Catalyst 7.5 Hotfix Lupine Front Page News 2 Jun 7, 2007 10:02 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:08 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink