Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Site-related Forums » Rage3D Member Review Zone
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Rage3D Member Review Zone Have a hot new hardware or software component to show off? Get noticed! The Rage3D Member Review Area is your one-stop shop to share your reviewing expertise with the Rage3D community.

"
 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Jul 8, 2009, 02:42 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
Treeckcold57
Good ol' ATI
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: United States North Carolina
Posts: 15,960
Treeckcold57 can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyTreeckcold57 can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default XFX 4870 1GB review (INCLUDING PICS, BEWARE 56K!)

I just got this card yesterday! This is a big thing I ever seen! Check the comparison cards pics below! I did re-installing xp pro on my rig and took out the nvidia 7600GT and install a new card. Funny, I thought it might not fit in my case until I pushed it down and snap and I was like oh damn, it fitted! Like this.



See that a small fan? That's what I thought it would block this card but JUST SO CLOSE.


Here's some pics.








Gaming benchmarks

Setup:
AMD Athlon 64 FX-55 @ stock 2.6Ghz
Biostar T-Force4 SLI
Patriot 1GB DDR400
XFX 4870 1GB
Rosewill 550W PSU
Dell S2409W 24" LCD 1080p
Windows XP Professional
ATI 9.6 Driver


CSS

no AA/AF at 1080p

Min, Max, Avg
59, 153, 95.947

21 players

Map: Dust 2

--------------------------------

4xAA/16xAF at 1080p


10 players (after players left)

Map: Dust 2

Min, Max, Avg

62, 157, 104.010

--------------------------------

8xAA/16xAF at 1080p

24 players

Map: CS_Assault

Min, Max, Avg

34, 119, 61.347


------------------------------------------------

Call of Duty 4

Single player

all maxed

No AA/AF @ 1080p

Difficult: Regular
Map: Ship mission

Min, Max, Avg

24, 123, 51.703


I tried to bench TF2 but I need another 1GB to stop some stuttering and I also clicked "disconnect" server went freeze due to task manager says its got 1.25GB-1.41GB. But framerates was 30-170 fps. I forgot what map was it. But I'll update it later and I will do bench other games.

and I am still waiting for uploading my video of COD4 at youtube.
__________________
HP nx9420 model
Intel Core Duo 1.66Ghz
G.Skill 2GB DDR2 667 CL4 Dual Channel
ATI Mobility X1600 256MB
Hitachi 80GB 5400RPM
Windows XP Pro

Treeckcold57 F@H stat

Last edited by Treeckcold57 : Jul 9, 2009 at 03:58 PM.
Treeckcold57 is offline  
Old Jul 8, 2009, 02:42 PM   #2
Treeckcold57
Good ol' ATI
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: United States North Carolina
Posts: 15,960
Treeckcold57 can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyTreeckcold57 can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Some pics of comparison cards

oh, and ignore my cable management.






__________________
HP nx9420 model
Intel Core Duo 1.66Ghz
G.Skill 2GB DDR2 667 CL4 Dual Channel
ATI Mobility X1600 256MB
Hitachi 80GB 5400RPM
Windows XP Pro

Treeckcold57 F@H stat

Last edited by Treeckcold57 : Jul 8, 2009 at 02:46 PM.
Treeckcold57 is offline  
Old Jul 8, 2009, 02:55 PM   #3
Roxen
Drunk sexy prick
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: United States Earth-that-was
Posts: 8,574
Roxen is not someone to be trifled withRoxen is not someone to be trifled withRoxen is not someone to be trifled withRoxen is not someone to be trifled withRoxen is not someone to be trifled withRoxen is not someone to be trifled withRoxen is not someone to be trifled withRoxen is not someone to be trifled with


Default

I got the same card a few weeks back. Though I question putting it in an old single core system with 1gb of ram.
__________________
"If you can't handle me when I'm bulking, you don't deserve me when I'm cut." -- Marilyn Monbroe
Roxen is offline  
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Jul 8, 2009, 04:03 PM   #4
Treeckcold57
Good ol' ATI
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: United States North Carolina
Posts: 15,960
Treeckcold57 can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyTreeckcold57 can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Anyone know what's better encode freeware for making a long video with larger file size into small file? I need to encode mine. Thanks.
__________________
HP nx9420 model
Intel Core Duo 1.66Ghz
G.Skill 2GB DDR2 667 CL4 Dual Channel
ATI Mobility X1600 256MB
Hitachi 80GB 5400RPM
Windows XP Pro

Treeckcold57 F@H stat
Treeckcold57 is offline  
Old Jul 8, 2009, 04:56 PM   #5
Roxen
Drunk sexy prick
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: United States Earth-that-was
Posts: 8,574
Roxen is not someone to be trifled withRoxen is not someone to be trifled withRoxen is not someone to be trifled withRoxen is not someone to be trifled withRoxen is not someone to be trifled withRoxen is not someone to be trifled withRoxen is not someone to be trifled withRoxen is not someone to be trifled with


Default

Handbrake should work.
__________________
"If you can't handle me when I'm bulking, you don't deserve me when I'm cut." -- Marilyn Monbroe
Roxen is offline  
Old Jul 8, 2009, 08:54 PM   #6
Treeckcold57
Good ol' ATI
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: United States North Carolina
Posts: 15,960
Treeckcold57 can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyTreeckcold57 can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SirRoxen View Post
Handbrake should work.
It doesn't support .mov...but is there any good converter can I use from .mov to .avi?
__________________
HP nx9420 model
Intel Core Duo 1.66Ghz
G.Skill 2GB DDR2 667 CL4 Dual Channel
ATI Mobility X1600 256MB
Hitachi 80GB 5400RPM
Windows XP Pro

Treeckcold57 F@H stat
Treeckcold57 is offline  
Old Jul 8, 2009, 09:00 PM   #7
Roxen
Drunk sexy prick
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: United States Earth-that-was
Posts: 8,574
Roxen is not someone to be trifled withRoxen is not someone to be trifled withRoxen is not someone to be trifled withRoxen is not someone to be trifled withRoxen is not someone to be trifled withRoxen is not someone to be trifled withRoxen is not someone to be trifled withRoxen is not someone to be trifled with


Default

I use it for converting .mov files

You can always try super. http://www.filehippo.com/download_super/
__________________
"If you can't handle me when I'm bulking, you don't deserve me when I'm cut." -- Marilyn Monbroe
Roxen is offline  
Old Jul 8, 2009, 04:58 PM   #8
Greasy
Rage3D Spammer
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: United States NC
Posts: 10,104
Greasy is not someone to be trifled withGreasy is not someone to be trifled withGreasy is not someone to be trifled withGreasy is not someone to be trifled withGreasy is not someone to be trifled withGreasy is not someone to be trifled withGreasy is not someone to be trifled withGreasy is not someone to be trifled with


Default

I normally use handbrake.
Greasy is offline  
Old Jul 16, 2009, 11:46 PM   #9
Jokerzwild
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: United States Nectar, AL USA
Posts: 6,236
Jokerzwild is still being judged by the masses


Default

Awesome card bro! May it bring you many hours of fun.
__________________
"Man is least himself when he talks in his own person. Give him a mask, and he will tell you the truth." - Oscar Wilde
Jokerzwild is offline  
Old Jul 17, 2009, 02:43 AM   #10
Flyordie
Lets roll...
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,499
Flyordie is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jokerzwild View Post
Awesome card bro! May it bring you many hours of fun.
Treeck, I might have to have your help in comparing something later...
I plan on cranking my HD4850 past the 1Ghz mark (since it does 750Mhz on 1.2V, I figure it should do 1Ghz on 1.4V) Anyway... the idea would be to see if memory bandwidth really hurts the HD4850 at higher clockspeeds when compared to the HD4870.
__________________
My favorite IRC Servers/Channels
irc.leagueofreason.co.uk #lor (Active)
irc.gamesurge.net #rage3d (semi-active)
irc.freenode.net (Closed)
irc.UEI.net #freetalk (semi-active)
Flyordie is offline  
Old Jul 17, 2009, 09:53 PM   #11
Treeckcold57
Good ol' ATI
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: United States North Carolina
Posts: 15,960
Treeckcold57 can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyTreeckcold57 can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flyordie View Post
Treeck, I might have to have your help in comparing something later...
I plan on cranking my HD4850 past the 1Ghz mark (since it does 750Mhz on 1.2V, I figure it should do 1Ghz on 1.4V) Anyway... the idea would be to see if memory bandwidth really hurts the HD4850 at higher clockspeeds when compared to the HD4870.
What compare are you trying to do with your card?
__________________
HP nx9420 model
Intel Core Duo 1.66Ghz
G.Skill 2GB DDR2 667 CL4 Dual Channel
ATI Mobility X1600 256MB
Hitachi 80GB 5400RPM
Windows XP Pro

Treeckcold57 F@H stat
Treeckcold57 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I got an 84 RX7 GSL for 300 bux! pics inside, 56k beware Elysian Off Topic Lounge 14 Feb 8, 2004 11:44 AM
10 Personal Call of Duty pics <56k Beware> realODDSMAN PC Gaming 0 Dec 27, 2003 04:27 PM
new camera...PICS...56k beware Seek & Destroy Off Topic Lounge 15 Oct 14, 2003 12:54 AM
I got owned. :( *PICS* 56k beware mengy PC Gaming 50 Sep 22, 2003 04:12 PM
Pics from some games.. *Big* load.. beware. Hellbinder Radeon Technical Support 12 Sep 12, 2002 09:56 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:14 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink