Rage3D Discussion Area

Rage3D Discussion Area (http://www.rage3d.com/board/index.php)
-   General Hardware (http://www.rage3d.com/board/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   Disk Boot Failure, Insert System Disk and Hit Enter (http://www.rage3d.com/board/showthread.php?t=33940789)

coyote81 Feb 11, 2009 03:35 PM

Disk Boot Failure, Insert System Disk and Hit Enter
 
Well this is the error I'm getting on my HP 304w.
I have tried new IDE cables, A new Hard Drive(Sata with an adapter)
I've tried putting in my Vista disk and it doesn't work either.

It is a Windows XP Home OS. It was working fine until I took it apart to put in a new cd-rom drive and my 1TB Wd HDD(which I had in there before for back-up of file and such)
So I go to boot up the computer and I get the Disk Boot error message. I can't get into the bios to see if anythings change since it has a password on it from HP. I have looked all over and can't find the password online.

But I suspect the drive might be faulty as it's been making some weird noises recently. But this doesn't explain why the brand new Sata 80gb drive doesn't work. Thanks for any help.

SpeckledJim Feb 11, 2009 03:49 PM

It sounds like you've cabled up the drives such that the newly added drive is being treated as the boot device, and is then of course failing to boot. Have you tried removing the new drive and wiring the old drive up as before?

When you say the new drive doesn't work, what are you expecting it to do?

coyote81 Feb 11, 2009 04:23 PM

Yes, I even installed the old drive all by itself, and the same message appeared. Well I since realizing the disk drive I have in that computer is only cd I don't expect it to read my Vista DvD :nuts: . My bad haha. But this doesn't explain why the old drive suddenly does not work, even tried different ide cables, hmm they were all old ones, maybe I will try the new one that came with my new Mobo( just remembered that one)

coyote81 Feb 11, 2009 06:08 PM

Ok, took out the 40gb HDD which was in the computer in question and put it into my computer with a new IDE cable and it reconizes the drive. Here's the strange part, during boot up it doesn't ask me to boot to that drive. It just boots into windows vista and shows up under my computer.

jima13 Feb 11, 2009 08:58 PM

Thinking maybe the mobo primary IDE controller went bad? Did you try hooking the HDD cable to the secondary also?

This is the right mobo, correct> http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/d...cname=bph07941

coyote81 Feb 11, 2009 09:39 PM

Yes, that's the same mobo. Tried hooking it up to the secondary ide port on the board and got the same black screen with just a flashing cursor(underscore mark)

confusedsoul Feb 11, 2009 09:53 PM

put the harddrive in the machine as the only hdd, insert your xp home disk and boot it up. Press R to enter the recovery console. Once in, run chkdsk /r. See if that helps. If not, try to run chkdsk on the bad hdd from another computer.

coyote81 Feb 12, 2009 06:13 PM

Well, when we bought the computer it did not come with a xp home disk. I was pretty pissed off about that, especially now. But I have an 80gb sata drive I'll be installing in my computer and putting vista on it so I can then take that hard drive and put it into the HP304w to see if it is in fact the hard drive or the mobo that went bad.

jima13 Feb 13, 2009 02:54 PM

silly question, but do you have a floppy drive? and did you check to see if it's empty? :D

coyote81 Feb 13, 2009 11:46 PM

No floppy drive.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:33 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright 1998-2011 Rage3D.com