Rage3D Discussion Area

Rage3D Discussion Area (http://www.rage3d.com/board/index.php)
-   PC Gaming (http://www.rage3d.com/board/forumdisplay.php?f=51)
-   -   Planet Battlefield - Battlefield 2 Preview (Excellent) (http://www.rage3d.com/board/showthread.php?t=33815428)

Chubz May 12, 2005 07:37 PM

Planet Battlefield - Battlefield 2 Preview (Excellent)
 
Yes, they've now posted their own preview of the game and it has lots of info and likes/dislikes despite the fact that there are numerous grammar errors.

Still, if you're anticipating this game as much as me, it's definetely worth a look.

http://www.planetbattlefield.com/bf2...ew/index.shtml

TRD Supra May 12, 2005 08:35 PM

The machines that we played on were provided by NVIDIA. The specifications of these machines were:

AMD 3200XP+
1 Gigabyte of RAM
Geforce 6800 GT
Windows XP
1024x768 and the detail setting was on the highest.



cool got everything but the video card, but ill never get nvidia:p

Auric May 12, 2005 09:02 PM

Software audio? Why low-res? Why no AA? It confirms the lemur leaping 2m in the air plus dolphin diving. Sad.

Fuku2 May 12, 2005 11:25 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TRD Supra
The machines that we played on were provided by NVIDIA. The specifications of these machines were:

AMD 3200XP+
1 Gigabyte of RAM
Geforce 6800 GT
Windows XP
1024x768 and the detail setting was on the highest.



cool got everything but the video card, but ill never get nvidia:p

;)

Spynole May 13, 2005 12:00 AM

Quote:

The recommended requirements for Battlefield 2 were:

2.5 GHz CPU
1 Gigabyte of RAM
Radeon X800 or higher
Geforce 6800 or higher.
:eek:

Jokerzwild May 13, 2005 02:14 AM

Sooo...

With a 6800GT you get 1024/768 max details no AA or AF (looks like).

Hmmm... I just don't see enough detail to justify those low settings on a 6800GT. The processor is on the slow side but with a better one I doubt it'll get you any AA, maybe just let you up the res a notch.

Oh well if it's fun I guess it doesn't matter.

dawdler May 13, 2005 09:33 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jokerzwild
Hmmm... I just don't see enough detail to justify those low settings on a 6800GT.

But that is probably assuming you want it *perfectly* smooth (60+ fps)... The average gamer will probably settle for a little less (and many have to).

Maze May 13, 2005 11:00 AM

As long it runs smooth at 1280x960 4x fsaa 8x aniso with all the settings on highest i'm happy

c0mmand0b0y May 13, 2005 01:35 PM

damnnnn! GF4s wont' work??!?!?!

Sephirothx May 13, 2005 03:02 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TRD Supra
The machines that we played on were provided by NVIDIA. The specifications of these machines were:

AMD 3200XP+
1 Gigabyte of RAM
Geforce 6800 GT
Windows XP
1024x768 and the detail setting was on the highest.



cool got everything but the video card, but ill never get nvidia:p

Im in the same boat, upgrading to X800XL some time soon :)

mavman May 13, 2005 05:18 PM

hahaha.

80% of PC gamers has 9800pro or 6600GT video card or below. I don't think BF2 will launch with OMG x800/6800 only.

Chubz May 13, 2005 05:26 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nole1524
:eek:

Yeah, those recommended specs are a bit frightening. :cry:

Emilee May 13, 2005 06:27 PM

Wow, they really need to turn on AA for such a craptastic res.

Emilee May 13, 2005 06:28 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mavman
hahaha.

80% of PC gamers has 9800pro or 6600GT video card or below. I don't think BF2 will launch with OMG x800/6800 only.

Thats recommended, not what you need to make it work.

And no GF4's wont work, so they say. Because it doesnt have PS 1.4, just 1.1.

dreamwalker May 13, 2005 06:51 PM

lol, my lowly Radeon 9000 pro will run BF2, great. going to be funny looking at the fps, tho.

Fuku2 May 13, 2005 08:29 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dawdler
But that is probably assuming you want it *perfectly* smooth (60+ fps)... The average gamer will probably settle for a little less (and many have to).


Just as long as the mouse control is not screwy at lower fps like BF 1942 and BF Vietnam. I'm sure they changed it to work better. I think you can use AA and AF at full detail on high end cards but they wanted to make sure the fps were at a higher level for the videos. I would be happy with 2x AA and 8x AF on my system. That's pretty much what I use anyway. I don't notice too many jaggies in faster gameplay type games such as these anyway at that setting.

Trip May 13, 2005 11:05 PM

bah, my 9700pro will run it just fine like it does everything else. I'm not gonna knee-jerk and go out and get a x800superultramegapro.

Osirus May 14, 2005 12:51 AM

Its looking good :)
I went to EB games and pre ordered and payed for my copy today :)

They said that the pre ordered version was the one that comes with headphones , so some of you may want to know that as im not sure if all the games will include it, or just the pre orders


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:28 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright 1998-2011 Rage3D.com