Rage3D Discussion Area

Rage3D Discussion Area (http://www.rage3d.com/board/index.php)
-   Remote Wonder and Plug-In Discussion (http://www.rage3d.com/board/forumdisplay.php?f=55)
-   -   Resolved!! rundll32/RW App driver problem solved!! (http://www.rage3d.com/board/showthread.php?t=33738039)

WiKiD Jan 24, 2004 12:13 PM

New solution! rundll32/RW App driver problem solved!!
 
EDIT: NEW WAY OF FIXING W/O INSTALLING X10 DRIVERS FOUND! THANKS, GUYS!

okay this if you have problems getting errors such as "run dll as an app" (rundll32.exe) crashes OR the remote wonder icon on the bottom right corner does not show up EVEN THOUGH the RW.exe file is running in the task manager, this problem has been RESOLVED!!

New Solution:

--------------------------------------------------------------------------
note: you will have to do this EVERY time you install/upgrade the RW drivers
--------------------------------------------------------------------------

1) Uninstall Remote Wonder software. If you installed the X10 Drivers trying to do the old solution below, uninstall that too AND manually search for 'x10' and delete any .dll files or .inf files that you find (if someone knows the specific file names, ill update this)

2) UNPLUG YOUR RECIEVER

3) Install Remote Wonder Software and restart your computer

4) do an alt+ctrl+del and terminate ATIRW.EXE

5) Plug in your Reciever. Windows will detect the remote wonder and It should say it installed 'ATI Wireless something Vx.xx' drivers, NOT 'X10 USB Wireless Tranciever V2.36'.... If it says the latter, you didn't delete all of the x10 files from your computer.

and voila! it should work! load up the software or reboot and if you see the RW icon on your task bar, than congrats!


if THAT doesnt work, u can always try the alternate solution below...


XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
EDIT: THIS IS THE OLD SOLUTION
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
note: you will have to do this EVERY time you install/upgrade the RW drivers
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
1) install the remote wonder software

2) go to http://www.x10.com/support/support_soft1.htm and download x10drivers.exe and install the drivers

3) restart your computer

Windows should say somewhere between these steps that it has installed and found 'X10 USB Wireless Tranciever V2.36' NOT 'ATI Wireless something Vx.xx'

The remote wonder should work correctly!!
If NOT, follow these steps...
----------------------------------------------------------------
4) LOAD the remote wonder app and DISABLE load on startup, as well as make sure that no instances of rw.exe load during window's warm up cycles...

From now on you will have to load the app MANUALLY, AFTER windows does its warmup stuff, which can be a pain for some ppl.
-------------------------------------------------------------------

How to tell if it works:
If you see the RW icon on your taskbar, it works.

SciDoctor Feb 13, 2004 04:51 PM

Quote Bilar Crais

If you folks do end up installing X10 drivers to rectify the problem, make sure you open up your services dialogue (in XP) and change the X10 service start up to "automatic", or your fix will be only temporary.

End Quote

You may need to do the above with Win2k aswell.

JetSyn Apr 13, 2004 01:31 AM

Argh! This has been quite aggrivating this AIW9600 so many problems! First my radio now my remote...

I read your post on how to fix the remote icon not showing up and I have tried your method repeatedly but it still goes away even with changing the x10 to automatic in the services menu and loading it manually. The icon just stays at "removable hardware" Can you or someone please post an IDIOT-PROOF, step by step instructions for me?

rejaxon Apr 13, 2004 09:09 AM

Re: Resolved!! rundll32/RW App driver problem solved!!
 
Quote:

Originally posted by WiKiD
EDIT: apparantly i messed up the order of the steps... fixed now ;)

Okay someone should sticky this, so no one has to go through this problem every again (4 months for me)

okay this if you have problems getting errors such as "run dll as an app" (rundll32.exe) crashes OR the remote wonder icon on the bottom right corner does not show up EVEN THOUGH the RW.exe file is running in the task manager, this problem has been RESOLVED!!

i seems many people have different reasons for why this happens, but the problem lies in the usb reciever drivers, no matter who has it.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------
note: you will have to do this EVERY time you install/upgrade the RW drivers
----------------------------------------------------------------------------

STEP 1) uninstall the old remote wonder software

STEP 2) reinstall the remote wonder software

STEP 3) go to http://www.x10.com/support/support_soft1.htm and download x10drivers.exe and install the drivers

STEP 4) restart your computer

Windows should say somewhere between these steps that it has installed and found 'X10 USB Wireless Tranciever V2.36' NOT 'ATI Wireless something Vx.xx'

The remote wonder should work correctly!!
If NOT, follow these steps...
----------------------------------------------------------------
STEP 5) LOAD the remote wonder app and DISABLE load on startup, as well as make sure that no instances of rw.exe load during window's warm up cycles...

From now on you will have to load the app MANUALLY, AFTER windows does its warmup stuff (NO, throwing a shortcut in the 'Startup' directory will NOT work!)... i have a keyboad shortcut to load it for me, which is easiest for me, but you can have an icon on your desktop!
-------------------------------------------------------------------

How to tell if it works:
do you see a remote wonder icon on your task bar? when you use the remote, does it work?? if so, than it works! if not, than no it didnt work...

post your results here!

I also did above and like Jetsyn, I just have a safely remove option for RW in task bar. In device manager-USB controllers...I have the remote wonder II but I noticed I not longer have the RW pointing device. Please advise your loaded
USB controllers and any other advise. Thanks

mahi May 15, 2004 01:37 PM

run32.dll remote wonder solution...
 
seemed like most people with this problem had some sort of intel chpset...i figured it might have been HT..

so far it seems like its norton...yes norton...i reformat about every 3months on avg, and reciently i stopped using norton system works/ghost etc..

so far i dont get that error anymore....x10 drivers with 2 buttons not working not required..

when its time to reformat..i suggest to avoid norton software...use powerquest or kaspersky antivirus....hope that helps some of us who had this problem.....

Agustus Jun 16, 2004 11:09 AM

I had the remote wonder missing icon problem as well,…

System specs:
Quote:

AthlonXP Barton [email protected]+ 400 FSB 1.65v
Thermalright SLK-800 92mm/119CFM Vantec
Corsair XMS PC3500 DDR RAM 2x256MB
ASUS A7N8X Deluxe BIOS ver 1005
ATI AIW 9800 Pro Cat 4.4 MMC 9.0
Casetek CK-1018-1A Tower Case
Sony DRU-530A DVD+/-R/RW
WD 120GB 7200RPM HDD
ThermalTake Hardcano9
Antec EZ-USB unit
4x80mm case fans
Windows XP Pro
nVidia NIC
3Com NIC
450W PSU

Here is how I fixed it,…..

You will note from the actual RW/RWII install process that one must install the RW software first, reboot and then plug in the remote USB receiver,…

As I recall, if you do not do this you will not see the icon in the system tray,…

Note, that if you unplug the remote receiver that you will not see the icon upon reboot,…

This led me to the conclusion that I should check to be sure that the USB receiver was being properly detected during a reboot,…

It turned out that my Belkin powered 4 port USB HUB was causing some problems with the RWII receiver and USB media card reader,….. under certain situations,…

Oddly enough, all I had to do was:

Unplug the power cord to the USB HUB to auto detect the devices and get the RW icon and functionality back. The power cord can be left off completely and it works fine without issue with the two devices that are plugged in now. It can be plugged back in but the problem may reoccur.

For those that are having a problem (read as some), I suspect that it is an issue with their systems USB root HUB subsystem and/or drivers,…

For example, some might have the problem off and on or just after a system hibernation. If it does occur, try unplugging and plugging the receiver,…

BTW, I do not see this as an inherent problem with the RW software,…at least not in some cases…

Bilar Crais Jun 19, 2004 10:03 AM

The work-around with the generic x10 drivers worked for me, BUT...

The remote interface would frequently crash on me during use, requiring a manual reload of the systray RW control pnael.

I've had trouble loading the native ATI RW driver set since changing motherboards. But the other day when I did a format and fresh install of XP, followed by the new XPSP2 RC2, I installed the ATI drivers, leaving the receiver unplugged. When I rebooted from the driver install, the tray icon was not there. As soon as I plugged the RW receiver in, the sytray icon appeared, and it works perfectly now. No need for the generic X10 driver, no more crashes.

Josh Stein Jun 28, 2004 08:44 AM

Re: Resolved!! rundll32/RW App driver problem solved!!
 
I just got a new system and the ATI AIW 9800 pro. I am encountering this problem now and will have to work on fixing it. Is there any recommended version of the Remote Wonder software that I should be using?

mahi Jul 14, 2004 03:27 AM

remove norton...

re install os...so far not 1 problem...promise

WiKiD Aug 15, 2004 09:45 PM

thanks for the info guys, i've tried the new way and it works with original drivers for the first time since December, '03 ;)

mahi Aug 19, 2004 03:09 AM

n/p

deramon Aug 30, 2004 07:44 PM

Thanks so much for the info, this really helped.

I had one other question, which I may ask in a new thread but do wireless routers cause any problem with the remote?

My remate stopped working without any reason and the only item added was a D-Link AirPlus Xtreme G DI-624 Wireless Router which works in the 2.4GHz frequency and uses 802.11g standards.

mahi Aug 31, 2004 10:35 PM

try shutting down the router, reboot and see if it works..

if it doesnt its the remote...then maybe you need new batteries...

deramon Sep 1, 2004 08:11 AM

Well I got the remote working again after much grief and work. I do think that I had a tsr running that interferred with it (spyware app which has been deleted.) Anyway, I did plug in the wireless router and there was no conflict so far. But I'll see what happens on a reboot ... :rolleyes:

doctor15 Oct 18, 2004 04:28 PM

is this method not working for anyone else?

ive tried every possible combonation of installing/uninstalling drivers, with all different verstions of drivers, and i still keep getting this same error described.

When I reinstall the drivers and restart, even w/o the RW plugged in, i get that same "run as dll" error message immediatly on boot. If I ctrl+alt+del the process and plug it in, as soon as i restart or stat the RW software, the error message pops up again. I havnt been able to use my remote for 2 months, and im sttarting to get pretty annoyed by it. I cant believe ATI hasnt released a fix yet.

Does anyone have any other suggestions??

mahi Oct 18, 2004 06:52 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by doctor15
is this method not working for anyone else?

ive tried every possible combonation of installing/uninstalling drivers, with all different verstions of drivers, and i still keep getting this same error described.

When I reinstall the drivers and restart, even w/o the RW plugged in, i get that same "run as dll" error message immediatly on boot. If I ctrl+alt+del the process and plug it in, as soon as i restart or stat the RW software, the error message pops up again. I havnt been able to use my remote for 2 months, and im sttarting to get pretty annoyed by it. I cant believe ATI hasnt released a fix yet.

Does anyone have any other suggestions??

do you have norton products installed?

doctor15 Oct 19, 2004 01:48 PM

I had Norton Anti-Virus 2004 installed, but I uninstalled it, ran regedit, and installed Mcaffe 8.

Anyway even w/ NAV there should be some way for it to work.

deramon Oct 19, 2004 03:44 PM

I have NAV installed and my remote has worked with it. Just wondering if you might have a conflict like I had. I had some type of spyware that was conflicting. Maybe use msconfig and do a minimal load of tsr's and see if it happens again. Hope this helps (and don't feel bad my main PC has been down for days, hard drive boot drive just slowed to a crawl and then would not even boot up .. XP SP2 is it a solution or a curse?)

doctor15 Oct 28, 2004 11:38 AM

I have SP2, and i think it was working fine before SP2.....

lanwanman23 Nov 24, 2004 01:16 PM

I tired both ways and neither worked. When ever i try to start up the x10 service it give me an error message stating that it shut down or some garbage like that. I can give i to you later if it really matter. Either way i would rather get it set up the correct way.

lanwanman23 Nov 26, 2004 01:14 AM

Ok i finaly got a human via email and this is what i got from them...
There are a few basic checks to do when the remote does not work correctly.

1. Is the receiver plugged in and is the red light on.

2. When buttons are pressed on the remote, does the red light on the remote light up.

3. Check in the Windows device manager for any conflicts (yellow marks with any USB entries). If the USB receiver has a conflict then re-install the driver to see if that correct it. In some cases removing the device from device manager and scanning for new hardware may fix this.

Device manager in Windows 98/ME -> Right-click on the my computer icon and select properties, then click on the device manager tab.
Device manager in Windows 2000/XP -> Right-click on the my computer icon and select properties, then select the hardware tab, then click on the button for device manager.

4. There should be a Remote Control icon in the system tray (lower right-hand side, next to the time). If it is not listed there the remote will not respond. Do a search for the file named ATIX10.exe and then double-click on it. This should bring up a dialog box and make sure that the option to show the remote icon in the system tray is checked. Once that is done you should be able use your remote control.

5. If there are any other devices using a USB port, you may wish to remove them

6. Try the RF Receiver in a different USB port

7. Make sure that drivers for the motherboard's chipset are installed. A list of motherboard driver pages is available at

http://www.ati.com/support/info/moth...facturers.html

8. If the above suggestions do not work, then try the unit in another PC to see if it works.

Right now i have no red light and when i do a search i can not find the ATIX10.exe file. Im more than sure that the instally just is not working properly becaue of the missing ATIx10 file. :nuts:

Hardwood Jan 8, 2005 09:52 AM

I'm glad I'm not the only one having this problem.

These are all nice solutions, however, I also use X10's Activehome Pro so I can't go deleting drivers willy-nilly.

Normally when my RW isn't working I just go into the device manager's USB device list and change from x10 transciever to ATI wireless and the icon comes back. That didn't help the last time but automagically it came back the other day after uninstalling some program that I installed a few hours earlier and is sitting in my tray right now. No rhyme or reason there.

I think someone needs to fix this similarity in drivers as poor XP is getting confused.

mini1 Jan 15, 2005 05:59 PM

Hello. I am a new member, short time lurker. I'm in need of some advanced tech support.
SET-UP:
I have an ATI 9000 All-in-wonder Pro factory installed in a Dell Demension 8300, running Windows XP home. I have an external HD cable box feeding the S-video input, and audio L+R. Then I have a sound blaster Audigy 2 Platinum sound card (not factory), the sound comes out of the computer thru the optical digital output over to my home theater receiver. I have the Remote Wonder 1 also.
THE PROBLEM:
I recently upgraded the software for all the ATI stuff to the newest versions. I have got a problem that I can't figure out, neither can ATI.
~ After playing the registry and downloading X10 drivers for the remote I finnally got it to work, problem is when the computer comes out of standby the remote's software crashes. An error message comes up and it fails to work again, until I restart the computer.
Please help, I'm out of options. no one other video forums knows, and ATI has no clue why it doesn't work.:confused:
THANK YOU!

glendor_backup Jan 19, 2005 03:57 PM

It didn't work for me. I went over it twice, the second time being VERY careful, yet when all was done, I still didn't get my remote back. I'll try again after I reinstall the OS this weekend.

mini1 Jan 25, 2005 05:17 PM

anyone on my question??? Please advise!:)

WiKiD Feb 15, 2005 11:05 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mini1
Hello. I am a new member, short time lurker. I'm in need of some advanced tech support.
SET-UP:
I have an ATI 9000 All-in-wonder Pro factory installed in a Dell Demension 8300, running Windows XP home. I have an external HD cable box feeding the S-video input, and audio L+R. Then I have a sound blaster Audigy 2 Platinum sound card (not factory), the sound comes out of the computer thru the optical digital output over to my home theater receiver. I have the Remote Wonder 1 also.
THE PROBLEM:
I recently upgraded the software for all the ATI stuff to the newest versions. I have got a problem that I can't figure out, neither can ATI.
~ After playing the registry and downloading X10 drivers for the remote I finnally got it to work, problem is when the computer comes out of standby the remote's software crashes. An error message comes up and it fails to work again, until I restart the computer.
Please help, I'm out of options. no one other video forums knows, and ATI has no clue why it doesn't work.:confused:
THANK YOU!

describe 'crashes' and error message that you get that'll help a bit more

WiKiD Feb 15, 2005 11:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by lanwanman23
Ok i finaly got a human via email and this is what i got from them...
There are a few basic checks to do when the remote does not work correctly.

1. Is the receiver plugged in and is the red light on.

2. When buttons are pressed on the remote, does the red light on the remote light up.

3. Check in the Windows device manager for any conflicts (yellow marks with any USB entries). If the USB receiver has a conflict then re-install the driver to see if that correct it. In some cases removing the device from device manager and scanning for new hardware may fix this.

Device manager in Windows 98/ME -> Right-click on the my computer icon and select properties, then click on the device manager tab.
Device manager in Windows 2000/XP -> Right-click on the my computer icon and select properties, then select the hardware tab, then click on the button for device manager.

4. There should be a Remote Control icon in the system tray (lower right-hand side, next to the time). If it is not listed there the remote will not respond. Do a search for the file named ATIX10.exe and then double-click on it. This should bring up a dialog box and make sure that the option to show the remote icon in the system tray is checked. Once that is done you should be able use your remote control.

5. If there are any other devices using a USB port, you may wish to remove them

6. Try the RF Receiver in a different USB port

7. Make sure that drivers for the motherboard's chipset are installed. A list of motherboard driver pages is available at

http://www.ati.com/support/info/moth...facturers.html

8. If the above suggestions do not work, then try the unit in another PC to see if it works.

Right now i have no red light and when i do a search i can not find the ATIX10.exe file. Im more than sure that the instally just is not working properly becaue of the missing ATIx10 file. :nuts:

if you don't get a red light, either you have a problem with your usb OR your reciever

in either case, it's a hardware issue, so you will have to get someone to physically check that out

qweqaz5 Feb 16, 2005 08:34 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by WiKiD
EDIT: NEW WAY OF FIXING W/O INSTALLING X10 DRIVERS FOUND! THANKS, GUYS!

okay this if you have problems getting errors such as "run dll as an app" (rundll32.exe) crashes OR the remote wonder icon on the bottom right corner does not show up EVEN THOUGH the RW.exe file is running in the task manager, this problem has been RESOLVED!!

New Solution:

--------------------------------------------------------------------------
note: you will have to do this EVERY time you install/upgrade the RW drivers
--------------------------------------------------------------------------

1) Uninstall Remote Wonder software. If you installed the X10 Drivers trying to do the old solution below, uninstall that too AND manually search for 'x10' and delete any .dll files or .inf files that you find (if someone knows the specific file names, ill update this)

2) UNPLUG YOUR RECIEVER

3) Install Remote Wonder Software and restart your computer

4) do an alt+ctrl+del and terminate ATIRW.EXE

5) Plug in your Reciever. Windows will detect the remote wonder and It should say it installed 'ATI Wireless something Vx.xx' drivers, NOT 'X10 USB Wireless Tranciever V2.36'.... If it says the latter, you didn't delete all of the x10 files from your computer.

and voila! it should work! load up the software or reboot and if you see the RW icon on your task bar, than congrats!

My Remote Wonder wouldnt work after I reinstalled its software.... The above solution worked great and everything's fine and dandy. Thank you!!!!!!

Anton May 15, 2005 08:09 PM

I've had a similar problem with the Remote Wonder icon not showing up in the taskbar. I noticed that the atirw.exe process died in the task manager after about 30 seconds. I tried several things, including the x10 drivers. It didn't help.

Then I took the first suggestion in this topic, to uninstall and erase everything with X10 and Remote Wonder, and install it all again. That worked fine... until I added my plug-ins again. After adding them one by one, I found out that the plugin for DivXplayer was the problem. I use DivXplayer 2.5.3, not the newest one, the plugin version of DivXPlayerATIPlugin.dll is 1.0.0.0. I'll see whether a new DivXplayer works... so far no plugin for that program and everything works fine :)

WinXP SP2, Athlon XP 2400+, AIW9800SE, Remote Wonder 1.

Joe_Blough Jul 3, 2005 10:46 PM

I built a new computer with an X800XT AIW and ASUS P4800E-Deluxe motherboard. I was amazed that everything I loaded from Windows XP to drivers to programs loaded and worked without errors. The remote was working great. Then I noticed when recording more than one show MMC 9.08 would freeze. So I reformatted and reloaded everything put switched to MMC 9.06.1 and the remote hasn't worked since. I alsoe decided I needed a bigger hard drive so did a reformat and complete install on the new hard driver trying both MMC 9.08 and MMC 9.06.1 but still no remote.

When I saw this thread I thought this might solve the problem. I always left my receiver plugged in when I reformatted and reloaded everything so figured that's where I went wrong.

I unplugged my receiver and did the stuff above (except could not find ATIRW.exe running). When I plugged it in I was hopeful as it was recognized and W XP said it was loading the software.

I followed the rest of the instructions but all I get is the icon in the system tray saying "it is safe to remove hardware" when I run my mouse pointer over it. I do see ATIRW.exe running in task manager though.

When I go check my USB ports in Device Manager it shows ATI Remote Wonder Controller and below that ATI Remote Wonder Controller II (which it didn't show until I followed the steps above). The drivers version for both is 2.0.0.0 but the driver details for ATI Remote Wonder Controller shows ATIRWVD.sys and for ATI Remote Controller II shows ATIRWRF.sys.

Is that what is showing for those of you who have a working remote?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:27 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com