Rage3D Discussion Area

Rage3D Discussion Area (http://www.rage3d.com/board/index.php)
-   General Software (http://www.rage3d.com/board/forumdisplay.php?f=44)
-   -   Media Center won't get bigger. (http://www.rage3d.com/board/showthread.php?t=33946560)

Cowzrul Jun 1, 2009 08:45 PM

Media Center won't get bigger.
 
I have Windows XP MCE, and when I run media center in a window, it won't let me resize it any bigger than ~800x600, and it is also in 4:3 rather than 16:9 like I want it. How do I fix this? It works alright fullscreen, but I want to run it in a window so I can do other things while watching TV.

caveman-jim Jun 1, 2009 09:36 PM

Run the MCE display setup

Cowzrul Jun 1, 2009 10:11 PM

I have.

Dr. Zhivago Jun 1, 2009 10:50 PM

Since XP MCE 2005 doesn't support Digital Cable (Clear QAM) natively and ALL analog cable is NTSC 4:3 in the US, that's why the window remains in a 4:3 aspect ratio. When it's full screen, you can use the smart stretch feature to override the 4:3 aspect.

Cowzrul Jun 1, 2009 11:53 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dr. Zhivago (Post 1335903792)
Since XP MCE 2005 doesn't support Digital Cable (Clear QAM) natively and ALL analog cable is NTSC 4:3 in the US, that's why the window remains in a 4:3 aspect ratio. When it's full screen, you can use the smart stretch feature to override the 4:3 aspect.

It does, however, support Digital HD OTA broadcasts.... and still won't let me make a damn widescreen box, or make the 4:3 one big enough to take up most of the screen, fullscreen excepted.

Dr. Zhivago Jun 2, 2009 12:18 PM

I'm no longer using MCE 2005 to watch TV at my house, but I still have it loaded. I'll poke around at it later today if I get a chance and see what I can find out. Windows 7 and Vista do allow a widescreen vieiwing when in Windowed mode.

Dr. Zhivago Jun 5, 2009 10:10 AM

So, as an update, I checked out MCE 2005 in windowed mode last night and I can confirm that it stays with a 4:3 aspect and does not get larger than 1024x768. That is a hard coded limit in MCE 2005. I found this information on TechNet.

I'm running a 1920x1080 desktop.

caveman-jim Jun 5, 2009 10:26 AM

Another reason to rock out the Windows 7 RC?

Dr. Zhivago Jun 5, 2009 01:42 PM

Yeah, pretty much. I am considering removing the MCE 2005 load on my main machine and just booting the Win 7 RC. I have as yet to load the RC on it, still on the 7000 build Beta. Haven't had the time to wipe the Beta and install the Win 7 RC on there.

Cowzrul Jun 5, 2009 03:54 PM

Eh, that really sucks. Thanks for looking into it for me though. I've been planning on building a new machine ones Windows 7 hits anyway... in part because I want QAM channels, because the bastards at Microsoft won't update MCE 2005. :mad:

Oh, and my computer blows, so I need a new one.

Dr. Zhivago Jun 6, 2009 01:16 PM

Nobody makes BDA Drivers that will support ClearQAM in MCE 2005 either and that's not MS's fault...

But, build a new machine anyway. It's fun! :D


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:07 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright 1998-2011 Rage3D.com