Rage3D Discussion Area

Rage3D Discussion Area (http://www.rage3d.com/board/index.php)
-   Radeon Technical Support (http://www.rage3d.com/board/forumdisplay.php?f=69)
-   -   Radeon 64m and Crimson Skies (http://www.rage3d.com/board/showthread.php?t=3180)

billharris44 Sep 15, 2000 07:07 PM

Crimson Skies is running like a dog on my system--I don't even think it's running in hardware mode. This is the first game I've had any trouble with when using the Radeon. I have a P3-850, and people are saying that even a 400 megahertz machine runs smoothly with other video cards. I'm practically watching a slide show, unfortunately. I am using the latest "official" ATI drivers. Is anyone using the beta drivers and having success with this title?
thanks,
bill

blix Sep 15, 2000 11:29 PM

I don't have Crimson Skies yet, is there a demo that I can download and try?

Also, all my games started to get better fps after I loaded the 3063 beta drivers.

[This message has been edited by blix (edited 09-16-2000).]

mbwelch Sep 18, 2000 12:21 PM

I also have Crimson Skies and a Radeon 64. It runs slowly enough to be unplayable. I put it on a system with a Hercules Prophet II 64 DVI. It runs great.

This is the first game I've had a problem with. Everything else seems to run great. I called Microsoft and ATI. Neither had a solution. The system is running Windows Me and Direct X 7.0a. All seem to check out.

Thanks.

Mike

blix Sep 18, 2000 03:31 PM

Try a different driver revision and check to see if its a problem with the drivers?

Mr. D. Sep 18, 2000 10:10 PM

Crimson Skies runs very smoothly on my PIII-550 system (Radeon 64MB ViVo OEM). Using the 3063 drivers. I even left NAV on, still ran smoothly :-)

Mr. D.

Yearout Sep 19, 2000 09:57 AM

Very smooth and fast here to. Not one problem here.

Godfather Sep 19, 2000 03:51 PM

Smooooooooooooth....

mbwelch Sep 19, 2000 06:30 PM

I installed the 3063 drivers and the video function is improved significantly, although it still doesn't seem quite as zippy at the Prophet II. Just curious, if it is running smoothly are you running the new drivers? I'm just trying to figure out if it is a problem I created by going to Windows ME. It was interesting, the new drivers also corrected some minor geometric distortion on my monitor. Frustrating, though, that ATI tech support denies the drivers and makes it so hard to correct what should be a simple problem.

Mike

Ray Deion Oct 18, 2000 04:46 PM

Just got the game, and it is very choppy. Frame rates increased, however, when I disabled USB support in my BIOS. It is still way slower than other games on my system (Halflife, System Shock 2, ReVolt).
750 Athlon Classic, OC to 930
256K RAM
Asus KA7
SB Live
Radeon 64 VIVO, 3063 drivers
Latest VIA drivers
AGP 2X (turbo mode)

Any ideas? I have a hard drive laying around and may try a clean install. The other games, especially ReVolt, are soooo smmoooth, I know it can do better.

BTW, as another data point, I once had a version of Need for Speed installed (forget which one, came with a Gravis joystick, I think it was II) and it too was way slow. I never really tried anything to get it going better, but the Crimson Skies performance reminds me of that.

robertirwin Oct 18, 2000 06:23 PM

Runs smooth as silk on my 64 meg OEM Radeon with a P3 at 620. All settings to maxxed out except no FSAAA on (which does make it chuggy). Using 3063 drivers. Have you turned vsync off?


Maybe its P3 optimised or something?


Baenwort Oct 18, 2000 06:32 PM

I'm runing Crimsion Skies fine on my Computer. It was slow in the menus but not in the game untill recently. The only change that I made was to install a ISA CH Gamecard GC3 for my joystick but that shouldn't have cut the menu load times as much as it did.


AMD Duron OCed to 1Gig w/ Alpha PAL6035 HSF
128mg Rv2 Muskin CAS2 PC133 RAM
ABIT KT7-RAID
IBM Deskstar 20gig
SoundBlaster Live! Platnum
ATi Radeon 64mg Retail VIVO
ISA CH Gamecard GC3

Thats all the really revent Info but I'm useing the latest Special Purpose Drivers from ATi.

Homer Simpson Oct 18, 2000 06:40 PM

Hmmm.. I'm using 3063 drivers on an Athlon 700 with a Radeon 64 vivo OEM and it runs at about 3 - 5fps , Software mode runs at about 20fps looks like an Amiga Game though, I play it at work on both a TNT2 Ultra, G400 , and it's as smooth as silk. Fortunately I had a couple of v2's laying on my desk so I tottered home with them and now it's at least playable (graphics are washed out though) :(

------------------
------------------------
"Keyboard not found - Press F1 to continue " ???


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:05 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright 1998-2011 Rage3D.com