Rage3D Discussion Area

Rage3D Discussion Area (http://www.rage3d.com/board/index.php)
-   Operating Systems (http://www.rage3d.com/board/forumdisplay.php?f=40)
-   -   Made the jump to windows 10 today :) (http://www.rage3d.com/board/showthread.php?t=34049217)

MasterGoa Mar 30, 2019 05:45 PM

Made the jump to windows 10 today :)
 
So after a long battle against a worst OS, I purchased a small form factor PC
to build it into an HTPC.
I installed Dell's image of Windows, updates it, etc, then upgraded free to windows 10
which still works today.

I proceeded to neutralize :bleh: Cortana with a reg key and group policy.
Then used this great info page to remove a LOT of blatware like XBOX, mail, etc:

https://www.wintips.org/view-install...om-powershell/

I, of course, chose to turn off all the bog brother crap upon install which is now a menu.

Overall a nice experience.

If you want to upgrade to 10 for free, follow this guide:



Also, nice set of improvements coming for bloat allergic people like me:


GSGRUNT Mar 31, 2019 11:42 AM

Welcome to the nightmare.

Munkus Mar 31, 2019 03:07 PM

Pro tip: Download Shutup10 https://www.oo-software.com/en/shutup10 and turn off all of the built-in spyware.

Greasy Mar 31, 2019 07:35 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by GSGRUNT (Post 1338126681)
Welcome to the nightmare.

Never had a single issue with 10 here. Not sure why you say it's a nightmare.

I've seen your thread about moving to linux, and I kinda chuckle when I see you trying to figure out how to game in a VM.

GSGRUNT Apr 1, 2019 04:42 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Greasy (Post 1338126726)
Never had a single issue with 10 here. Not sure why you say it's a nightmare.

I've seen your thread about moving to linux, and I kinda chuckle when I see you trying to figure out how to game in a VM.

Yes, I still have to use Windows for work some(most) games. :cry:
My biggest issue with Win10 is they made my user experience worse. Mostly because of one issue... right click lag. I was a right-click warrior:masterrace: . Now: right-click, wait, crap wrong context menu, wait, right-click again, correct context menu.:lol:

Munkus Apr 1, 2019 09:09 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by GSGRUNT (Post 1338126776)
Yes, I still have to use Windows for work some(most) games. :cry:
My biggest issue with Win10 is they made my user experience worse. Mostly because of one issue... right click lag. I was a right-click warrior:masterrace: . Now: right-click, wait, crap wrong context menu, wait, right-click again, correct context menu.:lol:

My right-click context menu appears instantly for me. Zero lag.

GSGRUNT Apr 1, 2019 10:08 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Munkus (Post 1338126811)
My right-click context menu appears instantly for me. Zero lag.

Google indicates it is not an uncommon problem. There are things one can do to improve it. I was not able to eliminate it on my home PC and my work PC(corp IT managed) is awful.

Open folder, right click file, get menu and properties for parent folder... Just happened this AM on my work PC.

MasterGoa Apr 1, 2019 10:15 AM

So my experience up to now is OK. I will make a journal of the bloat ware I remove, like Windows.Photos which seems to scan your system non-stop.

Having said this, do you guys know how to remote control my HTPC from y Laptop?
I want whatever I do remotely on the HTPC to actually show up on the TV. Remote Desktop does stuff in the background. Surely Windows has something embedded?

MasterGoa Apr 1, 2019 10:16 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Munkus (Post 1338126703)
Pro tip: Download Shutup10 https://www.oo-software.com/en/shutup10 and turn off all of the built-in spyware.

I will use it, however I want to get acquainted with the inner working because I use a tool.

Munkus Apr 1, 2019 11:47 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by GSGRUNT (Post 1338126825)
Google indicates it is not an uncommon problem. There are things one can do to improve it. I was not able to eliminate it on my home PC and my work PC(corp IT managed) is awful.

Open folder, right click file, get menu and properties for parent folder... Just happened this AM on my work PC.

Some dumb questions:
1) Is Windows on an SSD or HDD?
2) Are there any apps installed that added context menu items? Or is it vanilla?
3) How long is the lag? Seconds? Milliseconds?
4) Have you tried using an I/O or process monitor to see if anything spikes as the menu is loading?

It's weird that you're experiencing this, as I don't see it on my desktop or any of the laptops in my house. Not arguing that it isn't happening for you or many others, guess I'm just lucky.

GSGRUNT Apr 1, 2019 12:15 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Munkus (Post 1338126849)
Some dumb questions:
1) Is Windows on an SSD or HDD?
2) Are there any apps installed that added context menu items? Or is it vanilla?
3) How long is the lag? Seconds? Milliseconds?
4) Have you tried using an I/O or process monitor to see if anything spikes as the menu is loading?

It's weird that you're experiencing this, as I don't see it on my desktop or any of the laptops in my house. Not arguing that it isn't happening for you or many others, guess I'm just lucky.

SSD
vanilla and constipated system
lag varies. Sometimes as much as a second on work lappy(year old high end Dell )
Tried to ID and fix years ago, Nothing worked 100%

I'm a hyper fast clicker when I have a task to do. I can see that some would not notice the lag.

[edit]
Coincidentally had to fire up an old (Win7) corp IT managed laptop today to resurrect some old code.
Right click worked as it should.

Ryo-Ohki Jul 6, 2019 04:39 AM

Interesting thread :) Making the big jump to Windows 10 myself (clean reinstalls, the lot) having had a chance to seriously get my hands on the OS at work through a project I'm involved in.

So for now it's all snappy and running beautifully on a SSD powered EliteBoook G3 (Core i7). I got a refurbished laptop for my parents (Latitude E5550) using a mechanical disk, the performance hit during boot and access times is noticeable. Very usable, still, you get used to a SSD quite fast it seems...

Moving on to my desktop system as I'm writing (positively a dinosaur by now, Gigabyte P35 DS3R / Core 2 Quad Q6600 / 8GB RAM I built in 2008) and installing on a RAID-0 of mechanical HDDs I used to run virtual machines on with the old Win7 OS. Watching how far I can push it :)

EDIT : not reporting in RT, but it was a quick build... Loaded the CG drivers, Windows had drivers for everything else, now on to loading Unreal Tournament 2004 and see if it runs :)

metroidfox Jul 7, 2019 12:13 PM

Windows 10 should be quite a bit snappier than Windows 7. If you uninstall some of the Xbox stuff, that may cripple some of the functionality of certain games.


As for the slow right-click menu discussion above, something likely put a tonne of extra crap in your right click menus. Also, I can't say I've right clicked that much any more. Oh well, whatever.

Babel-17 Jul 7, 2019 12:44 PM

It's worth the jump. I can't resist posting this video. :)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IafVX0e-JJ4

Fwiw, you're now entitled to download from Microsoft a Windows 10 ISO and keep it on hand to do a clean install, or a repair install, if you ever need to. If the ISO is the same version of what you're currently updated to, Windows can use it to repair your current install of some minor issues, without even rebooting. Just keep the ISO on a separate drive from your Windows drive.

Some of that involves the minor nerdiness of entering commands, but it's pretty basic IIRC. Lol, I have to do a search for the method on the rare occasion I indulge in that. I now make numerous image backups, and as I only keep the OS and a few programs on my C: drive, those backups aren't all that large, and can be speedily applied.

I keep one backup, around 34 GB in size, on all my drives, and rotate them as I do my backups. The utility for this is in Control Panel, Backup and Restore (Windows 7), and I think Microsoft is low key about making people aware about it because its partner sell utilities that do the same thing, albeit it with some added features.

In my experience most Windows 10 users are either unaware of it, or don't use it, which can be a shame if disaster strikes ones Windows installation.

Ryo-Ohki Jul 7, 2019 02:21 PM

Well can report the performance is quite good indeed on the desktop system. The disk access times from the RAID-0 probably help... Anyway. Tiny detail but loving the new sound mixer and the fact I can now switch output between the speakers and the JABRA headset in one click.

UT2004 seems to be working even faster :)

Quote:

Originally Posted by Babel-17 (Post 1338141447)
It's worth the jump. I can't resist posting this video. :)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IafVX0e-JJ4

:lol:

With a Lyta Alexander avatar why am I NOT surprised you'd post something like that (mighty fine episode/series though and Chris Franke is a musical genius). So what do the Shadows stand for, Windows 7 EOL creeping on us lot ? :)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:16 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright 1998-2011 Rage3D.com