Rage3D Discussion Area

Rage3D Discussion Area (http://www.rage3d.com/board/index.php)
-   AIW / Multimedia Discussion and Technical Support (http://www.rage3d.com/board/forumdisplay.php?f=24)
-   -   GraphEdit Tips and Tricks (http://www.rage3d.com/board/showthread.php?t=33792569)

rbV5 Nov 21, 2004 04:41 PM

GraphEdit Tips and Tricks
 
Those that are familiar with GraphEdit know that it is a powerful and useful utility for the PC A/V enthusiast. I am no expert myself, but I am always finding new uses so I thought I'd start a thread.

-------------------------------------------------------
"Big" thanks to 'Grog' for his awesome contributions!
-------------------------------------------------------
*How do you get Graphedit?

GraphEdit Property Page Issue

For any who are having issues with the newer DXDSK showing property pages with GraphEdit you must register the proppage.dll first.

Find the proppage.dll and register it.

regsvr32 \dxsdk_feb2005_extras\extras\Extras\DirectShow\Utilities\proppage.dll

Now the graph property pages should work fine.

Greg

*******************************************************
EXAMPLES

Direct Show Filter Specific
-------------------------
*Fun with Infinite Pin Tee Filter -grog
*AC3Filter HDTV Wonder Example-grog
*Filter Configurator by Trombettworks

Media Playback
---------------------
*Cyberlink PlayDVD Example -grog
*DVR-MS (analog tuner captures) playback
*DVR-MS DTV playback
*"PIP"ing With GraphEdit (Picture in Picture) -grog
*Playing DVD's - Changing decoders -grog
*Microsoft Windows XP Professional x64 Edition - Watch TV -grog
*Playing HDTV inside Windows Internet Explorer -grog
*HDTV / MPEG - Streams and filters -grog

Ripping media files
-------------------------

*DVR-MS to MPEG2 easily with Cyberlink filters (analog tuner captures).
*Demux AVI example -xtnight

Audio and Video Capture
------------------------------
*ATI AIW 9700 PRO and ATI HDTV WONDER CC graphs -grog
*Recording to DVD Quality MPG with GraphEdit -grog

Using your Hardware Specifics
-----------------------------------
MISC
*Catalyst 5.4 / MMC 9.06.1 (MASSIVE - ATI AIW9700/HDTV WONDER) -grog
*Major Multi-Media with secondary monitor -grog

8500DV
*Catalyst 5.4 / MMC 9.06.1 -grog

AIW 9700 PRO
*Capture (AIW 9700 PRO to DIVX) -grog
*Build Graph - AIW 9700 PRO - CAT 5.2 / MMC 9.06 -grog
*ATI 9700 PRO - CC Example -grog

HDTV Wonder
*ATI HDTV WONDER (OTA GraphEdit) Example -grog
*ATI HDTV WONDER - Change Audio Filter -grog
*ATI HDTV WONDER - Sound filter options -grog
*ATI HDTV WONDER - Capture transport stream using GotFile Writer -low rez
*HDTV Wonder: Transport Streams and HDTV2MPEG2

Sapphire Theatrix (Theater 550pro)
*Theater 550 directshow filters (Sapphire Theatrix)
*Sapphire Theatrix: View TV
*Sapphire Theatrix: Listen to FM radio
*Sapphire Theatrix: FM radio WAV capture
*Sapphire Theatrix: FM radio multi-format encoding on the fly

TV Wonder Elite
*ATI Theater 550 Pro (TV render without lipsync) -Qix
*ATI Theater 550 Pro: Preview and Save MPEG2 @ same time -Qix

Hauppauge WinTV Go Plus
*TV Turner - The Graph -grog

File Conversion and encoding
-----------------------------------
*Convert MPG2-HD examples Part 1 -grog
*Convert MPG2-HD examples - Part2 (DIVX) -grog
*MPEG to h.264 encoding...Moonlight method
*MPEG to h.264 encoding...Moonlight method (continued)

Working with Audio
--------------------------
*Audio splitting / DMO sound effects -grog
*ProLogic Filters -grog
*Expanding AUDIO to 5.1 -grog

Gaming Consoles and Graphedit
-------------------------------------
*X800 VIVO Graphedit (ex w/ audigy2 & w/o sound) -Oddsk8er
*CAT 5.3 - MMC 9.06 - Sound Delay Work-Around -grog

CC and Graphedit
-------------------------
*VBI - CC and GraphEdit Questions -grog

Direct Show Programming and Graphedit
---------------------------------------------
*Creating HDTV Player - Getting Started -grog
----------------------------------------------
MSDN
*Simulating Graph Building with GraphEdit
*DirectShow Filters Reference
*********************************************************
TIPS


*To register/unregister your Direct Show filters (ax, dll)
----------------------------------------------

* Use Video Mixing Renderer 9 if you want to easily capture video screenshots
* Save your Graphedit filter graphs so you don't have to rebuild them everytime
* To playback media files, drag-drop them onto a graphedit shortcut (or into the graphedit application window) and press "enter" the directshow filters you have registered for the file format will connect and playback the media.


*********************************************************
Feel free to post and add your graphEdit tips and tricks as well as constructive feedback for this thread so that we can all learn :)

Edit: Hey, we got pinned to the top! Thanks to the Mods! <pssssst did I mention thanks to Grog>

jkayca Nov 21, 2004 06:46 PM

OK. I'm an idiot. What's a graph filter? In layman's terms of course.

rbV5 Nov 21, 2004 07:03 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jkayca
OK. I'm an idiot. What's a graph filter? In layman's terms of course.

Its "filter graph" actually. DirectShow applications use a graph of filters to process multimedia data (capturing or displaying audio or video files). GraphEdit is a visual tool that allows developers to test filter graphs in a GUI, and can be used for a variety of other tasks.

rbV5 Nov 22, 2004 08:18 AM

Updated site:)

grog Jan 28, 2005 12:50 AM

PIPPING With GraphEdit
 
You can get PIP to work it is just not supported yet!

PIP with ATI HDTV WONDER and AIW9700....
Using 3rdParty free GraphEdit tool.

GraphEdit comes with DirectX SDK available free from Microsoft. Several sites around the internet also include GraphEdit.
One the graph is setup you can save it to disk and simply click on it to play the graph.
I will actually show how to create three graphs. You can click on the pins as well as the graph objects to setup the device properties.
While it takes a little to get use to there is very little overhead with using this method. Low CPU usage too.

CLICK ON THUMB-NAILS FOR FULL VIEW

ATI HDTV WONDER DTV and ATI AIW 9700 S-VIDEO-IN playing.
In this case I created a GraphEdit case where both the ATI AIW 9700 S-VIDEO-IN is defined.
At the same time I am playing PBS-HD (720P) format using the ATI HDTV WONDER DTV component.




ATI HDTV WONDER DTV, ATI HDTV WONDER ANALOG COMPOSITE-VIDEO-IN and ATI AIW 9700 S-VIDEO-IN playing.
In this case I created a GraphEdit case where both the ATI AIW 9700 SVIDEO-IN and ATI HDTV WONDER ANALOG COMPOSITE are defined.
At the same time I am playing PBS-HD (720P) format using the ATI HDTV WONDER DTV component.



ATI HDTV WONDER DTV, ATI HDTV WONDER ANALOG COMPOSITE-VIDEO-IN and ATI AIW 9700 ANALOG-TV-TUNER playing.
In this case I created a GraphEdit case where both the ATI AIW 9700 TV-TUNER and ATI HDTV WONDER ANALOG COMPOSITE are defined.
At the same time I am playing PBS-HD (720P) format using the ATI HDTV WONDER DTV component. Since I did not have an antenna connected to the RF on ATI 9700 AIW card you see only static. But it does show everything is working.



While it would be nice if PIP worked with MMC this shows that is not only can work, it does work.

And yes, I do get sound as well.

Greg

grog Feb 14, 2005 02:12 AM

Microsoft Windows XP Professional x64 Edition - Watch TV
 
Like to watch TV with Microsoft Windows XP Professional x64 Edition?

It can be done.

Microsoft Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
Build: Service Pack 1.v.1289
ATI AIW 9700 PRO

Good ole GraphEdit works with the WDM drivers and the stock drivers as well as the latest drivers for the ATI AIW 9700 PRO card.

Other AIW based cards should also work fine.

Simply use GraphEdit and build a simple player as shown below.

Note: Sound pin is not required for pre-view. Yes sound works and shut's off when GraphEdit is closed down.

Click thumb-nail below for full view.



So while we wait for MMC to show up for Windows x64 Edition we can still watch TV and enjoy our AIW card.

For those who do not know how to use GraphEdit Windows Movie Maker works as well as "Media Player Classic".

A few more samples for you to enjoy.

I also included a few real TV players that work with icrosoft Windows XP Professional x64 Edition.

AMCAP from Microsoft dxsdk - feb2005 - extras



GraphEdit from Microsoft dxsdk - feb2005 - extras



JRiver - MediaCenter Beta 110196
http://www.jrmediacenter.com/



WinDVD - 4.0.11.391 (Warning: Don't enable hardware acceleration)


Greg

grog Feb 21, 2005 02:27 AM

ATI HDTV WONDER (OTA GraphEdit) Example
 
Thanks to hdtval21 who has posted a new " ATI HDTV Wonder- alternative software" package called "WatchHDTV" I was able to produce a simple graph for the ATI HDTV WONDER DTV section of the card.

For WatchHDTV information:
http://www.rage3d.com/board/showthre...post1333531824

I have provided the following graph display based on the information in the from the WatchHDTV README.txt file. The graph filter works very well. Yes you can even play HDTV content with just GraphEdit. Sub-channels also work fine from the "Microsoft ATSC Network Provider Properties" dialog but are not saved with the graph itself. So you must enter the "Physical Channel, Minor Channel and Major Channel" information each time you run the graph. Be sure to press "submit" on the dialog to allow the channel to register.

Click on Tumb-nail for full view.

Simple HDTV WONDER BDA graph


The following graph also adds the ATI HDTV WONDER analog S-VIDEO selection using one of the VMR-9 input pins to allow PIP "picture-in-picture". The alpha is set so .7 to allow transparent effect with the main background HDTV DTV picture.

Upper right: ATI HDTV WONDER Analog S-VIDEO (PIP)
Main picture: ATI HDTV DTV (OTA) signal



Pretty cool stuff.

Greg

tristancarton Feb 21, 2005 08:22 AM

greg,
using graphedit for your hdtv wonder (as shown in the post above) what audio channels does it use for the dtv audio stream. is it 2 channel pro logic or is it 5.1 dolby digital? i am going to play around with it later this week(too busy right now) but i would love to get this working with 5.1.(like 6 speaker config or passthrough config in dtv ati mmc options)

chris98007 Feb 21, 2005 09:19 AM

Question on error
 
I am trying to capture CC info from my ATI 128 pro. I have a few guide on the right filters to set, however i always get an error.

Once i have everything set, i try to launch the tv viewer but it just gives me an error. If i close graphedit, the viewer will start. Then if i open graphedit while the viewer is running, GE will give me an error.

Is there something i am missing?

grog Feb 21, 2005 04:03 PM

You still have to replace the "CLAud.sim" file to get 5.1 (6 channel) to work.
But we always new this was not a MMC GUI issue but the sim released with MMC.

http://www.rage3d.com/board/showthre...ight=CLAud.sim

And I think you will find a lot of options when you do use the "CLAud.sim" from WINDVD 6. More than you would ever think possible.

There are some really neat 2-channel options too.



Greg

Quote:

Originally Posted by tristancarton
greg,
using graphedit for your hdtv wonder (as shown in the post above) what audio channels does it use for the dtv audio stream. is it 2 channel pro logic or is it 5.1 dolby digital? i am going to play around with it later this week(too busy right now) but i would love to get this working with 5.1.(like 6 speaker config or passthrough config in dtv ati mmc options)


grog Feb 21, 2005 04:10 PM

I don't have a ATI 128 PRO here to build the graph against but I will post the ATI AIW 9700 PRO and ATI HDTV WONDER CC graphs.


ATI 9700 PRO - CC Example
Very simple CC option for ATI AIW 9700 PRO (S-VIDEO in was used).
Note: Video is also displayed but not able to capture due to overlay. But you will see the CC text.



ATI HDTV WONDER DTV with Analog S-VIDEO PIP and CC Example
The CC in this example is from the PIP "picture-in-picture". Kind of cool way to handle PIP.

Main Video: ATI HDTV WONDER (DTV)
PIP: ATI HDTV WONDER - Analog S-Video Source
CC: ATI HDTV WONDER - Analog S-Video Source



Greg

Quote:

Originally Posted by chris98007
I am trying to capture CC info from my ATI 128 pro. I have a few guide on the right filters to set, however i always get an error.

Once i have everything set, i try to launch the tv viewer but it just gives me an error. If i close graphedit, the viewer will start. Then if i open graphedit while the viewer is running, GE will give me an error.

Is there something i am missing?


tristancarton Feb 21, 2005 06:24 PM

awesome thanks greg. just didn't realize the .sim file was recognized in graphedit. looks like i am going to have fun this next week with this. can't wait.

again thanks.(esp for pics)
Quote:

Originally Posted by grog
You still have to replace the "CLAud.sim" file to get 5.1 (6 channel) to work.


chris98007 Feb 22, 2005 11:43 AM

Does the 128 pro work with Graphedit? I assume that if i am running GE that i cannot open the tv tuner of the MM7?

grog Feb 23, 2005 12:23 AM

I am not sure what GE is?

As long as the WDM drivers are used GraphEdit should work though.
I do know that the latest drivers on ATI's site "version 7.6" are WDM based and use DirectShow technology.

Early versions such as 6.3 were VFW based.

Keep in mind that changes to the WDM drivers will cause Graphs to not load.
So if you use GraphEdit for anything other than educational purposes be sure to keep the steps to create the graph and a screen shot of it handy in case you need to build it again.

Greg

Quote:

Originally Posted by chris98007
Does the 128 pro work with Graphedit? I assume that if i am running GE that i cannot open the tv tuner of the MM7?


grog Feb 23, 2005 12:25 AM

I have updated the "Microsoft Windows XP Professional x64 Edition - Watch TV" message to include more graphs.

See message #6 above.

Greg

grog Feb 23, 2005 11:47 PM

DirectX Info (DirectX 9.0 SDK Updates - (February 2005))
 
Microsoft DirectX Downloads
http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/de...st/directx.asp

DirectX 9.0 SDK Update - (February 2005)
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...displaylang=en

DirectX 9.0 SDK Update - (February 2005) Release Notes
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...displaylang=en

DirectX 9.0 SDK Update (February 2005) Extras
This one contains GraphEdit and samples for DirectShow.
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...displaylang=en

GraphEdit Property Page Issue

For any who are having issues with the newer DXDSK showing property pages with GraphEdit you must register the proppage.dll first.

Find the proppage.dll and register it.

regsvr32 \dxsdk_feb2005_extras\extras\Extras\DirectShow\Utilities\proppage.dll

Now the graph property pages should work fine.

Just the tools - All I want it just the tools method

If you don't have compiler tools "Visual C++, Visual Basic" then you don't need to download the entire SDK.

If you just want the tools then download this one.

http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...DisplayLang=en

You can extract the archive "dxsdk_feb2005_extras.exe" with WinRAR

Now all we need is the following folder. Just copy this folder somewhere.

\dxsdk_feb2005_extras\extras\Extras\DirectShow\Utilities

You will see GraphEdit versions for 32BIT and X64 in are both supplied.
So if you want to test WDM drivers with Windows 64-BIT edition this is all you need.

Next, find the proppage.dll and register it.

regsvr32 \dxsdk_feb2005_extras\extras\Extras\DirectShow\Utilities\proppage.dll

Other neat things
A lot of examples are included in this archive.

\dxsdk_feb2005_extras\extras\Extras\DirectShow\Samples\C++\DirectShow\Bin\x86
and
\dxsdk_feb2005_extras\extras\Extras\DirectShow\Samples\C++\DirectShow\Bin\x64

Include a lot of great sample programs. AMCap is one you will also want to use since it also handles WDM based capture devices.

Greg

grog Feb 28, 2005 12:29 AM

Capture (AIW 9700 PRO to DIVX)
 
Create DIVX VIDEO from ATI AIW 9700 PRO S-VIDEO input.

With Pre-View


No Preview
In this graph we will capture the video to DIVX as shown above. The main difference is the VP (Video Preview Pin) setup for the "ATI Rage Theater Video Capture" component. We do connect the VP pin to the input of the "Video Port Manager" but we do not connect anything to the output pin of the "Video Port Manager". If we remove the "Video Port Manager" the graph will fail.

The output filter is created using the "DirectShow Filters\File Writer".
All of the other filters should be easy to find.

This example uses the Audigy sound card. You will need to add your sound card component in place of the Audigy ones or you can simply right click on the sound output pins and let them render themselves for you.

As normal you will have to right click on the components to setup the connections as required.

The main idea of this graph is to allow recording to DIVX format in the background. Yes it can be done. No video is displayed while recording!



Greg

rbV5 Feb 28, 2005 01:00 PM

Quote:

GraphEdit Property Page Issue

For any who are having issues with the newer DXDSK showing property pages with GraphEdit you must register the proppage.dll first.

Find the proppage.dll and register it.

regsvr32 \dxsdk_feb2005_extras\extras\Extras\DirectShow\Utilities\proppage.dll

Now the graph property pages should work fine.
Great tip Greg! Nice job on the graphs, its amazing what you can do with graphedit.

grog Feb 28, 2005 01:23 PM

Yes, GraphEdit is very cool.
I think the next big thing is a how to on actually creating code from GraphEdit to build a real player.

Still I keep adding to this thread or this thead will get lost since it is still not a Sticky...

Greg


Quote:

Originally Posted by rbV5
Great tip Greg! Nice job on the graphs, its amazing what you can do with graphedit.


SciDoctor Feb 28, 2005 03:08 PM

Sorry . Thread Tools not working so I cannot do any ADMIN MOD sticky etc

grog Mar 1, 2005 12:10 AM

Playing DVD's - Changing decoders
 
With CyberLink DVD Decoders:


Now with With CyberLink DTV Decoders (Why not):


Now with InterVideo DVD Decoders:


Direct Link to pictures:
http://img212.exs.cx/img212/2684/playdvdcyber0016em.jpg
http://img218.exs.cx/img218/5690/playdvdcyber0025on.jpg
http://img232.exs.cx/img232/7986/pla...ideo0013vw.jpg

Trunks0 Mar 1, 2005 02:35 AM

technically speaking using this could you run the audio from the TV Tuner card threw somthing that would apply pro-logic decoding? Or is it not quite that free form?

rbV5 Mar 2, 2005 09:18 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Trunks0
technically speaking using this could you run the audio from the TV Tuner card threw somthing that would apply pro-logic decoding? Or is it not quite that free form?

Good question. I suppose if you have access to a direct show filter that handled Pro-logic decoding. I haven't played much with audio, but have used it to rip audio from video files. Maybe you could use DICE with Soundstorm onboard?

I'm no programmer, so most of what I know, I learned from guys like Grog :), or by trial and error.

grog Mar 2, 2005 11:42 PM

ProLogic Filters
 
You can add prologic but finding the correct filter might be a bit of a challange.

NOTE: This one is work in progress. But here is what I have so far. Maybe someone else can shed light on this one as well.

I was able to build the filter graph with what I have here but I do get a lot of studdering.

I won't say this is one that will give the results you may be looking for.

The problem is I was able to connect to the "audio processor" layer but audio playback was shall we say "very bad". Connecting directly to the DMO layer seems to work but not perfect either. Voice are not always in sync with this method.

Anyway here is the graph which works fine but as I said not producing the effects desired. If the Intervideo DMO is changed to the "Intervideo Audio Processor" in the graph below backback sound is not good at all.



MP3 - Lets try it
Here is the graph playing a MP3 file where the audio section is done as I think it should be. I could be wrong here. This is the first time I have tried the audio processor layer so I may be missing something and if so I am sure someone will correct me. Still Intervideo ProLogic and ICE worked as expected when I built the graph. When I tore down the graph and did it again the darn thing crashed GraphEdit. So I am still looking it to the issue. Provided you have a better filter for your system for the ProLogic part it may just flat work for you.



Direct Link to pictures:
http://img177.exs.cx:81/img177/5066/ss7hg.jpg
http://img37.exs.cx:81/img37/5315/siv7ib.jpg

Quote:

Originally Posted by Trunks0
technically speaking using this could you run the audio from the TV Tuner card threw somthing that would apply pro-logic decoding? Or is it not quite that free form?


Trunks0 Mar 4, 2005 08:40 AM

Problem for me if I still havn't been able to build a working graph for my TV Wonder Pro.

The "ATI TV Wonder Pro A/V Capture" only has and analog Video In. So I havn't figured out how to deal with the audio yet from it past the cross bar :((also my box's are not colored but meh)

grog Mar 6, 2005 11:24 PM

HDTV / MPEG - Streams and filters
 
Mixing HDTV streams and filters

Play 720P content recorded from ATI HDTV WONDER.
Uses CyberLink DVD filters to render.



Play two streams.
First stream is 720P content recorded from ATI HDTV WONDER.
Second stream is 1080i content recorded from ATI HDTV WONDER.
The first stream will play in VMR-Input 0 (main)
The second stream will play in VMR-Input 1 (PIP)

The first steam uses CyberLink DVD filters to render.
The second stream uses Ligos MPEG decoder to render.



MPEG streams and filters
Movie recorded in DVD quality using ATI MMC/TV+.

Standard ATI filters (2 channel audio).


Intervideo Player (Notice the ICE option).
InterVideo Channel Expansion (ICE)
ICE Surround creates 5.1 to 7.1 channel output from 2-channel sources, whenever multichannel is available.
ICE ensures that your audio sounds great!


We would love to have ICE in out graph so lets do it.


Sounds wonderful!
Notice, we have 6 channel sound now from a standard MPEG (DVD quality) movie file.

Direct Link to Images
http://img198.exs.cx/img198/6968/play0010rd.jpg
http://img14.exs.cx/img14/884/play0023wb.jpg
http://img109.exs.cx/img109/2959/mpgati4nl.jpg
http://img109.exs.cx/img109/7205/mpgintervideo000gc.jpg
http://img44.exs.cx/img44/4789/mpgintervideo9vd.jpg

Greg

grog Mar 9, 2005 12:44 AM

ATI HDTV WONDER - Change Audio Filter
 
So you don't like the CyberLink audio filter or maybe you just want to try something new and different.

Well we are going to replace the CyberLink filter with the Intervideo Sound Processor system. Lots of options with the sound processor that can be fun to play with and the Intervideo sound engine just sounds oh so sweet.

When playing 5.1 sound we will have true 5.1. But what do we do when the provider is not broadcasting in 5.1? Well the sound engine can handle both ICE and Pro-Logic Surround. Within the Intervideo Processor you will find not only Audio Decoder settings but also fun things like "Gargle, Echo, Flanger and Chorus". Sorry but the Audio Effects will not work on streams from within GraphEdit.

ATI HDTV WONDER using InterVideo Audio




Direct Link to Images
http://img217.exs.cx/img217/4435/i0013mr.jpg
http://img61.exs.cx/img61/9561/i0033fw.jpg
http://img217.exs.cx/img217/6821/i0021ln.jpg


Greg

grog Mar 9, 2005 02:57 AM

Audio splitting / DMO sound effects
 
Audio splitting / DMO sound effects.

You know I had to show an example using Gargle, Echo, Flanger and Chorus.

Within the Intervideo Processor you will find not only Audio Decoder settings but also fun things like "Gargle, Echo, Flanger and Chorus".

Each of these DMO audio effects may be applied without the need of the full Audio Processor.

In the following example we will split the audio from a MP3 file four ways and apply Gargle, Echo, and Chorus to three of the sub channels, the last channel we will leave alone.

My this one does sounds interesting.. Remember you can play with each of the filters to add or remove effects just as increased delays or changes in frequency.

DMO Sound Effects



Direct Links
http://img97.exs.cx/img97/3985/i0042to.jpg

Greg

grog Mar 12, 2005 10:44 PM

Build Graph - AIW 9700 PRO - CAT 5.2 / MMC 9.06
 
Build Graph - AIW 9700 PRO - CAT 5.2 / MMC 9.06

The filters have changed with the new MMC 9.06 and CAT 5.2 release.
This is a step-by-step on how to build a graph from scratch.

We will build a graph and set the VIDEO for S-VIDEO-IN.
We will use the VMR-9 for rendering the video.
We will also show how to setup for use with TV-Tuner, how to change channels etc.

Build Graph
Note: We connect the pins selecting the start pin with the mouse and dragging the pin to the location to be connected.



The Finished Graph


Play the Graph


Setup TV-Tuner
Be sure to set the "ATI Rage Theater Video Crossbar" to "Video Tuner In".
Be sure to set the "ATI TV Audio Crossbar" to "Audio Tuner In".
You may now setup the TV tuner from the "ATI TV Tuner" filter as shown below.




Direct Link to all images
http://img119.exs.cx/img119/5918/buildgraph0bb.jpg
http://img119.exs.cx/img119/6613/finishedgraph2fo.jpg
http://img119.exs.cx/img119/6273/playgraph5pu.jpg
http://img119.exs.cx/img119/6607/tvtuner5yv.jpg

Greg

grog Mar 16, 2005 10:26 PM

Major Multi-Media with secondary monitor - I just can't get enough
 
Major Multi-Media with secondary monitor - I just can't get enough

Here is what we have.



Code:

Upper left: ATI HDTV WONDER (HDTV 1080i Feed)
                      Using WatchHDTV application for viewing.

Upper right: ActiveMovie Window #1 (main) :
                ATI AIW 9700 PRO S-VIDEO-IN from
                      ATI AIW 9700 PRO S-VIDEO-OUT
                      (Used as cheap mans second monitor)
                ActiveMovie Window #2 (left) :
                ATI HDTV WONDER S-VIDEO-IN feed from Dish Satellite.
                        (We have TV video on second monitor)
                (right) CPU usage shown:
                          For everything running we are only using 58%
                          (not bad... not bad at all).
                (behind): Just a WebPage.
                          That's all, just a WebPage.

Lower left: WinDVD playing DVD Movie Drallion

Lower right: Windows Media Player #10
                          Playing movie captured in DVD quality mode
                          from my AIW 9700 PRO ("That Thing You Do.mpg").                 
                          S-VIDEO-IN feed from Dish Satellite was used for
                          this capture.

MMC was not used in this example. GraphEdit was used since I could specify the type of window render filter I wanted to use.

Moving the video from the secondary display "cheap man's video" across to the main display we will still see video fine. While the video is in both planes the video will go blank. There is a small problem that when you move the ATI HDTV WONDER S-VIDEO feed example window from one monitor to the other the audio will switch to TV-TUNER audio. I have no idea why? You can simply pause of stop the graph and start it to clear the problem.

Run down of what we were able to run all at once.
ATI AIW 9700 PRO S-VIDEO-IN (via GraphEdit)
ATI AIW 9700 PRO S-VIDEO-OUT (Extended Video via Catalyst Control Center)
ATI HDTV WONDER HDTV (OTA) (WatchHDTV application)
ATI HDTV WONDER S-VIDEO-IN (Analog)(via GraphEdit)
WINDVD 4 - PlayDVD Movie Drallion (Full video acceleration and 5.1 audio)
Windows Media Player #10 - MPG DVD quality movie "That Thing You Do"
FireFox - Got to surf while you watch TV and DVD's.

GraphEdit - The Graph's


The GraphEdit examples are very simple. I did not connect the AUDIO on the AIW 9700 PRO S-VIDEO feed but for a cheap man's secondary monitor I did not need audio.
The second graph for the ATI HDTV WONDER S-VIDEO-IN is fully functional including sound.

All of this still with only 58% of the CPU being used on a Athlon-64 3200+ based system with 1GB of RAM.

Direct links to images:
http://img90.exs.cx/img90/7827/massive0ou.jpg
http://img90.exs.cx/img90/1213/massive28zq.jpg

WatchHDTV available here
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...hreadid=511835

Greg


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:08 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright 1998-2011 Rage3D.com