Rage3D Discussion Area

Rage3D Discussion Area (http://www.rage3d.com/board/index.php)
-   General Hardware (http://www.rage3d.com/board/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   ddr4 400mhz ram (http://www.rage3d.com/board/showthread.php?t=34049380)

theduce May 10, 2019 01:56 PM

ddr4 400mhz ram
 
Looking to buy 2 8gb ddr4 4000mhz sticks for msi Z370-A PRO. Currently running DDR 3 2400mz.

Anyone have any experience with this board and ram?

Nagorak May 10, 2019 03:50 PM

I don't have experience with that board, but my experience in general with 4000 MHz memory is kind of poor (granted we're only talking about a couple kits/boards/processors). Hitting memory speeds that high can be limited by both the board or your processor's IMC, so you run into a lot of potential problems.

In my VR box, I am running TridentZ rated for 4133 19-21-21-41 at 3800 15-16-16-32 and tight sub-timings because either the processor (i7 8700K) or board (Z390 Aorus Pro Wifi) won't boot reliably above that point. I have another 4000 C17-17-17-37 kit and it will run no faster than 3800 either, so it's not the memory that's the problem. On top of that, I actually managed to burn out my previous Z270 board by even trying to run it with 4000 MHz memory. I didn't think that was even possible--maybe the board had some other defect?--but after trying to boot at 4000 MHz memory, the board went into a boot cycle and after powering down and removing the battery the board was dead and would no longer boot at all.

You definitely want to get Samsung B-die, but honestly my advice would be to just get TridentZ 3600 MHz C15 and then try to overclock it. That's what I'd do if I had it to do over again. That's a pretty good bin, it will cost you a bit less money, and either way there's a decent chance you're going to encounter some other limiting factor that prevents you from hitting 4000 MHz stably. Beyond 3600 MHz you're hitting seriously diminishing returns, so the performance of 4000 MHz over 3600 MHz at tighter timings isn't going to be much anyway. In fact, if you have to relax timings a lot to hit higher frequency, performance may actually go down.

Otherwise I guess you need to look at something like TridentZ 4000 or 4133 C17-17-17-37, but that's going to set you back $50 more. If you go 4000/4133 C19 it's still slightly more expensive than the TridentZ 3600 C15 and I'd say it's questionable whether it's actually a better bin. Also with 3600 C15, it will almost certainly boot at XMP settings, whereas that might not be the case with the higher rated memory. If the memory won't boot at rated settings then you end up having to customize all the timings yourself for whatever frequency you settle on (which, granted, you should do anyway, but it's nice if XMP actually boots as a starting point). I definitely wouldn't even waste the money on memory with a higher frequency than around 4133.

Anyway, that's just my two cents.

Och May 10, 2019 05:00 PM

Not worth it at all, you will have all kinds of instability issues. Just run the ram at specified intel speed - most of them are 2133 for older CPU, 2400 for 7th gen, and 2666 for 8th/9th gen CPUs.

theduce May 11, 2019 05:08 PM

Thanks guys,

Any thoughts on these:https://www.amazon.com/Corsair-Venge...16499decc&th=1

Really appreciate the help!

KAC May 11, 2019 06:58 PM

Vengeance are good kits but I prefer Dominators. Instead of Vengeance I would rather get G Skill Trident Z RGB for similar price.

Hapatingjaky May 11, 2019 08:47 PM

16GB - https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...-485-_-Product

3200MHz CAS14

theduce May 16, 2019 11:38 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hapatingjaky (Post 1338132985)

Bought, xmp no issues. Seems great! Thank you!

Nagorak May 17, 2019 02:19 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by theduce (Post 1338133656)
Bought, xmp no issues. Seems great! Thank you!

There's a good chance you can run it at 3600 C16 if you want to. Just go into BIOS and change your timings to 16-16-16-32-48.

the_sextein May 17, 2019 04:34 PM

I bought 4X8GB 3600Mhz Corsair Dominator RAM (linked below) a few months ago and they overclocked to 4000Mhz with the original C16-18-18-36 timings. I had to bump the voltage up from it's default voltage of 1.35v to 1.39v and set it to 4000Mhz and I was all set. It's passed all stress tests and had no real world performance problems. I found the same 32GB kit on Amazon for $500 but it looks like it's sold out everywhere and is no longer listed on the Corsair site. That's probably why this set it is so priced up at the moment. Temps are between 35C and 38C even under prime 95 torture test. It's a great set of RAM if you can find it at sane prices somewhere and with only 16GB it should cut the cost in half. If you get lucky you might find it for $250 to $280 somewhere.

https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...5630-_-Product


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:15 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright 1998-2011 Rage3D.com