Rage3D Discussion Area

Rage3D Discussion Area (http://www.rage3d.com/board/index.php)
-   AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support (http://www.rage3d.com/board/forumdisplay.php?f=59)
-   -   Radeon Software: what new features would you like to see? (http://www.rage3d.com/board/showthread.php?t=34031605)

Kombatant Nov 11, 2016 09:56 AM

Radeon Software: what new features would you like to see?
 
Hey guys,

what kind of features do you think Radeon Software needs? I am talking about new features, expanding on old features, whatever it is you believe the drivers can improve on. I am obviously not talking about bug fixes here, just new features, features that were there a while back but not now, you name it.

Post away and I'll make sure AMD knows about it :)

narciso Nov 11, 2016 03:50 PM

Adaptive vsync (not adaptive sync aka freesync) could be a nice feature to add.

bittermann Nov 11, 2016 03:58 PM

Plus one to what narciso said. Also please continue with Crimson VSR. I love that setting. Not sure what you could improve other than more res options????

Bitey Nov 11, 2016 11:43 PM

Better control of hdmi audio.

If I have diaplay port monitor, HDMI TV on one port and reciever /projector on another I want to be able to choose between TV using its own audio or use reciever audio out with the TV.
And I also want to then be able to choose to use the reciever audio with the projector or r4eciever audio with juts the monitor.

I don't want to be constantly unplugging devices just so I canget audio with the device of my choice.... Which I think was waht it used to do years ago in the early days of HDMI.

I understand they AMD may want to keep their "smart" auto behaviour fo most users but they should add a advanced setup module for complex setups that need to be able to control input selection.

I mean they put 6 outputs on a video card but with no way of controlling what outputs are used for what.....that is amajor shortcoming.

Treeckcold57 Nov 11, 2016 11:55 PM

Dynamic V-sync control! It is a MUST have. I always use RadeonPro because of Skyrim: SE and Fallout 4 that has microstuttering issue and DVC just smooth uneven frame times AND no screen tearing or reduced screen tearing...and gameplay is actually more playable for me to play.

Also, there's a software called RadeonMod on Guru3D. But AMD never implement those features in Crimson control panel. However, those features are still can be enabled via the registry. But I prefer not trying to mess with those registry. RadeonPro use the driver to exposed those features and enable them on RP since crimson control panel doesn't have any options for those ones.

EDITED: Any chance of redesign GPU control panel? That is what I'm really want to see!

Korrigan Nov 12, 2016 05:20 AM

I'd love to have all the old detailed controls over video quality and filters back personally, as I use my PC for both gaming and home theater.

t0adp1p3 Nov 12, 2016 06:55 AM

I'd love a checkbox to unlock the pixel clock. Right now we all have to "patch" the driver to unlock it. If you think that it's a niche problem go to overclock.net forums, it's the largest thread there.

http://www.overclock.net/t/1384767/o...p-monitor-club

Also see toastyx and his website to see the issue,and how easy it is to fix for us.


https://www.monitortests.com/forum/

Falck Nov 13, 2016 05:18 AM

I am one of the few who use Eyefinity. I only use it for gaming, so when I'm in desktop i turn the other 2 monitors off. When I turn them on the driver automagically spans the image and I'm back to Eyefinity.

But, sometimes when I'm working it would be great to have the 3 monitors as seperate, not recognized as one, without deleting the eyefinity-setup. Is it possible to get some sort of "enable/disable eyefinity-group"?

Higgy10 Nov 13, 2016 06:42 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by narciso (Post 1337920234)
Adaptive vsync (not adaptive sync aka freesync) could be a nice feature to add.

radeonpro has had that feature for years now

Lurk Nov 13, 2016 08:11 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Falck (Post 1337920860)
I am one of the few who use Eyefinity. I only use it for gaming, so when I'm in desktop i turn the other 2 monitors off. When I turn them on the driver automagically spans the image and I'm back to Eyefinity.

But, sometimes when I'm working it would be great to have the 3 monitors as seperate, not recognized as one, without deleting the eyefinity-setup. Is it possible to get some sort of "enable/disable eyefinity-group"?

The option you are referring to does indeed exist, both in the advanced settings ('old' CCC) and in the Crimson interface!
You can disabe and re-enable the Eyefinity group at will. I do it several times per session.

Treeckcold57 Nov 15, 2016 10:44 AM

It's happening!!!11 :drool:

https://twitter.com/CatalystMaker/st...34189532336128

ThirdEye Nov 15, 2016 12:16 PM

what's happening?

Kombatant Nov 15, 2016 08:40 PM

I take good pictures, that's what's happening ^_^

Hardwood Nov 17, 2016 08:12 AM

Let me be perfectly clear. :nag:
HOTKEYS FOR PRESETS.

I really really really miss my hotkeys to change from eyefinity to extended to single....

And thanks for asking. I have complained on AMD forum too.

Lurk Nov 17, 2016 10:10 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hardwood (Post 1337922525)
I really really really miss my hotkeys to change from eyefinity to extended to single....

Damn, completely forgot about those, but as I recall they were pretty handy indeed. I remember using Alt+E for Eyefinity and Alt +S for single screen...

t0adp1p3 Nov 17, 2016 02:38 PM

I ain't gonna lie, I whine like a 4yr old a lot, but these AMD cards have been awesome and Crimson has been pretty great. Will be nice when all the settings are in one place though, hopefully that is next.

Higgy10 Nov 18, 2016 08:46 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lurk (Post 1337922576)
Damn, completely forgot about those, but as I recall they were pretty handy indeed. I remember using Alt+E for Eyefinity and Alt +S for single screen...

doesnt windows ke+p do that? Was able to switch between eyefinity grp and single screen with that.

Lurk Nov 18, 2016 11:26 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Higgy10 (Post 1337922942)
doesnt windows ke+p do that? Was able to switch between eyefinity grp and single screen with that.

oughta check. I know for sure there used to be a series of keyboard commands incorporated in the drivers that let you switch monitor configurations.
a feature which should have been advertised ffs, instead I heard about it by pure chance while scavenging the web. goes figure...

Higgy10 Nov 18, 2016 01:59 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lurk (Post 1337923047)
oughta check. I know for sure there used to be a series of keyboard commands incorporated in the drivers that let you switch monitor configurations.
a feature which should have been advertised ffs, instead I heard about it by pure chance while scavenging the web. goes figure...

windows key+p isnt a amd driver thing, built into the os as far as i know

Hardwood Nov 19, 2016 08:30 AM

It only brings up the Project menu, and from there you still have to click on what you want. Fairly limited in that it's an all screens or none option for extended and duplicate and no eyefinity.

Higgy10 Nov 19, 2016 08:33 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hardwood (Post 1337923319)
It only brings up the Project menu, and from there you still have to click on what you want. Fairly limited in that it's an all screens or none option for extended and duplicate and no eyefinity.

Ya its not as versatile as the old hotkeys. I used to switch between my eyefinity group and single screen with it tho, despite what the labels said.

t0adp1p3 Dec 10, 2016 12:10 PM

I'd like AMD to clearly define what portions of Crimson work for different cards and configurations. Right now its hard to tell if we are missing features because it didnt install correctly or if it is because of an old card or because of cfx or because of eyefinity etc...

Lets face it alot of people have had and are having issues getting everything to install and work correctly with crimson drivers. So it would be nice to knwo what "correct" looks like for a given setup.

That should not be a difficult task for a billion dollar company to do. Seriously it is not like it takes a programmer or anyone technical to do it. sit down and list which features work with what...simple.

Kombatant Dec 14, 2016 05:47 AM

Noted :)

Lurk Dec 14, 2016 09:08 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Higgy10 (Post 1337923089)
windows key+p isnt a amd driver thing, built into the os as far as i know

yep, I figured it out :o

on a 'not-so-side' note, still obnoxiously present is the bug for which on an Eyefinity setup the Windows7 taskbar spans across all three monitors on boot even if you've selected the option to have it on one screen only.
The only way to have it show as opted is to launch radeon Additional Settings every single f***ing time after boot. Quite a PITA, as the remnant of that app is not exactly lightning fast at start.

I was kind of hoping AMD's driver department wouldn't let this pass by for the past 12 driver releases, but hey.

Maybe time to report it? :hmm:

Dwarden Dec 15, 2016 04:51 AM

maybe cache the gaming list in memory ? (until closing/minimize to tray the controls again)

it may take even 5s (with SSD and fast memory/cpu) to go

view Gaming list >
then open Global Settings >
then go back to Gaming list

on 2nd try it can be even 10 seconds :nuts:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:53 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright 1998-2011 Rage3D.com