Rage3D Discussion Area

Rage3D Discussion Area (http://www.rage3d.com/board/index.php)
-   Distributed Computing (Team Rage3D) (http://www.rage3d.com/board/forumdisplay.php?f=43)
-   -   Coronavirus research (http://www.rage3d.com/board/showthread.php?t=34050718)

Ally Mar 23, 2020 12:12 PM

My GTX 1050 stopped picking up units a bit earlier.

I added the client-type advanced to the extra slot options on the GPU and it picked up a unit within 5 mins.

Maybe this is just coincidence though

TheEmrys Mar 23, 2020 12:15 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ally (Post 1338183546)
My GTX 1050 stopped picking up units a bit earlier.

I added the client-type advanced to the extra slot options on the GPU and it picked up a unit within 5 mins.

Maybe this is just coincidence though

Extra slot option? Is that the -1 (by default) field?

Ally Mar 23, 2020 12:39 PM

Go to configure - slots - select the GPU.
click the edit button
click the add button
name=client-type
value=advanced
ok and save

Turbo_Rage3d_ Mar 23, 2020 02:20 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by DarkFoss (Post 1338183498)
Hiya Turbo, I'm sure they are fast tracking projects out of beta as best they can.

Has anyone else noticed a new team member named Fireanimal? His/her numbers are quite impressive. Started folding on St. Pattys day, popped up on my threat list Saturday. He's on everyone's now except for Jima13.

All I can say is Thank you for joining us. :fold:

Hiya Dark! Good to see ya! I know they are doing what they can getting the projects out. And I saw Fireanimal also, if my ppd returns to normal (2.5-3 mil) they be off my radar again.

Good to see so many folding again, kinda feels like the old days.

Crawdaddy79 Mar 24, 2020 11:00 PM

I had an old Windows Vista laptop from 2009 that I repurposed to Ubuntu Linux about three years ago.

It's an awesome machine on its own. Somehow Linux breathes life into outdated hardware in a way that makes you think that your hardware is not outdated at all and has significant value.

Until you fold. That's when you realize that the hardware is worthless.


konjini Mar 25, 2020 05:12 PM

FaH hit the exaFLOP .

10x faster then IBM Summit

Flyordie Mar 25, 2020 08:20 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by gamefoo21 (Post 1338182502)
Are you running your V64 on any kind of overclock?

Is it a blower monster?

I would really suggest looking at underclocking and undervolting it. The HBM on the 64 should be able to do 900mhz at 0.900V. I'd pull the core back to 1.1 or even 1.0Ghz. just to see if simply dropping the clocks helps it. Vega 56/64 were always best when you could slightly underclock them and undervolt them appropriately.

That would be my suggestion. It really sounds like it desperately needs a repaste/cleaning.

There is an issue with some of the bigger WUs for all AMD/ATI cards. Its a bug in AMD's OpenCL implementation and OpenMM is working on a solution on their end if they can find one.

Personally, my Vega64 runs just fine when it gets a smaller CV19 WU @ 1,800Mhz Core and 1035Mhz HBM2.

Ally Mar 26, 2020 09:27 AM

RX570
 
I was upgrading the RX460 before I started folding. I need a short length card for this case so went with one of these;

Sapphire RX 570 Pulse ITX Graphics Card, 4GB GDDR5.
£60 from Ebay.

Working fine at default clocks of 1244 Core and 1500 Memory

290,000 PPD on the first 11777 Project
329,000 PPD on 2nd unit, 11780 Project
345,000 PPD on 2nd unit, 11780 Project with the GPU Memory at 2000Mhz
321,000 PPD on 3rd unit, 11778 Project with the GPU Memory at 2000Mhz.

Now only pulling 79W as core voltage lowered from 1.15V to 0.925V. Temperature went from 79C to 57C

360,000 PPD on the latest 11780 Project. It was throttling a bit before at 79C

Bumped the voltage to 0.962V to ensure stability. 65C and 91W.

210,000 PPD on 14538 Project. Big difference.

Crawdaddy79 Apr 6, 2020 02:03 PM

This great article at the NY Times has some familiar pictures. :hmm:

https://www.nytimes.com/interactive/...=pocket-newtab

konjini Apr 7, 2020 02:33 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Crawdaddy79 (Post 1338186257)
This great article at the NY Times has some familiar pictures. :hmm:

https://www.nytimes.com/interactive/...=pocket-newtab


Great deep dive read, thanks.

Interview with Professor Gregory Bowman. Director of [email protected]
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bjYS0UKA4dE


Bonus, but a great breakthrough on the testing front.
https://twitter.com/srikosuri/status...642501632?s=20

Crawdaddy79 Apr 14, 2020 09:54 AM

Sad news everyone.



People seem to be dropping off. You doing okay DarkFoss? It's been a while since you've posted points.

Turbo_Rage3d_ Apr 14, 2020 10:19 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Crawdaddy79 (Post 1338187790)
Sad news everyone.



People seem to be dropping off. You doing okay DarkFoss? It's been a while since you've posted points.


Seems to be a WU shortage again. My rigs are inconsistently getting WUs right now.

Android1 Apr 14, 2020 12:08 PM

I took a quick look at a few other teams, and all of them had experienced drops in daily points. It is not just us.

Crawdaddy79 Apr 14, 2020 01:29 PM

Very well.

Android1 Apr 14, 2020 03:01 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Crawdaddy79 (Post 1338187838)
Very well.

With that being said, I hope that this is being caused by a lack of work rather than a lack of interest. Time will tell. I was having a hard time getting GPU WUs last night, so hopefully it is just the former.

Crawdaddy79 Apr 14, 2020 03:14 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Android1 (Post 1338187866)
With that being said, I hope that this is being caused by a lack of work rather than a lack of interest. Time will tell. I was having a hard time getting GPU WUs last night, so hopefully it is just the former.

I've pretty much had a constant stream of GPU/CPU WUs on my desktop since 9AM when I turned it on. My laptop has had trouble getting GPU WUs but has had constant CPU WUs. But I haven't been babysitting that one as much.

I think I might have just been lucky today.

Android1 Apr 14, 2020 04:51 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Crawdaddy79 (Post 1338187870)
I've pretty much had a constant stream of GPU/CPU WUs on my desktop since 9AM when I turned it on. My laptop has had trouble getting GPU WUs but has had constant CPU WUs. But I haven't been babysitting that one as much.

I think I might have just been lucky today.

I messed up my slot configuration last night and ended up downloading two CPU WUs at once by mistake. My rig has been crunching them all day. Thankfully it will be done in about an hour and a half from now, and I will be able to see what luck I have getting GPU WUs.

Loser-P Apr 14, 2020 05:04 PM

I stopped folding for the time being since I was getting occasional video driver crashes.

Possibly a driver issue I also had that happen once in a game with the latest Nvidia driver. I tried downgrading to the previous driver but it still crashed while folding.

Might also be something with the covid WU since I was folding all the time a few months ago when it was colder at night without issue.

konjini Apr 14, 2020 05:45 PM

It's sad news we ain't getting wu's,
but the good news we probably all heard .
How power-full FAH off a supercomputer has become .

Results dripping in cause of it :fold:




It's so great to see is all the different laboratories and scientists unite worldwide!
Internet of things uniting them .

Crawdaddy79 Apr 18, 2020 03:13 PM

Just finished my most valuable work unit. My system claimed 1.5M PPD; 1.4M for the GPU while it was crunching it.

Code:

18:58:45:WU01:FS01:Sending unit results: id:01 state:SEND error:NO_ERROR project:14417 run:0 clone:1154 gen:10 core:0x22 unit:0x000000130d5262775e84c8a58c53598c
18:58:45:WU01:FS01:Uploading 82.90MiB to 13.82.98.119
18:58:45:WU01:FS01:Connecting to 13.82.98.119:8080
18:59:22:WU01:FS01:Upload 0.23%
18:59:28:WU01:FS01:Upload 27.59%
18:59:34:WU01:FS01:Upload 55.19%
18:59:40:WU01:FS01:Upload 87.00%
18:59:42:WU01:FS01:Upload complete
18:59:42:WU01:FS01:Server responded WORK_ACK (400)
18:59:42:WU01:FS01:Final credit estimate, 188270.00 points

:cheer:

Android1 Apr 18, 2020 03:22 PM

Congratulations! :up:

Like you said back in March, the power of modern computers and computer components is really amazing.

eagle17 Apr 20, 2020 12:43 PM

its good to be back and folding ... I havnt done this since before the gpu software came out...

Crawdaddy79 Apr 20, 2020 01:51 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by eagle17 (Post 1338188834)
its good to be back and folding ... I havnt done this since before the gpu software came out...

Looking at your signature, hopefully you've updated your PC since you last put that info in. :lol:



Also broke a 2nd record for WU value. 201287 points on project:14415 run:0 clone:1833 gen:23. Would have been about 15k more if my PC didn't crash twice during the 3+ hour fold.

luxor Apr 21, 2020 08:01 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Crawdaddy79 (Post 1338188858)
Looking at your signature, hopefully you've updated your PC since you last put that info in. :lol:



Also broke a 2nd record for WU value. 201287 points on project:14415 run:0 clone:1833 gen:23. Would have been about 15k more if my PC didn't crash twice during the 3+ hour fold.

3 hours to fold these :eek: . It takes my PC 25+ hours, good for about 75K.

Ally Apr 22, 2020 02:49 AM

I see in the latest FAH client release you can now choose to specifically fold COVID-19 units

Notbilly Apr 22, 2020 02:18 PM

I installed the new version of the client (7.6.9), but now it cannot find my GPU -- the slot is gone and I cannot add it back. Anyone else having GPU troubles with the new version?

It's an AMD Vega 64.

Crawdaddy79 Apr 22, 2020 02:36 PM

I installed the new client today as well. It recognizes my Vega 64 just fine. I am using the latest beta drivers, if that helps. 20.4.1

Notbilly Apr 22, 2020 02:42 PM

Not sure what it is. I'm on 20.4.1 as well.

But I see in the FAH forum that some others are having the same issue (
HTML Code:

https://foldingforum.org/viewtopic.php?f=106&t=34493
. I tried the solution they suggested with the gpu.txt file copy, but no luck. I may just have to clean it all out, reinstall an older client, and hope for the best.

Notbilly Apr 22, 2020 03:11 PM

Well, I uninstalled the 7.6.9 client and re-installed the 7.5.1 client (that's the only other file I had handy), and it found my GPU right off the bat. So back in business, if a bit behind (story of my life :lol: )

Flyordie Apr 22, 2020 05:35 PM

My PC is folding but its hit and miss on the work units. So my PPD will fluctuate greatly.

I've edged the HBM2 up a bit to 1100Mhz though. idk if that'll help speed up what I do get but every little bit helps right?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:34 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright 1998-2011 Rage3D.com