Rage3D Discussion Area

Rage3D Discussion Area (http://www.rage3d.com/board/index.php)
-   AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support (http://www.rage3d.com/board/forumdisplay.php?f=59)
-   -   CATALYST: Crew Feedback / Old Drivers / What to do with driver installation woes (http://www.rage3d.com/board/showthread.php?t=33935544)

Lupine Nov 10, 2008 10:22 AM

CATALYST: Crew Feedback / Old Drivers / What to do with driver installation woes
 
If you are experiencing a problem with the latest AMD Catalyst™ driver release and you can consistently reproduce the issue, please complete this bug reporting form.

This form is intended to gather the problem description and system information so that reported issues can be addressed in future driver releases. This form is NOT to solicit support inquiries. If you have an issue that requires a technical response, please contact AMD Customer Care.

AMD Issue Reporting Form

[updated 3 July, 2015]

Jokerzwild Feb 6, 2009 12:00 PM

Old Catalyst archive
 
Here is a very useful link that has all the old driver versions that you may need for one reason or another.

http://www.oldapps.com/old_version_ati.php

Jokerzwild Feb 6, 2009 12:02 PM

BTW credit goes to friskyolive for the link and idea :cool:.

acroig Feb 6, 2009 12:25 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jokerzwild (Post 1335786569)
BTW credit goes to friskyolive for the link and idea :cool:.

Way to go frisky! :heart:

Kombatant Jul 27, 2010 12:37 PM

Having problems with a driver installation? Why don't you try this first...
 
Just to add to the general conversation, since I think it has merit: it's funny how relevant all those "do a proper uninstall" threads we have since the dawn of time really are... i've had hard resets lately on one of my PCs whenever I played games. For no particular reason. Nothing in the Windows 7 event viewer, no sign of any error, nothing. I had 10.4 still on. So I upgrade to 10.6, same thing. Yesterday, I dig up DriverCleaner (excellent program, go here to get it, well worth the money: http://www.drivercleaner.net/), uninstalled everything via the Catalyst Installer, immediately followed by a DC pass cleaning up everything ATI-related, and then, after I rebooted, installed 10.7. Fixed it right up.

Do a proper uninstall once in a while. Does wonders :)

caveman-jim Jul 27, 2010 02:44 PM

I'll jump on this dog pile, too:
  • If I'm having problems and I suspect it's because of driver install issues, what should I do?
    This is what the Caveman does for Driver freshness. You'll need two free tools - CCleaner and DriverSweeper. You'll also need to know how to reboot into safe mode, and to be able to use 'common sense'.

    • Disable Eyefinity groups, Crossfire, if enabled
    • Optional - Enter Device Manager: Uninstall Display Adapters and check box for 'Delete Device Driver'
    • Add/Remove Programs: Remove currently installed Application Profile updates (if installed)
    • Uninstall CCC and Display Driver, using Catalyst Install Manager Custom mode (Don't express uninstall if you have an AMD Chipset)
    • Reboot into safe mode
    • Run Driver Sweeper for ATI, don't reboot. [Do not remove entries pointing to WinSxs folders]
    • Run CCleaner for Registry - only select for removal ATI entries (click on Registry button on left, Analyze, then only remove Entries listed for ATI).
    • Delete the following folders (applies to Vista/7)
      • SystemDrive:\ProgramData\ATI
      • SystemDrive:\Users\username\AppData\Local\ATI
      • SystemDrive:\Users\username\AppData\Roaming\ATI
    • Reboot to desktop, run Express install on desired Catalyst driver & reboot if prompted.
    • Install all Application Profiles newer than Driver release (i.e. 10.3whql/a/b would use both March & April profile updates).
    • Enjoy!

anthonyl Jul 27, 2010 08:04 PM

Can you please tell me how to do the following:-

Run CCleaner for Registry - only select for removal ATI entries.

I have CCleaner and can not for the life of me see any option to remove ATI entries.

Thanks

Sobek Jul 27, 2010 08:20 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by caveman-jim (Post 1336325759)
I'll jump on this dog pile, too:
  • If I'm having problems and I suspect it's because of driver install issues, what should I do?
*snip*

Neat - that's pretty much exactly what I do, minus the CCleaner part. I do have it installed and I do use it, but I never thought to use it for cleaning out registry entries that DriverCleaner/Sweeper may have missed.

I'll add it to my process ;)

caveman-jim Jul 27, 2010 09:35 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by anthonyl (Post 1336326081)
Can you please tell me how to do the following:-

Run CCleaner for Registry - only select for removal ATI entries.

I have CCleaner and can not for the life of me see any option to remove ATI entries.

Thanks

Open CCleaner and on the left side select 'Registry'. Click the Analyse button. Deselect all entries using the top 'all' check box. Now read through the list and look for entries that are for ATI - they will have the ATI letters in them or the ATI install path. Select those and only those for removal, then select clean. Save a backup in case you want to revert the action later.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dwarden (Post 1336326095)
he speaks about DriverCleaner nto CCleaner :)

No, I mean CCleaner. See above. After running DriverCleaner, try CCleaner and see if there's anything left over. Sometimes there is.

anthonyl Jul 28, 2010 08:21 AM

This always gets me with uninstalling ATI drivers.....the uninstall drivers does not "uninstall everything" like it should.

When I uninstall using both the CCC uninstall and windows uninstall, it does not uninstall everything...if it did all of my old settings would not be there when I installed the new drivers.

Uninstall should uninstall all traces, so that when you install new drivers you should start with a clean slate.

And should not need to download seperate apps to do it!!

caveman-jim Jul 28, 2010 09:30 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by m4trix (Post 1336326225)
Uhmm yea it's really great drivers since you have to do all this **** just to go from 10.x to 10.x - How easy is that for a new PC user?
I hate to use the Green word in here but it just not like that "over there" - I mean how hard can it ****ing be to make the ATi driver uninstall, reboot and then do a good install of the driver. But noooo ATi dont need that, we can just install on top of the other driver and WE DONT EVEN NEED TO REEBOOT!!! yea right.
RANT!

That's actually the recommended method of Windows NT 6.1 kernel updates to drives, AMD are following Microsoft recommendations. This procedure is only for if you have issues installing/after install.

caveman-jim Jul 28, 2010 09:37 AM

http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles...t.aspx#header3

Roscoe Jul 30, 2010 11:27 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by anthonyl (Post 1336326529)
This always gets me with uninstalling ATI drivers.....the uninstall drivers does not "uninstall everything" like it should.

When I uninstall using both the CCC uninstall and windows uninstall, it does not uninstall everything...if it did all of my old settings would not be there when I installed the new drivers.

Uninstall should uninstall all traces, so that when you install new drivers you should start with a clean slate.

And should not need to download seperate apps to do it!!

Yeah, I did Caveman Jim's clean-install, and it still remembered my bezel compensation settings. Everything else had gone though.

caveman-jim Jul 30, 2010 11:33 AM

I wonder if a second reboot and safe mode DriverSweeper + CCleaner will get those? I'll test at some point. Thanks for the feedback.

kn00tcn Jul 30, 2010 03:56 PM

why care if settings stay? it's just plain text reg entries of basic toggles that you do in CCC... just hit the 'restore factory defaults' button or delete the reg key

although i think i still have that issue where the video settings crash CCC

caveman-jim Jul 30, 2010 04:01 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by kn00tcn (Post 1336328828)
why care if settings stay? it's just plain text reg entries of basic toggles that you do in CCC... just hit the 'restore factory defaults' button or delete the reg key

although i think i still have that issue where the video settings crash CCC

The point was that an uninstall, plus reboot into safe mode and clean out of registry and known file locations still left remnants behind - if you have CCC settings left behind, what else do you have remaining?

Treeckcold57 Aug 3, 2010 09:35 PM

I had done using Guru3D driver cleaner only when I had 10.6 driver and I wanted to install 10.4.

1. Uninstalled 10.6 driver
2. Reboot and into safe mode- Run Guru3D driver cleaner
3. Reboot and into normal mode and run CCleaner to remove all of ATI regs.
4. Installed 10.4 driver.

This is flawless method I ever tried. :)

if I want to install 10.7. I would choose to install over 10.4. But then if I don't like 10.7 driver, I would click the "Roll back driver" in the Device Manager.

caveman-jim Aug 3, 2010 09:59 PM

If you're having problems installing new drivers, try reinstalling Microsoft Visual Studio 2005 and 2008 runtimes, and getting the latest patches from Windows Update. Doing that plus a reboot before trying to install might solve a lot of issues.

caveman-jim Aug 18, 2010 10:33 AM

Another cool tip:

Quote:

Originally Posted by Chythar (Post 1336328301)
This is an old thread, but it's one of the top search results for "ccc won't run" so I wanted to post another possible solution here. My solution was to clear out the Windows GAC (Global Assembly Cache). In Windows 7, you can browse directly to "C:\Windows\assembly". Sort by "Public Key Token", then delete everything with the Token "90ba9c70f846762e" (ATI's key). You'll obviously need Administrator privileges. No reboot needed either. Reinstalled CCC and it ran perfectly!

The GAC lets you share DLL's that are the same version number. If it's in the GAC, any installer will NOT install a new DLL - it'll use the one in the GAC. If the GAC DLL is corrupted, you're majorly SOL.

When I reinstalled the CCC, it took longer to install then it had before. Presumably, this was due to the installer copying all the correct DLL's to my hard drive. And no ATI DLL's have made it back into my GAC.

To give credit to the original poster, here's the page I found this fix on:

http://www.hardwareheaven.com/mobili...ol-center.html


Lurk Aug 21, 2010 07:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by caveman-jim
If you're having problems installing new drivers, try reinstalling Microsoft Visual Studio 2005 and 2008 runtimes, and getting the latest patches from Windows Update. Doing that plus a reboot before trying to install might solve a lot of issues.

Yep, confirmed. Just got rid of Cat installation problems by re-installing Visual Studio 2005 and 2008 on Windows7. Migh be worth noticeing that even on my x64 system I had to install BOTH vcredist_x86 and vcredist_x64 2005 to get things back up and running. My only problem is now I have a Catalyst Install Manager voice in my Add/Remove Programs window which I cannot get rid of. If I try to uninstall it opens a "have disk" window and quits with an error message. :confused:

caveman-jim Nov 29, 2011 10:43 AM

Want to know which driver version relates to which Catalyst version? Use this handy look up table!

http://developer.amd.com/download/cc...s/default.aspx

antdude Nov 29, 2011 01:51 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by caveman-jim (Post 1336770119)
Want to know which driver version relates to which Catalyst version? Use this handy look up table!

http://developer.amd.com/download/cc...s/default.aspx

Awesome!

caveman-jim Aug 18, 2012 08:22 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lupine (Post 1335684693)
Got Feedback? ATI Catalyst Crew Feedback

ATI strives to continually improve our drivers and software and we invite you to tell us how. If you are experiencing a problem with our latest driver release, or if you have suggestions on how to make our drivers better, please take the time to submit your feedback.

This program is intended to gather feedback for specific driver releases and not to solicit regular support inquiries. This is NOT the location for support for your product. Support requests will NOT be responded to.

Submissions to the Catalyst Crew Feedback will NOT be responded to.

If you have an issue that requires a technical response, please contact Customer Care.

For Catalyst Mobility Feedback, please click here.

updated link to form http://www.amdsurveys.com/se.ashx?s=5A1E27D20B2F3EAC)

Dyre Straits Mar 31, 2014 04:55 AM

Anytime I click on one of the links to the reporting/survey, it comes up at Survey Closed...

Maybe this one will work...

http://www.amdsurveys.com/se.ashx?s=5A1E27D25AD12B2E

The Mac Mar 31, 2014 10:14 AM

They open a new one for each CAT.

which one are you trying to report?

Dyre Straits Apr 1, 2014 03:30 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by The Mac (Post 1337476380)
They open a new one for each CAT.

which one are you trying to report?

Actually, the latest one. Do they not accept report on the BETA drivers? Seems since that's what we're getting they at least should.

The Mac Apr 1, 2014 09:58 AM

http://www.amdsurveys.com/se.ashx?s=5A1E27D25AD12B3B

Dwarden Apr 1, 2014 04:48 PM

quite shocked Arma 3 and DayZ isn't in that survay, yet obsolete Arma 2 is (hell Arma 2: Operation Arrowhead replaced it years ago)

The Mac Apr 1, 2014 07:53 PM

most likely the list is made from the most common complaints.

There is a place for "Other"

Besides, you guys arent exactly an indie, dont you have a direct line to AMD?

appiah4 Mar 17, 2015 03:45 AM

Is there any way of reporting problems to AMD other than signing up with Twitter to personally bug AMD developers on their feed? One would think they would have a Bugzilla of some sort or at least a bug report form somewhere, alas.. I don't know why I'm even surprised that they don't have one, really.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:55 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright 1998-2011 Rage3D.com