Rage3D Discussion Area

Rage3D Discussion Area (http://www.rage3d.com/board/index.php)
-   Radeon Technical Support (http://www.rage3d.com/board/forumdisplay.php?f=69)
-   -   low 3d mark score! (http://www.rage3d.com/board/showthread.php?t=33656311)

huggyg71 Dec 28, 2002 06:19 PM

low 3d mark score!
 
im getting a score of 5099(low?) packard bell imedia 5051 512ram 40gb drive.herc.3d prophet 9000(non pro)128mb.any tips would be good.am newbie.ta.

AMD_Atlon Dec 28, 2002 07:00 PM

Without knowing your system, (I could not find the 5051 on packs site) I ran a compare in general on futuremarks "search and compare".

CPU: Intel Celeron, P-4, and a lot others
CPU Clock Range: 1700 to 2400
Graphics Chipset: ATI Radeon 9000

All other compare specs were 3dmarks default settings and WinXP

High score: 9339
Low score: 8150

No chip seemed to break 10,000

Give a link to your score.

huggyg71 Dec 28, 2002 07:06 PM

3d mark score
 
i was unable to connect and compare my score online for some reason.my mobo is a clombia pk.bell dont list my pc.anymore even though its only 4 mths old!i have a celeron intel p4 chip if thats any help?socket 478.

Thien2810 Dec 29, 2002 05:28 AM

Try the installation guide from Genius.

Check the forums at driverheaven.net

the thread is started by Genius and title is Driver Installation for noobs. It worked for me

DJ--Quack Dec 29, 2002 07:08 AM

Any idea what kind of RAM? SDRAM, DDR, RDRAM? I would expect a low score from a Celeron 1.7, but I would imagine it'd be at least in the 9k range. Unless of course it's on SDR, in which case that scores sounds right about on target :x.

huggyg71 May 3, 2003 12:44 PM

thanks for the replies guys.am still getting the low scores have found out this is my mobo http://www.giga-byte.com/MotherBoard...s_GA-8SIML.htm and ive got 512 ddr ram updated every driver i can think of and no better any help guys or is my set up just poor?

heres my rather pathetic scores

http://service.futuremark.com/servle...jectId=6121642

Solomon May 3, 2003 01:32 PM

Why do you care about 3DMark so much? It's just a benchmark. How about concentrating on the games you play instead?

huggyg71 May 3, 2003 05:10 PM

i am not obsessed with it i just use it as a means of testing and find it informative.im a big flight sim 2002 fan and can only get 25-30 fps average with this on 1024x768 can be a bit jerky at times im not complaining i know its not the best set up in the world was just looking some tips from more experienced members on how i can get the best out of what ive got.thanks.

funnyperson1 May 4, 2003 05:17 PM

Its not that low for the system. The Willamette celerons suck hard. Did you do a fresh install when you put the card in?

huggyg71 May 4, 2003 07:08 PM

just did fresh install last week and no improvement.

FrancoisC May 4, 2003 07:53 PM

Celeron, for gaming, really su** a**. A little example: I had a celeron 2.0Ghz overclocked to 2660Mhz (FSB of 533 instead of 400 and with proper cooling) and my score with a radeon 8500 64MB in 3dmark 2000 was something like 5000~5500. Now, I just changed my CPU for a real P4 (2.4a) not oveclocked or anything, and my score went up from my 5000ish to 12 000. And in 3dmark 2k1 it went from 7000 to about 10 000. If you are a gamer, stay away from the Celeron.

funnyperson1 May 5, 2003 08:53 AM

Indeed, I cannot stress how crappy the Willamette Celerons are. With my old school tualatin at 1.65 I am still beating P4 Cellys up to 3ghz.

huggy, my suggestion would be to buy a cheap 1.6a ( they go for around 100$ now) and oc it. Then sell the celeron on ebay to some poor bastard who will pay 80$ for it, and you will come out much happier.

huggyg71 May 5, 2003 07:03 PM

MMMMmmmn had kinda guessed that was the answer.will have to start saving then.thing is though unreal tournement 03 runs like a dream for me well get a goo 40-50fps which im happy with(could do better) and gta3 is another fav runs 10x better than ps2 version just flight sim(am strange) is slow.will i really see that much difference with a p4 1.8? my board takes up to 2.4 p4 i think might just get that.still no word on overclocking the non pro 9000`s then?in the mean time.anyway thanks very much to all as am not well up on all this and i really am greatfull for the help.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:02 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright 1998-2011 Rage3D.com