Rage3D Discussion Area

Rage3D Discussion Area (http://www.rage3d.com/board/index.php)
-   Radeon Tweaking, Modding, and Overclocking (http://www.rage3d.com/board/forumdisplay.php?f=22)
-   -   official 3D MARK 11 Score Thread (http://www.rage3d.com/board/showthread.php?t=33971454)

Roadhog May 18, 2011 02:58 PM

too bad I can't compare my score to other 6970 users because they all cheat and disable tessellations. >_<

moshpit May 18, 2011 02:59 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by shadow001 (Post 1336587489)
More like going into the 17k club simply by matching his GPU clocks ;) ...

17K club???? Is that the "We wish we were in the REAL 20K club, but because we can't, we'll make a new lower club?"

Can make the 6K club in PCmark? Cause you know how important us 6K clubbers are :p :lol:

moshpit May 18, 2011 03:00 PM

I bet you could make the 20K club with a pair of GTX590's instead of 3 580's. But I'd rather have the 3 580's for real stuff beyond artificial drag racing, so you made a good choice! :p ;)

shadow001 May 18, 2011 03:11 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by moshpit (Post 1336587502)
17K club???? Is that the "We wish we were in the REAL 20K club, but because we can't, we'll make a new lower club?"

Can make the 6K club in PCmark? Cause you know how important us 6K clubbers are :p :lol:


Seriously, do people not read my posts completely, or maybe simply ignore certain parts, because i remember saying that i had only installed the water blocks this monday and still discovering just how far i can take the video cards, and it'll be weeks until i've done everything i can to squeeze every once of performance out of them, including flashing the video card BIOS to allow higher voltage limits, wich the water cooling can handle...


I remember saying that at least 1 or 2 times...:nag:

Roadhog May 18, 2011 03:13 PM

how long can it take to overclock gpus. I know it takes me like 15 mins tops. :p

shadow001 May 18, 2011 03:13 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by moshpit (Post 1336587505)
I bet you could make the 20K club with a pair of GTX590's instead of 3 580's. But I'd rather have the 3 580's for real stuff beyond artificial drag racing, so you made a good choice! :p ;)


I'd rather add a fourth GTX580 since there's going to be a revision of the GTX590 with a more beefed up VRM setup with the current cards....Supposedly it'll be out in june.

shadow001 May 18, 2011 03:21 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Roadhog_ (Post 1336587521)
how long can it take to overclock gpus. I know it takes me like 15 mins tops. :p



When you start playing in the 900+ Mhz range, it's a whole new ballgame and gets tougher as the 1 Ghz barrier is attempted and yes luck plays a hand in as one weaker card that simply won't overclock as well can ruin your day.

So far i've been applying the same clocks on all 3 cards, but there will be a point where the clocks will be different on all 3, simply because each one has it's own limits, no matter how much voltage is thrown at them or how well they're cooled, they simply can't handle more...


You can guess that at that point, it's no longer a 15 minute operation...;)

Roadhog May 18, 2011 03:23 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by shadow001 (Post 1336587541)
When you start playing in the 900+ Mhz range, it's a whole new ballgame and gets tougher as the 1 Ghz barrier is attempted and yes luck plays a hand in as one weaker card that simply won't overclock as well can ruin your day.

So far i've been applying the same clocks on all 3 cards, but there will be a point where the clocks will be different on all 3, simply because each one has it's own limits, no matter how much voltage is thrown at them or how well they're cooled, they simply can't handle more...


You can guess that at that point, it's no longer a 15 minute operation...;)

LOLWUT you apply different clocks to each card? You know the cards can only be as fast as the slowest one....

Also, I can do 1ghz easy. :p

moshpit May 18, 2011 03:23 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by shadow001 (Post 1336587518)
Seriously, do people not read my posts completely, or maybe simply ignore certain parts, because i remember saying that i had only installed the water blocks this monday and still discovering just how far i can take the video cards, and it'll be weeks until i've done everything i can to squeeze every once of performance out of them, including flashing the video card BIOS to allow higher voltage limits, wich the water cooling can handle...


I remember saying that at least 1 or 2 times...:nag:

You can SAY whatever you want. Doesn't mean I won't harrass and give ya hell anyway! I told ya, I'm just having fun picking on ya. It's not mean spirited or anything, it should drive you to new heights as Cavey did for me hitting 5Ghz ;)

But as has clearly been shown, when I think you're right, or maybe just not as wrong as is being said, I have shown support for you. I do keep my harrassment of you balanced ;)

shadow001 May 18, 2011 03:35 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Roadhog_ (Post 1336587542)
LOLWUT you apply different clocks to each card? You know the cards can only be as fast as the slowest one....

Also, I can do 1ghz easy. :p


Not quite.....See one of the problems with 3Dmark is that it only reports the clocks of 1 card even if you might have 4 in them in SLI of crossfire, so assuming that all 4 are clocked the same might surprise you...;)


Also, look at the highest score in the 3Dmark database, and if i'm not mistaken, the cards are running at an insane 1250Mhz GPU speed to get a 25K score going...


No matter what the cooling is or how much voltage is showed into the card, what are the odds of finding 4 cards that overclock that high, wich is 450 Mhz higher than stock....Very small, and the teams that pulled off those massive scores and deserve all the credit in the world, probably went thru a few dozen cards until they found 4 of them that could do it, much like going thru several CPU's to find the one that clocks to the moon and back on much less voltage....


Current GTX580's ship with a V-core as low as 1.016 to 1.063 and it seems that the ones that use the lowest voltage are the ones that overclock the highest right off the bat regardless of cooling....I have 1 at 1.025 and the other 2 at 1.050, so not the best but not the worst either...

shadow001 May 18, 2011 03:36 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by moshpit (Post 1336587543)
You can SAY whatever you want. Doesn't mean I won't harrass and give ya hell anyway! I told ya, I'm just having fun picking on ya. It's not mean spirited or anything, it should drive you to new heights as Cavey did for me hitting 5Ghz ;)

But as has clearly been shown, when I think you're right, or maybe just not as wrong as is being said, I have shown support for you. I do keep my harrassment of you balanced ;)


:lol:

Roadhog May 18, 2011 03:46 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by shadow001 (Post 1336587554)
Not quite.....See one of the problems with 3Dmark is that it only reports the clocks of 1 card even if you might have 4 in them in SLI of crossfire, so assuming that all 4 are clocked the same might surprise you...;)


But the gpus will only be as fast as the slowest clocked one so there is no point in setting them at different clock speeds.

Jokerzwild May 18, 2011 03:55 PM

Man you guys are gonna give shadow an aneurism before it's all said and done :lol:.

Nunz May 18, 2011 03:56 PM

Yeah, it gets tiresome to read after awhile :lol:
I'd be pissed replying to these 2 over and over.

Though I have to agree, there is no point in doing seperate clocks for each card, it's going to be limited by the slowest card for real world ****, I'm not sure if it will make a difference for going for record benches. I doubt it, though.

shadow001 May 18, 2011 03:57 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Roadhog_ (Post 1336587578)
But the gpus will only be as fast as the slowest clocked one so there is no point in setting them at different clock speeds.


Assuming that they're maxed out on all cores in terms of workload at the software level, and if they were then increasing the CPU speed wouldn't make a difference, but it obviously does at least at the performance setting as scores keep increasing....In short, the GPU's are wating for the CPU to send them the data they need and they need it ASAP.


If we're talking about the extreme setting, then the workload for the GPU's is much more intense at the software level and changing the CPU speed might not make as large a difference or even any difference at all in the graphics scores of those 4 tests....In that GPU demanding environment where the cards are pushed much harder, identical clock speeds across all 3 cards might very well make a much larger difference in overall performance.

shadow001 May 18, 2011 03:59 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jokerzwild (Post 1336587589)
Man you guys are gonna give shadow an aneurism before it's all said and done :lol:.


At least now we're exchanging ideas and noot simply smart ass remarks...:p :lol:

moshpit May 18, 2011 04:14 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by shadow001 (Post 1336587605)
At least now we're exchanging ideas and noot simply smart ass remarks...:p :lol:

But... but... Where's the FUN in that??? :hmm:

Nunz May 18, 2011 04:52 PM



Yay for new drivers. Broke 11K with no changes besides the driver. :D

moshpit May 18, 2011 05:12 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nunz (Post 1336587651)
Yay for new drivers. Broke 11K with no changes besides the driver. :D

The new beta 275.27? Still haven't tried em yet.

Nunz May 18, 2011 10:23 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by moshpit (Post 1336587667)
The new beta 275.27? Still haven't tried em yet.

Yes sir. :)

moshpit May 18, 2011 10:26 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nunz (Post 1336588000)
Yes sir. :)

Will check em out!

Nunz May 18, 2011 10:33 PM

Everything I've tried so far has been mildly better. Going to run PCMark 7 real quick.

demo May 20, 2011 02:59 AM

There's nothing wrong with Shadow using the last official driver, infact if I'm scoring better than him with the same driver that should indiciate there is something up with his system.

I might try for a bench session this weekend if I can get time, I have the highest score at ocau and beat even all AMD quad systems... http://forums.overclockers.com.au/sh...d.php?t=934574

You will also notice Barnzz with top single, dual and tri AMD is my m8. We know whats going on when it come to performance in both real world and synthetic scenarios despite what these clowns around here and other forums say, and we have the numbers to prove it.

moshpit May 20, 2011 10:28 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by demowhc (Post 1336589339)
There's nothing wrong with Shadow using the last official driver, infact if I'm scoring better than him with the same driver that should indiciate there is something up with his system.

I might try for a bench session this weekend if I can get time, I have the highest score at ocau and beat even all AMD quad systems... http://forums.overclockers.com.au/sh...d.php?t=934574

You will also notice Barnzz with top single, dual and tri AMD is my m8. We know whats going on when it come to performance in both real world and synthetic scenarios despite what these clowns around here and other forums say, and we have the numbers to prove it.

Then why can't you score in PCMark and only in 3Dmark well? That doesn't sound very much like you "know what your doing" very well at all. Sounds like you missed an important little detail. Hmmmm, wonder what it was?

demo May 20, 2011 08:04 PM

Pcmark doesnt reflect gaming performance.

moshpit May 20, 2011 08:16 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by demowhc (Post 1336590068)
Pcmark doesnt reflect gaming performance.

Actually, ever play Sins of a Solar Empire? Dx9 and single threaded. Lots of casual games come as Dx9 and single threaded only, even today. So, in fact, when considering the casual/indie gaming market is booming today, I'd say you were wrong on even that point.

Just run the test already. I'd razz ya a lot less if you hadn't wanted to argue so much instead of just posting your score in the PCMark thread ;)

demo May 20, 2011 08:23 PM

Actually I used to play sins a fair bit, never had an issue with it even in 3D, always locked at 60fps vsync even with a buttload of units.

The only 3D performance test that Pcmark7 does is a DX9 test in windowed mode iirc with what looks like the old 3dmark 06 firefly test, hardly an indication of current high end gaming ability.

And as I already said I scored around 5k in Pcmark7, however I have 6 HDD's and a mid range SSD comparable with an OCZ vertex 2 which effects scores a lot. I'm sure if I had only an OCZ vertex 3 SSD for instance my Pcmark7 score would change a lot, however my gaming performance and 3Dmark11 score would be the same.

Pcmark7 has its place, but it doesnt reflect gaming performance.

demo May 20, 2011 10:10 PM

Back on topic, here's some more 3Dmark11 scores-

Tri- P17430 3DMarks http://3dmark.com/3dm11/1237396

Dual- P13337 3DMarks http://3dmark.com/3dm11/1237419

Roadhog May 20, 2011 10:10 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by demowhc (Post 1336590211)

Dual- P13337 3DMarks http://3dmark.com/3dm11/1237419

1337. O_O

demo May 20, 2011 10:12 PM

yer I liked it :lol:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:04 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright 1998-2011 Rage3D.com