Rage3D Discussion Area

Rage3D Discussion Area (http://www.rage3d.com/board/index.php)
-   Remote Wonder and Plug-In Discussion (http://www.rage3d.com/board/forumdisplay.php?f=55)
-   -   Resolved!! rundll32/RW App driver problem solved!! (http://www.rage3d.com/board/showthread.php?t=33738039)

WiKiD Jul 26, 2005 10:31 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Joe_Blough
I built a new computer with an X800XT AIW and ASUS P4800E-Deluxe motherboard. I was amazed that everything I loaded from Windows XP to drivers to programs loaded and worked without errors. The remote was working great. Then I noticed when recording more than one show MMC 9.08 would freeze. So I reformatted and reloaded everything put switched to MMC 9.06.1 and the remote hasn't worked since. I alsoe decided I needed a bigger hard drive so did a reformat and complete install on the new hard driver trying both MMC 9.08 and MMC 9.06.1 but still no remote.

When I saw this thread I thought this might solve the problem. I always left my receiver plugged in when I reformatted and reloaded everything so figured that's where I went wrong.

I unplugged my receiver and did the stuff above (except could not find ATIRW.exe running). When I plugged it in I was hopeful as it was recognized and W XP said it was loading the software.

I followed the rest of the instructions but all I get is the icon in the system tray saying "it is safe to remove hardware" when I run my mouse pointer over it. I do see ATIRW.exe running in task manager though.

When I go check my USB ports in Device Manager it shows ATI Remote Wonder Controller and below that ATI Remote Wonder Controller II (which it didn't show until I followed the steps above). The drivers version for both is 2.0.0.0 but the driver details for ATI Remote Wonder Controller shows ATIRWVD.sys and for ATI Remote Controller II shows ATIRWRF.sys.

Is that what is showing for those of you who have a working remote?

there are different versions of remote wonder software the only work with the right version of MMC. Therefore, if you rolled back the MMC version, you would also have to roll back to the remote wonder version that was released at that time.

Hisopio Oct 4, 2005 07:29 AM

Hello,
I had the same problem of tray icon disapearing, and after trying every solution I've found, I find out that the problem for me was a iTunes plug-in. It's simple, if I install it and restart my computer, the tray icon disapears.
So, no iTunes for my remote.
Hope it can help someone...

evil_chris Oct 18, 2005 04:54 PM

iTunes Plugin!!!!
 
Dude that sooo fixed my problem!!

I am dumb - I thought before already "Hey, this must be the iTunes-Plugin that I just installed"....and then forgot about it imediately again.

So I can keep Norton, no need for generic X10-Drivers or so.
Just made sure that atirw.exe was not running, removed the itunes.dll and startet the remote app - it worked without a reboot or so.

Too bad...cuz I really would like to use the plugin, and it works...if you never reboot :)

I was using the Brandon M. DePesa Version v1.2 Plugin from http://remotew.free.fr/plugins.htm#itunes

I wonder if there is any other plugin working? Maybe the one from Matt? (Homepage is down, link also on remotew.free.fr

Yeah I am gonna try out this one - thanks to google cache (http://72.14.207.104/search?q=cache:...rased.us/iTW.e)

http://www.erased.us/files/iTunesWonder-1.0.0.zip

Someone should point this out to remotew.free.fr. I was already about to get very pissed with my new remote!!

Sincerely,
Chris

WiKiD Feb 12, 2006 02:51 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by evil_chris
Dude that sooo fixed my problem!!

I am dumb - I thought before already "Hey, this must be the iTunes-Plugin that I just installed"....and then forgot about it imediately again.

So I can keep Norton, no need for generic X10-Drivers or so.
Just made sure that atirw.exe was not running, removed the itunes.dll and startet the remote app - it worked without a reboot or so.

Too bad...cuz I really would like to use the plugin, and it works...if you never reboot :)

I was using the Brandon M. DePesa Version v1.2 Plugin from http://remotew.free.fr/plugins.htm#itunes

I wonder if there is any other plugin working? Maybe the one from Matt? (Homepage is down, link also on remotew.free.fr

Yeah I am gonna try out this one - thanks to google cache (http://72.14.207.104/search?q=cache:...rased.us/iTW.e)

http://www.erased.us/files/iTunesWonder-1.0.0.zip

Someone should point this out to remotew.free.fr. I was already about to get very pissed with my new remote!!

Sincerely,
Chris

iTunes... ewww *shudder*

use ml_ipod for winamp! cheers

NightRain Apr 25, 2006 07:21 PM

This worked for me too, but a couple of times the RW tray icon still didn't load. I simply stoped the ATIRW.EXE and then unplugged the USB port and plugged it back in, then launched the remote wonder tool and it works fine again. It is very wier.d

cyborg2029 Aug 31, 2006 08:39 AM

sorry to bust your chops, but this suggestion is as useless as ati tech support itself.

nothing, NOTHING, has changed. the remote still fails and i am back to square 1.

ati is the worst product i have ever owned when it comes to fixing problems. if i were an attorney i would sue them back to the stone age.

:evil:

The Pig May 15, 2007 07:38 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hisopio (Post 1333945346)
Hello,
I had the same problem of tray icon disapearing, and after trying every solution I've found, I find out that the problem for me was a iTunes plug-in. It's simple, if I install it and restart my computer, the tray icon disapears.
So, no iTunes for my remote.
Hope it can help someone...

It helped a friend. Thank you 1 post user. :D

spartus4 May 25, 2007 01:02 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by cyborg2029 (Post 1334534276)
sorry to bust your chops, but this suggestion is as useless as ati tech support itself.

nothing, NOTHING, has changed. the remote still fails and i am back to square 1.

ati is the worst product i have ever owned when it comes to fixing problems. if i were an attorney i would sue them back to the stone age.

:evil:

If you are in the US send all the information too the Attorney General of your state.

I did it here in Michigan and low and behold there were new drivers posted with in a week.

Later

Shane

Keystone May 31, 2007 10:54 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by spartus4 (Post 1334957484)
If you are in the US send all the information too the Attorney General of your state.

I did it here in Michigan and low and behold there were new drivers posted with in a week.

HAHAHAHA! As if in only days your little complaint would motivate US state prosecutors into forcing ATi to prepare and release drivers!

Occam's razor. Coincidence, as ATi was already long working on such drivers and released them upon their own initiative and their own time frame.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:12 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright 1998-2011 Rage3D.com