Rage3D Discussion Area

Rage3D Discussion Area (http://www.rage3d.com/board/index.php)
-   Home Theaters and Photography (http://www.rage3d.com/board/forumdisplay.php?f=91)
-   -   Atmos - Windows/PC Gaming (http://www.rage3d.com/board/showthread.php?t=34050793)

OverclockN' Apr 7, 2020 01:27 PM

Atmos - Windows/PC Gaming
 
Anyone here using Atmos through a home theater system with their PC for Windows use and gaming?

I think it was working (I didn't have to do anything special) in Far Cry 5, but I've uninstalled it already and can't verify. I may install again to check. For Resident Evil 2, my receiver never shows that Atmos is working.

I downloaded the Atmos app for windows and ran the Home Theater setup option, and from that point on it worked every time I loaded up the game. However, after a couple days my PC would boot with no audio at all. The only way to recover was to run the Atmos app setup again. I eventually got disgusted with it and uninstalled the app. The audio didn't work the first time after rebooting, but some troubleshooting led me to an error where it had the wrong sound function chosen for my device (parahprasing from bad memory). Anyway, it's worked perfectly fine since then.

So, my question. Is anybody using Atmos for PC gaming and what did you do to get it to work properly? The Windows app is apparently garbage, and some searching showed a lot of users with the same problem I had.

Higgy10 Apr 7, 2020 03:56 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by OverclockN' (Post 1338186509)
Anyone here using Atmos through a home theater system with their PC for Windows use and gaming?

I think it was working (I didn't have to do anything special) in Far Cry 5, but I've uninstalled it already and can't verify. I may install again to check. For Resident Evil 2, my receiver never shows that Atmos is working.

I downloaded the Atmos app for windows and ran the Home Theater setup option, and from that point on it worked every time I loaded up the game. However, after a couple days my PC would boot with no audio at all. The only way to recover was to run the Atmos app setup again. I eventually got disgusted with it and uninstalled the app. The audio didn't work the first time after rebooting, but some troubleshooting led me to an error where it had the wrong sound function chosen for my device (parahprasing from bad memory). Anyway, it's worked perfectly fine since then.

So, my question. Is anybody using Atmos for PC gaming and what did you do to get it to work properly? The Windows app is apparently garbage, and some searching showed a lot of users with the same problem I had.

hmm never tried for gaming yet, didnt even know there were atmos enabled games

OverclockN' Apr 7, 2020 07:55 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Higgy10 (Post 1338186552)
hmm never tried for gaming yet, didnt even know there were atmos enabled games

They sound amazing. :)

There are a decent amount of PC games that support it now, and XBox One X also has support for it.

Resident Evil 2 is exceptionally good. You can hear scrapes, bumps, and shuffles all around you and above you. It's especially nerve racking when you hear Mr X thumping on your ceiling as he wanders the rooms in the floor directly over you.

Kain Apr 8, 2020 03:03 PM

If you connect an NVIDIA graphics card to a A/V receiver or processor through HDMI, can you get Atmos? I am asking because, if I am not mistaken, NVIDIA graphics cards can output audio as well.

Higgy10 Apr 8, 2020 06:27 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kain (Post 1338186782)
If you connect an NVIDIA graphics card to a A/V receiver or processor through HDMI, can you get Atmos? I am asking because, if I am not mistaken, NVIDIA graphics cards can output audio as well.

yes movies work fine here

OverclockN' Apr 8, 2020 08:36 PM

Yeah, the audio is pass-through in the card through the HDMI cable.

However, it's one aspect of it I don't understand. If it's straight pass-through, why is atmos an issue? You still need to select stereo, 5.1, 7.1, and atmos through the sound properties on the PC...so I guess it's still choosing what audio signal to send out to the receiver?

Higgy10 Apr 9, 2020 06:53 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by OverclockN' (Post 1338186857)
Yeah, the audio is pass-through in the card through the HDMI cable.

However, it's one aspect of it I don't understand. If it's straight pass-through, why is atmos an issue? You still need to select stereo, 5.1, 7.1, and atmos through the sound properties on the PC...so I guess it's still choosing what audio signal to send out to the receiver?

it still needs a proper audio decoder for it. MadVR+LAV audio filter

OverclockN' Apr 9, 2020 09:18 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Higgy10 (Post 1338186887)
it still needs a proper audio decoder for it. MadVR+LAV audio filter

Huh? For PC games?

I don't use my PC for movies, ever.

Higgy10 Apr 9, 2020 12:35 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by OverclockN' (Post 1338186903)
Huh? For PC games?

I don't use my PC for movies, ever.

aha well me bad

OverclockN' Apr 9, 2020 01:49 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Higgy10 (Post 1338186942)
aha well me bad

OK, I just wasn't sure what you meant since it's the first time I've heard of that software. I use my TV app for Netflix/Prime and my 4k player for everything else. :)

Higgy10 Apr 10, 2020 10:55 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by OverclockN' (Post 1338186959)
OK, I just wasn't sure what you meant since it's the first time I've heard of that software. I use my TV app for Netflix/Prime and my 4k player for everything else. :)

madvr is a video decoder(i use mpc-hc) best quality imo and only program that handles hdr properly

lav is a the audio decoder, supports all the dolby and dts options plus everything else under the sun

barleystout Apr 30, 2020 02:36 PM

Quick question concerning Dolby Atmos for headphones.


Does this work if I'm sending it through an external DAC?


If I enable Dolby Atmos for headphones in Sound Control for the Schiit Modi, does that correctly pass through the Modi?


Hope that makes sense.

Trunks0 May 3, 2020 09:33 PM

It should. No reason it shouldn't

Athena May 21, 2020 04:04 PM

What would be the point of "Atmos" below 7.1 on headphones 2.0? O_o

Trunks0 May 22, 2020 02:43 PM

It does a virtual multi-channel surround thing, only with more channels I think if available??? So it's like Creative Labs CMSS-3D, Windows Sonic for Headphones or as the feature was originally called by Dolby them selves, Dolby Headphone.

Can be pretty handy when a game doesn't have good 3D positional audio.

xCLAVEx May 26, 2020 06:44 PM

My laptop came with Atmos for it's speakers and it actually takes definition away from the sounds in a lot of cases. I had to really fiddle with the manual settings for it to sound decent.

Trunks0 May 26, 2020 10:59 PM

Yea I've never found it to be the best of these types of tech(It tries to hard to simulate a room imho). But it can serve a purpose.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:47 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright 1998-2011 Rage3D.com