Rage3D Discussion Area

Rage3D Discussion Area (http://www.rage3d.com/board/index.php)
-   Distributed Computing (Team Rage3D) (http://www.rage3d.com/board/forumdisplay.php?f=43)
-   -   Winter is Coming (http://www.rage3d.com/board/showthread.php?t=34046137)

Dave Oct 31, 2017 03:24 AM

Winter is Coming
 
Winter is coming and I've decided I'll be heating my apartment with my PC [email protected] :)

7820X @ 4.6GHz and a MSI Gaming X 1080Ti running @ 1975Mhz.



https://folding.extremeoverclocking....php?s=&u=15574

curio Oct 31, 2017 10:21 AM

Those are some great stats, nice Dave :up:

Flyordie Oct 31, 2017 04:28 PM

Yay for winter!

Maybe we can crack 8mil ppd!?

absolutefunk Nov 2, 2017 01:26 AM

Awesome! I think that we may be able to break 8MPPD now!

:fold:

Dave Nov 5, 2017 03:29 PM

Decided to stop folding on the CPU. Only putting out 150k-200k at best, pales in comparison to the 1080 Ti @ 1.1M

absolutefunk Nov 6, 2017 01:57 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dave (Post 1338031314)
Decided to stop folding on the CPU. Only putting out 150k-200k at best, pales in comparison to the 1080 Ti @ 1.1M

200k is pretty good for a single CPU :D

Dave Nov 6, 2017 06:11 PM

Considering its probably consuming 350-400watts of power compared to the 1080 Ti at 300 watts @ 1.1M PPD, not so much.

absolutefunk Nov 7, 2017 02:21 PM

That's a large increase over the TDP for that processor, but yeah even if the power consumption was half, the GPU would still give much better points per watt. I guess if you need more heat then the CPU would come in handy :lol:

Flyordie Nov 7, 2017 08:33 PM

You'll see hit and miss points as I try and find a stable middle ground for my Vega card. Tried 1,800Mhz @ 1.100V today. Seems it only got 1 or 2 Work Units in. Honestly, I dislike how it handles its voltages. I want it to hit 1800Mhz and HOLD 1.100V while its working. Instead, it holds 1800Mhz and the voltages fluctuate based on load. Voltage goes up as load goes up but in that transition, it crashes. If it would hold that 1.100V, it'd be stable as can be.

At 1800Mhz with 1.1V it pulls 148-155W while running [email protected]

Ok, I am back to producing a bit. 1.185V @ 1,800Mhz is where its 100% stable. lol.

absolutefunk Nov 12, 2017 04:51 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Flyordie (Post 1338032049)
You'll see hit and miss points as I try and find a stable middle ground for my Vega card. Tried 1,800Mhz @ 1.100V today. Seems it only got 1 or 2 Work Units in. Honestly, I dislike how it handles its voltages. I want it to hit 1800Mhz and HOLD 1.100V while its working. Instead, it holds 1800Mhz and the voltages fluctuate based on load. Voltage goes up as load goes up but in that transition, it crashes. If it would hold that 1.100V, it'd be stable as can be.

At 1800Mhz with 1.1V it pulls 148-155W while running [email protected]

Ok, I am back to producing a bit. 1.185V @ 1,800Mhz is where its 100% stable. lol.

Excellent! Glad you got the stability issues worked out.

I noticed that we got Turbo, VW Factor, and DarkFoss back as well, so 8MPPD here we come! :D :drool:

:fold:

Flyordie Nov 16, 2017 08:18 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by absolutefunk (Post 1338033186)
Excellent! Glad you got the stability issues worked out.

I noticed that we got Turbo, VW Factor, and DarkFoss back as well, so 8MPPD here we come! :D :drool:

:fold:

10.3 drivers hurt production though. Gonna update to 11.1 and see if it improves again. I downloaded 11.1 2 times though. 1 on the 2nd of November and again on the 10th.. File sizes are different. Nov 10th= 408MB, Nov 2nd = 318MB.

jima13 Nov 18, 2017 08:23 AM

Been awhile since I checked in
 
Nice work gang, :fold:

absolutefunk Dec 2, 2017 03:48 AM

Just a heads up for the CPU folders, some of the WUs submitted are not being counted yet for credit, so if anyone notices that their PPD is a bit lower than usual, that would most likely be why. It's been this way for the past week and a half, and I'm not sure when the issue will be fixed (though when it does, we should get the points, cause that's what normally happens :lol: )

BTW, ironically our PPD is a bit higher than it should be... that's due to the stats server outage last week, and the subsequent backlog of points we got is skewing the 7-day PPD average.

Flyordie Dec 26, 2017 04:42 AM

Well, Kill-A-Watt tells me I am pulling around 365W (after 10m, when the HDDs drop into power saving mode) at the wall with my FX-8320 @ 4.0Ghz (1.308V) folding with 6 threads and the Vega card running at 1,800Mhz @ 1.150V. Plan on adding a 7th thread soon to the CPU side. The only reason I kept the CPU at 6 was because Nvidia GPUs require more CPU usage than AMD/ATI GPUs. Like right now, the GPU slot is pulling 2-3% CPU usage. So, will probably add a single thread later this week.

Temps are actually really good.

VRM temps after I started cooling the back of the mainboard with a small low RPM fan dropped from 85-90C to 55-60C. Case manufacturers have a MAJOR opportunity there when it comes to directing some air behind the mainboard to help cool the VRMs.

absolutefunk Dec 26, 2017 07:35 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Flyordie (Post 1338042900)
Well, Kill-A-Watt tells me I am pulling around 365W (after 10m, when the HDDs drop into power saving mode) at the wall with my FX-8320 @ 4.0Ghz (1.308V) folding with 6 threads and the Vega card running at 1,800Mhz @ 1.150V. Plan on adding a 7th thread soon to the CPU side. The only reason I kept the CPU at 6 was because Nvidia GPUs require more CPU usage than AMD/ATI GPUs. Like right now, the GPU slot is pulling 2-3% CPU usage. So, will probably add a single thread later this week.

Awesome! With my 1070 rig I have two threads set aside, one for the GPU and one for OS (doing that is debatable, but the CPU is only an i3, and testing having 2 or 3 threads available for CPU folding resulted in slightly higher output from the GPU when I had a spare thread available for the OS). Nvidia cards will always use 100% of a thread as it uses a loop to continually check the GPU tasks - AMD uses interrupts. Pros and cons to both approaches.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Flyordie (Post 1338042900)
VRM temps after I started cooling the back of the mainboard with a small low RPM fan dropped from 85-90C to 55-60C. Case manufacturers have a MAJOR opportunity there when it comes to directing some air behind the mainboard to help cool the VRMs.

I think many mobo/case manufacturers are still stuck in the mindset that mobo components are cooled by the CPU HSF fan, which won't work if your CPU is on water :lol: That's a great idea! I employ a 40mm fan in one of my micro rigs for a similar purpose.

Flyordie Jan 10, 2018 08:06 PM

I'm coming for you Turbo! :evil:

Also, I learned that on FX-8xxx series CPUs, its not a good idea to have more than 6 threads going on CPU stuff. Even if the CPU isn't at 100% load.. the FPUs are pushing it. It kicked my output down about 50-60K PPD adding a single CPU thread.

Anyone else here running an RX Vega?

What are your GPU usages at when running [email protected]?

Also... My HBM2 does 1100. lol. Been slowly ramping it up over the past few days. Soon as I cross 1100, my SoC clock jumps to 1,207Mhz. So the SoC on Vega must feed the HBM2.

absolutefunk Jan 16, 2018 01:26 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Flyordie (Post 1338046241)
I'm coming for you Turbo! :evil:

Also, I learned that on FX-8xxx series CPUs, its not a good idea to have more than 6 threads going on CPU stuff. Even if the CPU isn't at 100% load.. the FPUs are pushing it. It kicked my output down about 50-60K PPD adding a single CPU thread.

Anyone else here running an RX Vega?

What are your GPU usages at when running [email protected]?

Also... My HBM2 does 1100. lol. Been slowly ramping it up over the past few days. Soon as I cross 1100, my SoC clock jumps to 1,207Mhz. So the SoC on Vega must feed the HBM2.

I fold on a 1070, but in general I leave one thread for GPU and then one for misc. It does depend on the hardware though... I also have a R9 Nano which folds sometimes (like tonight since it's cold and my apartment heater stopped working), and I find that Nano's output is cut in half if I CPU fold on even 2 of 4 threads (so no CPU folding while the GPU is active).

My 1070 is overclocked, and I find that folding doesn't benefit much from memory clock as it does for core clock. Some WUs seemed to have no benefit from the memory being overclocked. So I'd focus more on core and save the energy usage from overclocked memory.

Btw, your card I've seen for over $2k now. Crazy times!

Flyordie Jan 16, 2018 06:19 PM

Yea.... Its hard not to throw it on Ebay and skimp along with an HD5770.

Paid for it in September... $525.

Could sell it for on E-Bay- $1,250. (I've seen bid wars on an XFX one go that much... +25.86 for shipping. lol.)

absolutefunk Feb 17, 2018 03:03 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Flyordie (Post 1338047440)
Yea.... Its hard not to throw it on Ebay and skimp along with an HD5770.

Paid for it in September... $525.

Could sell it for on E-Bay- $1,250. (I've seen bid wars on an XFX one go that much... +25.86 for shipping. lol.)

I noticed you haven't been folding lately. Did you give into temptation and sell your Vega to a miner? :lol:

Flyordie Feb 17, 2018 03:34 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by absolutefunk (Post 1338054459)
I noticed you haven't been folding lately. Did you give into temptation and sell your Vega to a miner? :lol:

No. Still own it. Gotta re-install the program as it won't start up. Just haven't had the time to do it and get everything setup right.

absolutefunk Mar 1, 2018 09:17 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Flyordie (Post 1338054464)
No. Still own it. Gotta re-install the program as it won't start up. Just haven't had the time to do it and get everything setup right.

phew, good thing you still have it :D

Flyordie Mar 12, 2018 05:10 AM

Reinstalled tonight. Should start seeing some points sputter out. It was a corrupted data file. (I guess at one point my PC lost power and it corrupted the data set and [email protected] didn't want to start after that.. took me 3 uninstalls and re-installs to figure it out.. lol)

jima13 Mar 14, 2018 04:39 PM

Nice work
 
Glad to see you got it sorted.

On another note, I scrapped the idea of using my 2 780's in another system and picked up another 1080ti. Anyone interested in the 780's let me know...:)

Turbo_Rage3d_ Mar 25, 2018 10:02 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jima13 (Post 1338059397)
Glad to see you got it sorted.

On another note, I scrapped the idea of using my 2 780's in another system and picked up another 1080ti. Anyone interested in the 780's let me know...:)

Wish I could take advantage, or better yet swing a 1080, still I'm doing what I can!

On another note, my little brother is now folding for Team Rage3D now, and will be dropping in here soon. JesusFrek71 is his folding name.

Dang looking up his name I see I have an issue and production is down, guess I need to see what happened.

jima13 Mar 26, 2018 02:07 AM

Nice
 
Always good to see new members come on board. :cool:

Turbo_Rage3d_ Mar 26, 2018 09:56 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Turbo_Rage3d_ (Post 1338061335)
Dang looking up his name I see I have an issue and production is down, guess I need to see what happened.

Not sure what happened, but I believe it's fixed.

Quote:

Originally Posted by jima13 (Post 1338061352)
Always good to see new members come on board. :cool:

Yes it is! Tried for years to get him on board.

Turbo_Rage3d_ Mar 27, 2018 10:46 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jima13 (Post 1338059397)
Glad to see you got it sorted.

On another note, I scrapped the idea of using my 2 780's in another system and picked up another 1080ti. Anyone interested in the 780's let me know...:)

Just sent you a PM.

Turbo_Rage3d_ Mar 27, 2018 10:51 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Flyordie (Post 1338058886)
Reinstalled tonight. Should start seeing some points sputter out. It was a corrupted data file. (I guess at one point my PC lost power and it corrupted the data set and [email protected] didn't want to start after that.. took me 3 uninstalls and re-installs to figure it out.. lol)

Apparently that is what happened to me also, but only took 2 times for me to get things back up again. (Then again it could have been my 10 year old messing around with my rig :hmm: )

Flyordie Apr 19, 2018 04:32 PM

Shut down till I can get this dog hair situation solved. Huskies shed like no other.

jima13 Apr 19, 2018 07:10 PM

Buddy of mine and his wife raise Huskies for show. They must have 14-15 running around all the time. In the winter here they hook'em to sleds and have some Juniors racing them :)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:47 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright 1998-2011 Rage3D.com