Rage3D Discussion Area

Rage3D Discussion Area (http://www.rage3d.com/board/index.php)
-   Radeon Tweaking, Modding, and Overclocking (http://www.rage3d.com/board/forumdisplay.php?f=22)
-   -   New X800 Pro -> XT Mod! Try it... (http://www.rage3d.com/board/showthread.php?t=33766704)

Link200 Jul 22, 2004 08:02 PM

just dont buy from the manufacturers. other retailers will most likly get rid of thier old stock first

5150 Joker Jul 22, 2004 08:14 PM

Wow talk about a freaky day! While trying to remove that stupid ass stock hsf, the back plates screw became completely stripped so I took the chance and used my trusty dremel and drilled the screw out. Did a very slight volt change to the card and added a zalman hsf + 80 mm fan and it runs 10 C cooler (38 C idle and 55 C load) + it overclocks higher now. Overall I'm very pleased with the results, just glad I didn't kill my card. :lol:

3DMark03 link after just installing: http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=2818031

Link200 Jul 22, 2004 08:49 PM

nice, i just hope im as lucky as you and get that 1.6ns ram tomarrow :)

rsweezie Jul 22, 2004 08:54 PM

Another Sapphire X800 Pro Success Story
 
Well, been reading this thread for a while, so I thought I'd join up to post my results.

Got a Sapphire X800pro Vivo, followed the great instructions at http://paddy007uk.freeservers.com/VG...SH%20GUIDE.htm and whammo - fully stable at default XT 520 / 560 speeds. Can't do much more than that on the core though, it starts to die at around 528. Memory seems to be able to go up to 600 before artifacting. Temps are 53 idle / 81 under full load.

3DMark Scores (http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=2818071):
Before Mod (Stock Pro Speeds) - 10093
Before Mod (Overclocked to 520 / 560) - 11219
After Mod (520 / 560 + 16 pipes) - 12070
After Mod (525 / 600 + 16 pipes) - 12323

So, I'm one fairly happy camper. Just wanted to thank everyone who figured out how to do this. Anyhow off to play farcry.

Cheers.

5150 Joker Jul 22, 2004 09:21 PM

BTW I'd hurry up and buy a VIVO for any of you that are on the fence about it, the manufacturers are catching on and shipping cards with 2 ns/1.6ns mixed ram cards and some other funky bios locks.

5150 Joker Jul 22, 2004 09:43 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by rsweezie
Temps are 53 idle / 81 under full load.
.

Holy crap thats hot! My load temps are as high as your idle.

rsweezie Jul 22, 2004 10:22 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 5150 Joker
Holy crap thats hot! My load temps are as high as your idle.

Yeah its a bit toasty. Doesn't help that my apartment is about 35 degrees right now either.

Still, from what I've read, its well within the safe range. Might look at upgrading the stock cooler at some later point...

The Death Jul 22, 2004 10:57 PM

hmm.. i really hope this 1.6/2.0ns memory mixing doesn't screw my friend... He just bought the same powercolor ViVo card as i did from another reseller, after i told him about my success with it, and has arranged me to flash it for him. Thing is, the place was OOS (the said it was in when he ordered though) and they're waiting for the next shipment to send him it.. which could lead to problems. I'll have to inspect this before flashing it for him. I'll also have to have him sign a waiver saying that i am in no responsibility.

5150 Joker Jul 22, 2004 11:03 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by rsweezie
Yeah its a bit toasty. Doesn't help that my apartment is about 35 degrees right now either.

Still, from what I've read, its well within the safe range. Might look at upgrading the stock cooler at some later point...

Maybe but 80 C load would make me nervous if I were in your place, especially with crappy stock cooling. Perhaps you should consider lowering your clock until you get better cooling unless you're not worried.

The Death Jul 22, 2004 11:18 PM

72 load makes me nervous...

Getting X800 Jul 23, 2004 01:45 AM

I'm just getting a x800 pro
 
I'm getting the x800 pro withought vivo is it still possible to soft mod it?

GazC Jul 23, 2004 02:17 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Getting X800
I'm getting the x800 pro withought vivo is it still possible to soft mod it?


NO!

vision` Jul 23, 2004 02:19 AM

Hi guys ive been reading all your posts about this topic and today my Sapphire x800pro VIVO came, already unlocked with 16 pipes but i can only seem to run at 480 / 495 havnt played around too much atm. I know it wont run at 520 / 560 :( my monitor just goes blank when running games etc. Anyway i wanted some advice i do the flashrom -f -p 0 ati.x800xt.256.samsung16.bin and i recieve and error saying press (1) to continue error opening file or something ive tried d/l the file again from various sources and still the same thing so at the moment im running the sapphire with the gigabyte BIOS running any ideas on what to do to get the samsung bios on? if it will make a diff that is.

The card does have the 1.6ns RAM btw.

Thanks any advice if any would be appreciated.

GazC Jul 23, 2004 02:23 AM

Try giving the bios a shorter filename like just X800XT.

Was your card in a sealed or a taped up bag when you recieved it, I'm wondering if you have been given an RMA'd model that someone flashed but sent back because it wouldn't do XT speeds. Anyway, the pencil mod might be for you (easily found if you search for it), I'm going to try it myself today probably, I'd like to get my core speed nearer to 580, say.

vision` Jul 23, 2004 02:32 AM

Yeah it was fully sealed with sapphire stickers etc, ill try the shorter name name now and if not look into the pencil thing.

What exactly does the pencil trick do to the card?

Thanks

Brama Jul 23, 2004 02:44 AM

The pencil trick increases the voltage to GPU.
The default is 1.4 V and you can increase till 1.5-1.55 safely to obtain higher gpu MHz.

Bye,

Mao

babyelf Jul 23, 2004 02:50 AM

Hi

A proud owner of a unreleased Gecube X800XT Platinum Edition (ssshhhh X800pro VIVO)

hehe..

flashed it with gigabyte's bios and then uninstall drivers reboot and ATI tool shows 16 pipes and then installed drivers and now running at 520/560 no problem..

and oh.. flashed to ATI X800XT bios

wooohooo... thanks for this great thread guys.. and lucky i read it... if not the other 2 left would have gone to someone else.. me and my mate got the last one..

just for ur info.. i'm in australia now

vision` Jul 23, 2004 03:10 AM

Well i renamed the bios file to a shorter name and bingo and it worked, i can up the speed a tiny timy bit but if i go higher it runs for abit then dies :( its getting better slowly hehe.

Anyone have a link to this pencil mod? (im looking now but no luck atm)

Thanks

vision` Jul 23, 2004 03:21 AM

Ok i found a link looks good, just need a damn 2B pencil now only have HB's :(

koldphuzion Jul 23, 2004 05:13 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Getting X800
I'm getting the x800 pro withought vivo is it still possible to soft mod it?

Quote:

Originally Posted by GazC
NO!

:lol:
Clear and straight forward answer!

Jesse80 Jul 23, 2004 07:07 AM

ok very newbie question


I have never OC before so in ATI TOOLS when doing the clock speed and mem to test it at XT speeds is there one to do first and do I just set ti so it slowly moves up or just move it to that speed

thanks

GazC Jul 23, 2004 07:55 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by koldphuzion
:lol:
Clear and straight forward answer!


I didn't feel like saying "read the goddam thread"..... :p

Jesse80 Jul 23, 2004 07:58 AM

I read the thread and it doesn't answer my question

rsweezie Jul 23, 2004 08:00 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 5150 Joker
Maybe but 80 C load would make me nervous if I were in your place, especially with crappy stock cooling. Perhaps you should consider lowering your clock until you get better cooling unless you're not worried.

Whats interesting is that underclocking doesn't seem to change the temps all that much. Looked at it this morning - my apartment was about 5 degrees cooler, so the idle temp had dropped to about 47 from 53. Load temp still hovered around 80. Underclocked it to 400/400 (below even pro speeds) and still maxed out around 79. I'm wondering if the heatsink isn't making good contact with the chip. Thinking I'll take it off and slap on some arctic silver - see if that makes a difference.

Or maybe its a good excuse to move to that watercooling system I've been drooling over for a while....

koldphuzion Jul 23, 2004 08:25 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jesse80
ok very newbie question


I have never OC before so in ATI TOOLS when doing the clock speed and mem to test it at XT speeds is there one to do first and do I just set ti so it slowly moves up or just move it to that speed

thanks

Are you modding your card? What is your card? If you are going to mod it check this #159 http://www.rage3d.com/board/showthre...post1333008864

In ATI Tool its generally best to OC the core first, then the Mem. This is becasue its better to find your cores max stable speed before finding the mem. Set it to find max speed on its own and sit there for about 15 mins till it settles, then do the same to the mem, or, set straight to core520/mem560 (or a little below) and test it. Remember to keep an eye on temps and for any artifacting. Each card differs so where as say mine runs fine at c520/m560 yours may run a little faster or a little slower. Just take your time and dont pust it too hard straight away, it can take alot of fine tweaking to get it right, but when you do get it right you feel:cool: !!

Good luck :)

GazC Jul 23, 2004 08:40 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jesse80
I read the thread and it doesn't answer my question

Sorry, Jesse it wasn't you I was getting at.

Jesse80 Jul 23, 2004 08:48 AM

thanks so much for the info
and np GazC
I have a Sapphire Radeon™ X800 PRO 256MB GDDR3 w/ VIVO

koldphuzion Jul 23, 2004 08:54 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by GazC
Sorry, Jesse it wasn't you I was getting at.

Did I offend you GazC, Im ever so sorry for finding your "NO!" funny :rolleyes:

:lol:

Seriously though, no offence ment.

enisada Jul 23, 2004 09:43 AM

ALright so I got a Sapphire x800pro vivo yesterday It was benching 9800 in 3dmark03 everything stock. I went ahead and flashed the bios and it says it unlocked the extra 4 pipes but I'm only getting 10800 and thats prolly cause the core and mem are at 520/560. Note running on a 2800+. What gives???

GazC Jul 23, 2004 09:57 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by koldphuzion
Did I offend you GazC, Im ever so sorry for finding your "NO!" funny :rolleyes:

:lol:

Seriously though, no offence ment.


No offence taken in the slightest mate, :)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:26 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com