Rage3D Discussion Area

Rage3D Discussion Area (http://www.rage3d.com/board/index.php)
-   Radeon Tweaking, Modding, and Overclocking (http://www.rage3d.com/board/forumdisplay.php?f=22)
-   -   New X800 Pro -> XT Mod! Try it... (http://www.rage3d.com/board/showthread.php?t=33766704)

vision` Jul 24, 2004 07:45 PM

idle my card is about 42 degrees. When playing games its about 55-60. When i run 3dmark with AA etc it goes to 74degrees, would it be safe to do the pencil mod?

What heat is not good for the card?

Thanks

koldphuzion Jul 25, 2004 02:44 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by vision`
idle my card is about 42 degrees. When playing games its about 55-60. When i run 3dmark with AA etc it goes to 74degrees, would it be safe to do the pencil mod?

What heat is not good for the card?

Thanks

You dont really want to exeed 80c when stressing the card so I suggest you get some better cooling before you Vmod.

vision` Jul 25, 2004 04:57 AM

Thanks, im looking into better cooling now.

Any recommendations?

Im looking at the zalman heatsink and fan combo atm

koldphuzion Jul 25, 2004 05:55 AM

vision: Thats the cooler im using and I know of a couple of others who use it. It works well and not to difficult to install. I recomend it for air cooling. :)
I got mine from here http://www.quietpc.com/uk/vgamb.php#zm80xhp with no problems at all.
Im using the ZM80D-HP and ZM-OP1 VGA Heatsink and Fan BUNDLE. Look in my sig for temps and clock speeds.

vision` Jul 25, 2004 06:27 AM

Thanks KoldPhuzion,

I just ordered the heatsink and fan should come within a few days :)

Thanks for all your help guys ill let you know how i go

Cheers

169th_Hunter Jul 25, 2004 07:10 AM

Some come out with 16 pipelines
 
I bought a x800Pro 2 days ago , heard that this batch had 16 pipe lines, and sure enough it did :D . Gigabyte x800 Pro VIVO. Anyone else finding this. No mod needed here :)

aviation1 Jul 25, 2004 07:51 AM

Guys,, Could I ask for your help?

I have a X800 Pro Powercolor R42-PD3, That was the pack with the Big Black Case etc.

I just dont know if its VIVO ? Checked everywhere.

Do you think its possible to flash this one?

Thanks

koldphuzion Jul 25, 2004 08:14 AM

Not unless its a VIVO, NO WAY!! You'll only end up destroying your card and that will end up in much whailing and knashing of teeth!!

kona Jul 25, 2004 08:44 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by vision`
Thanks, im looking into better cooling now.

Any recommendations?

Im looking at the zalman heatsink and fan combo atm

The Arctic Cooling VGA Silencer rev. 4 should be out soon.

c0s7 Jul 25, 2004 02:46 PM

Hi guys.. I really need some advice here from you guys so I can know what to do. Im planning on buying an x800 Pro as soon as they are in stock again and I need some help on this subject.

http://www.newegg.com/app/SearchProd...x800,pro&DEPA=

I need to know which of these can be modded to the x800 xt with 16 pipes and which cant, and I mean without hardmod. I see that the Gigabyte x800 pros , some come already with 16 pipes. Please inform me on this subject :confused:

Thanks for all of your help, it is very appreciated :D


By the way, Im really looking at the Toxic Sapphire X800 Pro, Im not sure if it is worth the extra cash or not. for 418$ i could go with the Sapphire X800 Pro OEM , only if either of these is moddable.. thanks for all of the help again :lol:

kemical Jul 25, 2004 03:04 PM

the only vivo there is the toxic one, but I've never seen these toxic branded sapphires before, the sapphire vivo I have came retail boxed (430$) but with a chrome looking alien on the front, and the normal HSF.
This toxic vivo could possibly be a newer version with the mixed 1.6 / 2.0 ns ram.. or maybe just different cooling so that it's more overclockable? :D maybe somone else knows.

5150 Joker Jul 25, 2004 03:17 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by c0s7
Hi guys.. I really need some advice here from you guys so I can know what to do. Im planning on buying an x800 Pro as soon as they are in stock again and I need some help on this subject.

http://www.newegg.com/app/SearchProd...x800,pro&DEPA=

I need to know which of these can be modded to the x800 xt with 16 pipes and which cant, and I mean without hardmod. I see that the Gigabyte x800 pros , some come already with 16 pipes. Please inform me on this subject :confused:

Thanks for all of your help, it is very appreciated :D


By the way, Im really looking at the Toxic Sapphire X800 Pro, Im not sure if it is worth the extra cash or not. for 418$ i could go with the Sapphire X800 Pro OEM , only if either of these is moddable.. thanks for all of the help again :lol:

Only go for the VIVO branded x800 pro's, they are the only ones capable of a bios unlock. I'm not sure about the Toxics, don't think anyone has bought one that I know about.

c0s7 Jul 25, 2004 07:08 PM

SAPPHIRE ATI RADEON X800 PRO Video Card, 256MB GDDR3, 256-Bit, DVI/VIVO, 8X AGP, Model "TOXIC X800 PRO VIVO" -RETAIL

- Specifications -

Chipset/Core Speed: ATI Radeon X800 PRO/475MHz
Memory/Effective Speed: 256MB GDDR3/900MHz
BUS: AGP 8X
Ports: VGA Out(15 Pin D-Sub) + VIVO + DVI
Support 3D API: DirectX 9, OpenGL 1.5
Max [email protected] Color: [email protected]
Cable/Accessories: DVI to VGA adaptor, S-Video cable, Driver CD, Manual
Retail Box (See pics for details)
Model#: 102A-26107T
Item#: N82E16814102384

Free FedEx Saver Shipping
No
(ETA7/30/2004) $4
VIVO! , hehe i think im going to go with this one... its just how do I know what RAM? i heard these have like "qualified ram" or something... It has good cooling and VIVO so then that means It has 16 pipes already or I have to flash it? thanks .. probably going to go for this one :D

Link200 Jul 25, 2004 07:11 PM

dont get that one, it isnt in stock anyways. get the one from www.dljsystem.com it is only like $420. i got mine form there last friday and i have the 1.6ns memory. and they are reliable.

EDIT. they raised the price by $20 but it still is cheaper.

c0s7 Jul 25, 2004 07:11 PM

SAPPHIRE ATI RADEON X800 PRO Video Card, 256MB GDDR3, 256-bit, DVI/TV-out, 8X AGP -OEM
**This item may only be returned for a replacement of the same make/model.

- Specifications -

Chipset: ATI RADEON X800 PRO
Pixel Pipelines:12
Memory: 256MB GDDR3
BUS: AGP 4X/8X
Ports: VGA Out(15 Pin D-Sub)+TV-Out(S-Video/Composite Out)+DVI
Support 3D API: DirectX 9.0, OpenGL 2.0
Cable/Accessories: 2 Adapters, 3 Cables
Max [email protected] Color: [email protected]
OEM Bundle (See pics for details)
Model#: 100-435020
Item#: N82E16814102364

Rating: Vote(s): 57 Review(s): 7 Special FedEx Saver Shipping $6.00

But what about this one too, it dosent say anything about VIVO.. does it have it or should I call? Because cheaper like that Ill just buy a VGA Silencer like 10 or 15$ and save money.. thanks again :p

c0s7 Jul 25, 2004 07:12 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Link200
dont get that one, it isnt in stock anyways. get the one from www.dljsystem.com it is only like $420. i got mine form there last friday and i have the 1.6ns memory. and they are reliable.

dude, really? the toxic one??... 420$!? sweet! :evil:

Link200 Jul 25, 2004 07:13 PM

it isnt the toxic one, they also raised the price by $20 ( probably because they are running out)


EDIT: it MUST have VIVO in order to work. just get the one from the website i posted. it is worth it.

c0s7 Jul 25, 2004 07:21 PM

Well i think im gettin the Toxic one, has really good cooling already, and would pay 20 - 30$ later for it anyway, it has VIVO too.. I just need to see if anyone has one and has had luck yet u kno... anyone know :confused:

redrain85 Jul 25, 2004 07:38 PM

The Toxic line is too new . . . no one has tried the softmod on one yet. So if you buy that one, you're taking your chances. I would wait for someone else to buy one who's brave enough to be the first to take the risk. :evil:

I have absolutely no evidence to back up this statement: but I wouldn't be surprised if Sapphire and other companies started releasing new versions of the cards that are no longer soft-moddable. Could this be one of them?

The first Sapphire VIVOs were ATI XTs with a quick BIOS flash to disable four pipes, and a Sapphire sticker slapped on them. These are newly customized versions by Sapphire. They could've taken their time to do things properly, including cutting the bridges.

Again, I dunno. Just guessing.

URA Jul 25, 2004 07:55 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by koldphuzion
vision: Thats the cooler im using and I know of a couple of others who use it. It works well and not to difficult to install. I recomend it for air cooling. :)
I got mine from here http://www.quietpc.com/uk/vgamb.php#zm80xhp with no problems at all.
Im using the ZM80D-HP and ZM-OP1 VGA Heatsink and Fan BUNDLE. Look in my sig for temps and clock speeds.



i am using a stock amd heat sink in my 9800 pro and i am doing 440/370. you think the ZM80D-HP will do much better than my amd heatsink?



sorry , off topic :cry:

corny Jul 26, 2004 01:58 AM

Does an X800Pro VIVO modded to XT but at Pro clocks, just with 16 pipes, approximately equal a GT?

5150 Joker Jul 26, 2004 03:24 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by corny
Does an X800Pro VIVO modded to XT but at Pro clocks, just with 16 pipes, approximately equal a GT?

Yeah I'd say it does, might be even faster in some areas (e.g. far cry with AA/AF enabled or BF:V). Most people with 6800 GT's top out at around 410 core and they don't have an easy option to fall back on like the pencil mod for VIVO cards to get more juice out of it, so I'd keep that in mind also.

corny Jul 26, 2004 03:29 AM

Good, since I have just ordered one :D. Here's hoping it has 1.6ns RAM Muhahaha lol!

297 GBP is a smidge steep if it doesn't mod though, eBay here I come if thats the case!

c0s7 Jul 26, 2004 11:27 AM

Someone buy a TOXIC X800 PRO w/ VIVO and find out if it softmods with the BIOS or not :D

Drozdov Jul 26, 2004 07:26 PM

I bought the Toxic version, will come Wednesday and let you folks know if the flash works :)

El_Duderino Jul 26, 2004 08:28 PM

Sapphire X800ProVIVO --is the mod worth it?
 
Hi, I've just joined Rage3D but have been reading the forums for awhile and have to say that I'm impressed. I recently bought a Sapphire X800 Pro VIVO card with GC16 memory...in other words, a moddable card. The thing is my overclock totally blows and is pretty much limited to 510 core/520 mem with ATITool showing temps at 74 load, 43 idle. Would I see a real-world performance benefit if I unlocked the 4 pipes considering that the potential for OC goes down and, if anything, I'd have to turn down the clock speeds? And has anyone noticed any weird effects/artifacts/etc from the mod? Thanks in advance.

Oh, my system spec is a P4 2.8B with 1 gig dual channel PC2700 RAM

c0s7 Jul 26, 2004 09:03 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Drozdov
I bought the Toxic version, will come Wednesday and let you folks know if the flash works :)

YES!! please let me know, I got till like Friday to order it.. thanks man :lol:

vision` Jul 26, 2004 10:17 PM

Well just to give everyone and update i got my sapphire x800pro vivo going at 520/560 no problems now with the zalman heatsink and fan combo :)

idle temp 32 / load 54 - 60

Im happy now :)

Thanks for all the help throught guys / gals :)

c0s7 Jul 26, 2004 11:33 PM

nice, hows the benchmarks treating you? :p

vision` Jul 27, 2004 12:02 AM

getting around 11900 /12000

3ghz p4
1gb ram


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:32 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright 1998-2011 Rage3D.com