Rage3D Discussion Area

Rage3D Discussion Area (http://www.rage3d.com/board/index.php)
-   Home Theaters and Photography (http://www.rage3d.com/board/forumdisplay.php?f=91)
-   -   Whats your HT rig?... (pics please) (http://www.rage3d.com/board/showthread.php?t=33795551)

RicH(SAD) Jul 17, 2010 06:37 PM

Shame you had to return them. They are definitely overkill in my living room as well, but I got just enough space to fit them in. Thank god for the included port plugs though as they sound pretty crappy so close to the back wall with all the ports open.

I was just going to upgrade to some better bookshelves speakers, but FS had such a good price on them two weeks ago that I just had to get them.

I think I am going to skip on the pink noise. Having them play music non-stop is more entertaining hehe.

lmchv Jul 17, 2010 08:00 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by aviphysics (Post 1336316229)
If its the price that concerns her you can get a refurbished Harmony 550 for $80 off newegg. Works very nicely and controls up to 15 devices. I have been using this one for the past year on my system and just got one for my parents and they are totally happy with it.

My wife loved it as soon as she realized that it allowed her to use the home theater with out bugging me for help.

Well, I'm allowed to spend some money whenever I visit the US, let's see what happens. :D

Quote:

Originally Posted by aviphysics (Post 1336316231)
Very interesting speaker configuration.

The rightmost speaker in the picture is the right surround speaker, due to my living room configuration I can't leave it on its place the whole time, I have to move it when I watch some 5.1 content.

Zero Jul 17, 2010 08:14 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by RicH(SAD) (Post 1336316625)
Shame you had to return them. They are definitely overkill in my living room as well, but I got just enough space to fit them in. Thank god for the included port plugs though as they sound pretty crappy so close to the back wall with all the ports open.

Might be an issue with break-in, mine sounded kinda off for the first few days until I did some actual break-in. I have a different room configuration though, so take what I say with a grain of salt.

Quote:

I was just going to upgrade to some better bookshelves speakers, but FS had such a good price on them two weeks ago that I just had to get them.
Yup, that's when I grabbed mine too, basically 50% off :drool:

I don't even think they'll go lower on Boxing Day, pat yourself on the back for an incredible steal of a deal!

Quote:

I think I am going to skip on the pink noise. Having them play music non-stop is more entertaining hehe.
Most of the Energy owners on AVS recommend breaking them in with pink noise (might cover more range efficiently) and just leaving them on when you leave for work in the morning. You can even wire one out of phase and place them facing each other so that the waves cancel each other out and diminish the annoying pink noise.

I actually tried it out and IMO it made a huge difference after 3 days of doing so. Especially with the LCR/RC70 timbre matching.

RicH(SAD) Jul 17, 2010 10:23 PM

Nah, nothing to do with break in. Placing a speaker close to a wall emphasizes the bass, especially if the speaker is rear ported like the RC-70. I have them a few inch away but even then they still sound extremely "boomy" if I leave all the ports open. I plugged the two bottom ports and they sound pretty good now .. Not boomy but still plenty of bass.

The rebate I got was actually a bit more than 50% off. I got them online when they had that Canada day sale or whatever. So it was -$500 off on each speakers and then -20% off the total. I called my local FS to ask they could give me that same price in-store as this would have saved me the risk of having them shipped and the manager told me that he would be losing money selling them to me at that price. He said that the -20% online rebate was probably refunded to FS by the manufacturer. Not sure if he was just BSing me lol.

So I ended up having them shipped and I consider myself lucky that they arrived intact since the Energy packaging is pretty crappy. One of the box had a one inch hole that lead straight to the speaker, but fortunately there was no damage. There is that one guy on AVS who ordered 3 RC-70s from wwstereo in the US and all 3 of them arrived damaged. :eek:

aviphysics Jul 21, 2010 08:49 AM

I just got the latest version of Hugin and wanted to take it for a spin so here is a quick stitch of my living room/home theater. Didn't feel like spending the time to really fine tune the stitching so its not perfect.


MangaSpawn64 Aug 29, 2010 07:13 PM

Moved into a condo, so I bought new screen (92 inches, dissapointed, should have gone bigger) with my Sanyo PLV-Z5 projector. Hope to upgrade to a 1080p next year, and we'll upgrade the puny 26 inches TV this year probably, to a nice 42 inches minimum.



Don't mind the mess (I'll pass the wires through the plastic housing) We move the couch when we watch movies, otherwise I just move the lazyboy when I watch stuff or game.

aviphysics Aug 30, 2010 10:12 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MangaSpawn64 (Post 1336353132)
Moved into a condo, so I bought new screen (92 inches, dissapointed, should have gone bigger) with my Sanyo PLV-Z5 projector. Hope to upgrade to a 1080p next year, and we'll upgrade the puny 26 inches TV this year probably, to a nice 42 inches minimum.



Don't mind the mess (I'll pass the wires through the plastic housing) We move the couch when we watch movies, otherwise I just move the lazyboy when I watch stuff or game.

Are there supposed to be pictures in that post?

MangaSpawn64 Aug 30, 2010 01:23 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by aviphysics (Post 1336353554)
Are there supposed to be pictures in that post?

Yeah, was uploaded to tinypic.com....

aviphysics Aug 30, 2010 03:53 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MangaSpawn64 (Post 1336353701)
Yeah, was uploaded to tinypic.com....

Looks like you need to try again. :confused:

ScottDoom Aug 30, 2010 03:56 PM

Pic works for me. :confused:

aviphysics Aug 30, 2010 03:58 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ScottDoom (Post 1336353802)
Pic works for me. :confused:

ok maybe its my browser. Earlier I checked the quote text and thought I didn't see anything there either but now there is.

Update:
There is defintely something there but my browser won't show my the link text and isn't showing the picture either. All the other pictures seem to display fine.

edit:
is this the picture (just looked you up on tinpics)? What brand of screen did you go with? My wife and I went with an electric screen (Elite Screens Vmax2) and it was totally worth it. Our ceilings are kind of high so we would not have been able to reach a manual. We did just have the control circuit break but they sent us a new one in just a few days with very little hastle. Probably my best customer support experience ever. I think they make their screens so cheep by saving money on the QC and just be really good about fixing broken screens.


MangaSpawn64 Aug 30, 2010 07:49 PM

Heh, not it's one of the old one when I was in the appartment...

I've uploaded it again :



I have a Draper pull-down with high-contrast grey material (was planning to get an electric one but it was out of my budget for now). Will buy an electric one when I move into a house (next 3 years or so). 92 inches is too damn small :(

Deaderinred Sep 1, 2010 05:20 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by aviphysics (Post 1336353803)
ok maybe its my browser. Earlier I checked the quote text and thought I didn't see anything there either but now there is.

Update:
There is defintely something there but my browser won't show my the link text and isn't showing the picture either. All the other pictures seem to display fine.

edit:
is this the picture (just looked you up on tinpics)? What brand of screen did you go with? My wife and I went with an electric screen (Elite Screens Vmax2) and it was totally worth it. Our ceilings are kind of high so we would not have been able to reach a manual. We did just have the control circuit break but they sent us a new one in just a few days with very little hastle. Probably my best customer support experience ever. I think they make their screens so cheep by saving money on the QC and just be really good about fixing broken screens.


holy ****.





those blinds are black.

caveman-jim Sep 8, 2010 10:54 PM

My crappy setup, 'scuse the mess :)*


TV is a 37" Samsung LCD, 720p. I have Charter Digital, HD DVR input via HDMI, and my HTPC via HDMI. My boy's PS2 slim is via YPbPr, you can see the new steering wheel he got for his 5th b'day today. We set it on a piano stool while he sits on the couch, it's very cool. He plays Disney Cars Race'o'rama and bit of Gran Turismo. The sub is from a cheaper than cheap 5.1 surround that was on special for $25 a couple of years ago. Has RCA stereo inputs, coming from the TV. Works nicely to get a bit clearer sound than the TV speakers, but certainly isn't audiophile.

The HTPC is my file server too. Windows 7 32-bit Ultimate is my homegroup master, on a ECS Black mobo with 790GX chipset with integrated HD 3300 graphics, HDMI 5.1 audio. 2x2GB DDR3-1333 RAM with an Athlon II X3 415e, and Seagate Momentus XT 320GB as OS drive.

Storage is taken care of with three Seagate Baracuda LP 2TB drives, in Raid 5 on an Adaptec 5405 SAS/SATA raid controller with 256MB DDR2. The RAID card is PCIe x4, in the lower PCIe x16 slot the 790GX has. I'll bump the graphics power upto a HD 5550 at some point. We use it for watching downloaded content, streaming content (hulu, netflix).

The case is a CoolerMaster Elite 430 Black. I have replaced the front illuminated 120mm fan with a Noctua one, and added side and top coolermaster intake/exhaust fans. It's not dead silent but is inaudible sitting on the couch. For 11 months of the year we have a ceiling fan going, so background noise is above the silent most of you guys have. For 7 months a year we have a window A/C unit running, too (it's 90F all this week and overnight lows of 67-73).

aviphysics Sep 9, 2010 03:25 PM

How old is your kid?

caveman-jim Sep 9, 2010 07:41 PM

He just turned 5, he's the youngest. Big sister is turning 7 in Dec, big brother just turned 20.

**G.I.BRO** Sep 9, 2010 08:37 PM

I made some changes to the basement a few months ago, but hardware hasnt change that much...





Quote:

Originally Posted by **G.I.BRO** (Post 1335352633)
Newest is my 37" Sharp for my basement. I have my old stereo hooked up to it along with my 360.



My 53" Panny is still the same, its in my main living room and such.... here's a pic that i used before.




ScottDoom Sep 9, 2010 11:26 PM

Wow. Now that's a nice looking room. :up:

People on Rage usually have some of the ugliest homes I've ever seen. :bleh:

caveman-jim Sep 10, 2010 02:14 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ScottDoom (Post 1336363255)
Wow. Now that's a nice looking room. :up:

People on Rage usually have some of the ugliest homes I've ever seen. :bleh:

Not as ugly as your face.

Qb2k5 Sep 11, 2010 03:54 PM

:lol:

Nice room GIBRO.

aviphysics Sep 11, 2010 10:48 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by caveman-jim (Post 1336363691)
Not as ugly as your face.

+1

cybrsage Sep 19, 2010 06:41 AM

First pic is the Panasonic TH-42PZ700U, Paradigm Millenium 20 Trio and Entertainment Center (yes, that is Moses holding the ten commandments). I used a recessed light hole cutter attachment for my drill to cut 118mm holes in the bottom of the entertainment center directly under the center of the two sections. I hooked up 120mm noctua fans, wired them to a radio shack dc adapter and have them running at 9vdc, they are very very quiet and push a lot of air into the entertainment center. I have fans on the back of the entertainment center to pull the air out, hooked up the same way.



Second pic is just a further away view, showing the couches and one of my cats:




Not shown is the Paradigm PDR-10 subwoofer, two Paradigm Cinema 90s (left and right surrounds), and the Paradigm Cinema CC110 (rear center), making up the 6.1 system, and of course the buttkicker I have inside the main couch.


Hmmm....I need to update the pictures, I no longer have that clock. I HATE that most Roman Number clocks purposefully put the wrong letters down for the number 4. It is NOT IIII, it is IV. Apparently, some doofus messed it up centuries ago and everyone just followed his lead.

aviphysics Sep 20, 2010 08:46 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by cybrsage (Post 1336371386)
Hmmm....I need to update the pictures, I no longer have that clock. I HATE that most Roman Number clocks purposefully put the wrong letters down for the number 4. It is NOT IIII, it is IV. Apparently, some doofus messed it up centuries ago and everyone just followed his lead.

Hmmm... I wonder if IIII is not equaly valid if not slightly less compact.

Additional...
Here is a exerpt from an explanation I read here http://www.straightdope.com/columns/...-instead-of-iv .
Quote:


Romans apparently never used IV--it's a relatively modern invention. It's possible, in other words, that old-time clock makers used IIII because it was considered perfectly proper usage for all purposes, horological or otherwise, at the time.
Even More...

Here is what the wikipedia article has to say on IIII vs IV

Quote:

IIII and IV
The notation of Roman numerals has varied through the centuries. Originally, it was common to use IIII to represent four, because IV represented the Roman god Jupiter, whose Latin name, IVPPITER, begins with IV. The subtractive notation (which uses IV instead of IIII) has become the standard notation only in modern times. For example, Forme of Cury, a manuscript from 1390, uses IX for nine, but IIII for four. Another document in the same manuscript, from 1381, uses IX and IV. A third document in the same manuscript uses IX and a mix of IIII and IV. Constructions such as IIIII for five, IIX for eight or VV for 10 have also been discovered. Subtractive notation arose from regular Latin usage: the number 18 was duodeviginti or “two from twenty”; the number 19 was undeviginti or "one from twenty". The use of subtractive notation increased the complexity of performing Roman arithmetic, without conveying the benefits of a full positional notation system.

An inscription on Admiralty Arch, London. The numeral translates to 1910.


Likewise, on some buildings it is possible to see MDCCCCX, for example, representing 1910 instead of MCMX – notably Admiralty Arch in London. The Leader Building in Cleveland, Ohio, at the corner of Superior Avenue and East 6th Street, is marked MDCCCCXII, representing 1912 instead of MCMXII. Another notable example is on Harvard Medical School's Gordon Hall, which reads MDCCCCIIII for 1904 instead of MCMIV. In Dubrovnik, Croatia, a commemorative inscription marking the 1000th anniversary of King Tomislav’s coronation (Croatia’s first King), appears as DCCCCXXV - MDCCCCXXV instead of CMXXV - MCMXXV (925 -1925).
So at any rate the most likely explenation is not that someone messed up but that the subtractive representation (IV) was simply not in common use when clock faces were standardized.

cybrsage Sep 22, 2010 12:15 PM

Ah, then the person at the clock company fed me bad info. Thanks!

I now have a clock in Hebrew instead.

aviphysics Sep 22, 2010 05:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by cybrsage (Post 1336374241)
Ah, then the person at the clock company fed me bad info. Thanks!

I now have a clock in Hebrew instead.

Does it spin in the proper counter clockwise direction? Also happy Sukkot.

NYHecK Sep 24, 2010 05:58 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by NYHecK (Post 1334265601)
All the components to my HT are done.

32" widescreen LCD
Onkyo HTiB
Harmony 680 Remote
Toshiba Upconverting DVD player
PS2



edit: and before anyone asks, I have a bunch of movie posters in my house....It dosen't mean I like the movies, it was just something to decorate the blank white walls. The only one I actually like is the framed Scarface picture at the top of the pic. It's really the only one I paid for.

Upgraded TV to a Toshiba 46" LCD and got a PS3 finally :D
Harmony remote stopped working some time ago, so I got a Harmony 700.

switchAMG Oct 4, 2010 08:37 PM

Nice basement reno GI BRO! Looks great man, I bought the same baseboard for the reno I am doing. My house looks like a construction zone right now. Uggh.

**G.I.BRO** Oct 5, 2010 06:34 PM

Thanks guys...
Quote:

Originally Posted by ScottDoom (Post 1336363255)
Wow. Now that's a nice looking room. :up:

People on Rage usually have some of the ugliest homes I've ever seen. :bleh:

Quote:

Originally Posted by Qb2k5 (Post 1336364619)
:lol:

Nice room GIBRO.

Quote:

Originally Posted by switchWRX (Post 1336385529)
Nice basement reno GI BRO! Looks great man, I bought the same baseboard for the reno I am doing. My house looks like a construction zone right now. Uggh.

It wasnt so bad for me. The ugly part was removing the carpet and the underlay for it. So nasty which it just stuck to the concrete. Too much manches... :bleh:

Yeah i really liked these baseboards, the others just didnt suit the room. Either WAY to small or just too ugly. I thought this style fitted best. Not sure if i like the colour of the trim, looked better when i was looking at the chips but right now it looks meh. White or a very light grey would probably look better. The dark paint is also questionable with the dark flooring, they should be more contrasting, but it works. Very comfi very warm looking when only the lamps are on.

Thx again, cant wait to see your stuff once completed! Good Luck!!

**G.I.BRO** May 6, 2011 08:26 PM

Upgraded my TV and ive added a Sony HT system since the last pic... now just need to look for a good stand and clean up the wires and speakers.



Quote:

Originally Posted by **G.I.BRO** (Post 1336363122)
I made some changes to the basement a few months ago, but hardware hasnt change that much...




Deaderinred May 6, 2011 08:41 PM

sweet digs man.

im too embarrassed to post the place i know live in, its just ugh.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:46 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright 1998-2011 Rage3D.com