Rage3D Discussion Area

Rage3D Discussion Area (http://www.rage3d.com/board/index.php)
-   AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support (http://www.rage3d.com/board/forumdisplay.php?f=59)
-   -   Catalyst 14.3 v 1.0 Beta now out... (http://www.rage3d.com/board/showthread.php?t=34008965)

Qamly Mar 18, 2014 12:54 AM

Catalyst 14.3 v 1.0 Beta now out...
 
http://support.amd.com/en-us/kb-arti...dows-beta.aspx

Quote:

Last Updates: 3/17/2014
Article Number: RN-WIN-B14.3V1.0


​The AMD Catalyst™ 14.3 Beta V1.0 Driver can be downloaded from the following links:

AMD Catalyst™ 14.3 V1.0 Beta for Windows®

http://www2.ati.com/drivers/beta/AMD...22_March12.exe
Quote:

Installing The AMD Catalyst™ Software Driver
Current driver MUST be uninstalled before updating to AMD Catalyst™ 14.3 Beta V1.0 driver. For detailed instructions on how to correctly uninstall or install the AMD Catalyst Software Suite, please refer to the following support resources:
How-To Uninstall AMD Catalyst™ Drivers From A Windows® Based System
How-To Install AMD Catalyst™ Drivers For A Windows® Based System

Feature Highlights of The AMD Catalyst™ 14.3 Beta V1.0 Driver for Windows®
Thief:
AMD Mantle and AMD True Audio support
Improves stuttering observed in CrossFire mode
Call of Duty: Ghosts: QUAD CrossFire profile update – improves level load times
Audio issues observed when using CrossFire configurations (and V-sync enabled) have been resolved
BattleField 4: V-sync issues observed on CrossFire configurations (with Mantle enabled) have been resolved

Known Issues
Intermittent driver stability issues when installing/un-installing on Desktop Kaveri platforms that support AMD Enduro technology under Windows 8.1. Please disable Enduro support to resolve the issue
Secondary GPUs do not enter low power state on CrossFire configurations; this issue will be addressed in the next AMD Catalyst beta release
Thief (DirectX): Lighting flickers on CrossFire configurations only after CrossFire has been enabled then disabled; this issue will be addressed in the next AMD Catalyst beta release
Battlefield 4 (DirectX): Quad CrossFire configurations with Eyefinity Display configurations suffer slowdowns and stability issues
Titanfall: Flickering occurs under AMD CrossFire configurations

Compatible Operating Systems
The AMD Catalyst™ 14.3 Beta V1.0 Driver for Windows® is designed to support the following Microsoft Windows platforms:
Windows 8.1 (32 & 64-bit version)
Windows 8 (32 & 64-bit version)
Windows 7 (32 & 64-bit version with SP1 or higher)

Dyre Straits Mar 18, 2014 12:59 AM

NOTES have now been added to the OP.

Ristogod Mar 18, 2014 01:18 AM

Only mention of Titanfall is to say its broken. Sigh... was hoping they'd maybe support this title in a timely manner. Maybe they didn't know about it. After all with the limited press coverage of the game.

Mangler Mar 18, 2014 05:00 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ristogod (Post 1337466307)
Only mention of Titanfall is to say its broken. Sigh... was hoping they'd maybe support this title in a timely manner. Maybe they didn't know about it. After all with the limited press coverage of the game.


kakarot Mar 18, 2014 07:35 AM

Clocks still sticking with these, wtg amd!!!

joe3000 Mar 18, 2014 07:45 AM

Still no mantle support for HD7000, so what tha f are you doing AMD?????!

Lurk Mar 18, 2014 08:02 AM

that's what you get when patched drivers are released way before schedule! :p

Mantle is supported afaik; if I read the news correctly Eidos will release a patch for Thief to use the new API.

At least they aknowledge the Crossfire stuttering in Thief, but I would have rather read 'resolved' instead of 'improved' :bleh:

Also someone pls explain the flickering lights in Crossfire when it has been enabled THEN disabled :nuts: :confused:

Jerm357 Mar 18, 2014 10:55 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by joe3000 (Post 1337466417)
Still no mantle support for HD7000, so what tha f are you doing AMD?????!

Yeah, whats going on with this... Im still waiting to play BF4 with mantle on my 270x and not have a bunch of stuttering going on. When will all the other cards be fully supported with mantle? Its been a while since AMD has even mentioned that this is even still a problem.

ShaidarHaran Mar 18, 2014 12:03 PM

Woohoo! I can finally use Vsync again.

bill dennison Mar 18, 2014 12:16 PM

i'm getting no crossfire in thief with mantle on, but cfx works fine in DX with mantle off

rms Mar 18, 2014 12:55 PM

Thief Mantle benchmarks!

A very quick run on my machine: Phenom2 x6 @3.8ghz, and single R290X, 1920x1200, all settings maxxed except SSAA turned off (I'd read there's some conflict between FXAA & SSAA, dunno if true), Catalyst 14.3

DirectX Mantle
Min 29.0 57.4
Max 92.2 111.7
Avg 44.4 78.1

Falcon1 Mar 18, 2014 01:34 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by bill dennison (Post 1337466654)
i'm getting no crossfire in thief with mantle on, but cfx works fine in DX with mantle off

I can confirm this:

Code:

2560x1080
            Min FPS    Avg FPS      Max FPS
DirectX      42,3        66,1        92,2
Mantle        24        42,7        58,5

1920x1080
DirectX      44,3        65,6          104
Mantle      41,3        52,3        70,4

That is with all settings maxed, including SSAA set to High.

Flanker35M Mar 18, 2014 01:40 PM

S!

Thief works excellante with these drivers. Ran the benchmark with all maxed out at 1920x1080 121Hz, field of view 100. Minimum: 58.1fps Maximum: 95.4fps Average: 70.1fps. Not bad at all.

Falcon1 Mar 18, 2014 02:06 PM

OK, just tested some single GPU performance. There is something really strange going on. With Mantle and only one 7970, the game won't go in Fullscreen, it stays in borderless window, no matter what you set it to be (keeps reverting the option).

Therefore, my single GPU results are kind of bugged... Really annoying. Staying with DX on Thief for now. Works solid and flawless.

All results:




ThirdEye Mar 18, 2014 02:53 PM

2560x1080 with SSAA High

DX
Min: 28.9 Max: 52.9 Avg: 37.4

Mantle
Min: 32.7 Max: 56.6 Avg: 40.0

yawn

DarkFoss Mar 18, 2014 05:59 PM

Hmm, I'm thinking I'll stick with the 14.2 beta's. From what I see here there is no compelling reason to upgrade since I have 2 7970's and don't own Thief.
FAH performance is excellent as is.

Lurk Mar 18, 2014 09:15 PM

lovely. used amd uninstall utility and my Windows 7 installation is fried. BSOD, no repair, no safe mode, no nothing. Since I have no restore points, I'm totally fuk3d.

Falcon1 Mar 18, 2014 09:37 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lurk (Post 1337467071)
Since I have no restore points

Hah, that's why I set up an Image software to make complet images of my system drive twice a week :D

teiva Mar 18, 2014 10:19 PM

Definitely an improvement in Thief with Mantle on. It can only get better from here :)

Ninbri64 Mar 18, 2014 11:03 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jerm357 (Post 1337466573)
Yeah, whats going on with this... Im still waiting to play BF4 with mantle on my 270x and not have a bunch of stuttering going on. When will all the other cards be fully supported with mantle? Its been a while since AMD has even mentioned that this is even still a problem.

I have two 7970s in crossfire and until this 14.3 update I could not play in Mantle with Battlefield 4. I could physically select it but would give me a very very stuttery and awful experience. Now with Vsync on the game runs better than ever, like butter. I'm totally surprised this driver actually worked for me with Mantle in Battlefield 4. Is the 270x still not supported?

Dyre Straits Mar 18, 2014 11:14 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lurk (Post 1337467071)
lovely. used amd uninstall utility and my Windows 7 installation is fried. BSOD, no repair, no safe mode, no nothing. Since I have no restore points, I'm totally ****3d.

There is a Warning about using the AMD Install Utility with any AMD CPU and system. It definitely can wreck havoc on your system.


Roadking Mar 19, 2014 12:04 AM

My Thief Benchmark
DX

Min-34 Max-78 Avg-53

Mantle
Min-59 Max-101 Avg-72

Got the driver and patch just in time to play the last two minutes of Thief. Gota love the bait and switch.

kakarot Mar 19, 2014 12:56 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lurk (Post 1337467071)
lovely. used amd uninstall utility and my Windows 7 installation is fried. BSOD, no repair, no safe mode, no nothing. Since I have no restore points, I'm totally ****3d.


Yeah don't run that on an amd system. Use DDU or Driverfusion instead.
Also i seen people just log in to windows and run it which is asking for trouble. Uninstalling the drivers and then running it in safe mode is the only way to avoid issues regardless of chipset.

Clocks are still sticking with these tho, tested on a clean install and its still the same. Funny how after all these betas and feedback the issue is still not on the known issues list:nuts:

Jerm357 Mar 19, 2014 07:43 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ninbri64 (Post 1337467131)
I have two 7970s in crossfire and until this 14.3 update I could not play in Mantle with Battlefield 4. I could physically select it but would give me a very very stuttery and awful experience. Now with Vsync on the game runs better than ever, like butter. I'm totally surprised this driver actually worked for me with Mantle in Battlefield 4. Is the 270x still not supported?

I have not tried yet with the 14.3... the last time I tried was with 14.1 and it was stuttery. I now have 14.2 installed, but I did not try it yet because there was no word about it being fixed in the release notes. Since AMD said that all the other cards but the 290 cards still needed to be optimized for mantle in the 14.1 release notes I figured that once it was done they would tell us. I guess Ill install the new 14.3's today and give it a shot to see if anything has changed.


Edit: Just tested BF4 on Mantle with 14.3 and it is still stuttering more then DX 11 for me.

Pirate Neilsouth Mar 19, 2014 10:27 AM

Stop using AMD Install Utility, use the daily-weekly updated DDU!

http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=379505

WaltC Mar 19, 2014 10:35 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lurk (Post 1337467071)
lovely. used amd uninstall utility and my Windows 7 installation is fried. BSOD, no repair, no safe mode, no nothing. Since I have no restore points, I'm totally ****3d.

You may have something else going on.... I have an AMD system (cpu/gpu/core logic) and the only thing I noticed about using the AMD uninstall utility is the annoying fact that it deletes the "AMD" directory and that's where I kept my downloaded driver originals (along with their decompressed versions.) So I started keeping my driver downloads in a folder called "AMD Drivers" (cryptic, eh?) which the uninstall utility doesn't touch. No bsod's, no problems.

With the 14.3b's I installed those right over the top of the 14.2b's, and then read that I should have uninstalled before installing--so I uninstalled everything and then reinstalled 14.3's--again, no problem. No bsods.

Actually, I stopped using the AMD uninstall utility altogether as I found it to be overkill. What works reliably for me is the "Express Uninstall Everything" option in the normal driver uninstall routine--everything except game profiles is uninstalled. Works every time...which I'm glad of.

The major difference between our systems is Crossfire...AMD does indeed have some driver problems if merely the presence of Crossfire is causing problems like yours.

JohnEJohn Mar 19, 2014 11:32 AM

Argh Lurk, you should not be using that on an amd system it can severely break your windows install, works for some of course but I have read many horror stories just like yours.

The warning should be much bigger, in fact I would go further and say they should just contain it to a GPU driver cleaner not chipset/cpu, they should be manual update only.

Sorry mang :(

Lurk Mar 19, 2014 12:06 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dyre Straits (Post 1337467138)
There is a Warning about using the AMD Install Utility with any AMD CPU and system. It definitely can wreck havoc on your system.


funny how that same window appears when you use express uninstall from the AMD install manager or whatever it's called :bleh:

Quote:

Originally Posted by Pirate Neilsouth (Post 1337467445)
Stop using AMD Install Utility, use the daily-weekly updated DDU!

http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=379505

thx 4 the link :up:

Quote:

Originally Posted by WaltC (Post 1337467458)
You may have something else going on.... I have an AMD system (cpu/gpu/core logic) and the only thing I noticed about using the AMD uninstall utility is the annoying fact that it deletes the "AMD" directory and that's where I kept my downloaded driver originals (along with their decompressed versions.) So I started keeping my driver downloads in a folder called "AMD Drivers" (cryptic, eh?) which the uninstall utility doesn't touch. No bsod's, no problems.

With the 14.3b's I installed those right over the top of the 14.2b's, and then read that I should have uninstalled before installing--so I uninstalled everything and then reinstalled 14.3's--again, no problem. No bsods.

Actually, I stopped using the AMD uninstall utility altogether as I found it to be overkill. What works reliably for me is the "Express Uninstall Everything" option in the normal driver uninstall routine--everything except game profiles is uninstalled. Works every time...which I'm glad of.

The major difference between our systems is Crossfire...AMD does indeed have some driver problems if merely the presence of Crossfire is causing problems like yours.

Quote:

Originally Posted by JohnEJohn (Post 1337467532)
Argh Lurk, you should not be using that on an amd system it can severely break your windows install, works for some of course but I have read many horror stories just like yours.

The warning should be much bigger, in fact I would go further and say they should just contain it to a GPU driver cleaner not chipset/cpu, they should be manual update only.

Sorry mang :(

To both of you, on my previous system (Win7 - 890FX chipset - AMD PhenomX4 CPU and Crossfired 7950's), I used that darn utility many times w/o ANY issue, then it was removed from AMD's website for a while, then yesterday it re-appeared and I thought what the heck. For some reason this new Win7 installation on revamped system (990FX chipset - AMD FX CPU) didn't like what I was doing.
Pulling my hair thinking I got everything perfectly set up less than a month ago, and now here I'm all-over again having to restart EVERYTHING from scratch. Nothing, NOTHING I did last night allowed me to enter OS in any way, although drive content and RAID array are still intact. Can't believe what a nuisance this is going to be, I'm pissed like a suburban sidewalk.

Thx for your comprehension, guys.

JohnEJohn Mar 19, 2014 12:13 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lurk (Post 1337467569)
funny how that same window appears when you use express uninstall from the AMD install manager or whatever it's called :bleh:



thx 4 the link :up:





To both of you, on my previous system (Win7 - 890FX chipset - AMD PhenomX4 CPU and Crossfired 7950's), I used that darn utility many times w/o ANY issue, then it was removed from AMD's website for a while, then yesterday it re-appeared and I thought what the heck. For some reason this new Win7 installation on revamped system (990FX chipset - AMD FX CPU) didn't like what I was doing.
Pulling my hair thinking I got everything perfectly set up less than a month ago, and now here I'm all-over again having to restart EVERYTHING from scratch. Nothing, NOTHING I did last night allowed me to enter OS in any way, although drive content and RAID array are still intact. Can't believe what a nuisance this is going to be, I'm pissed like a suburban sidewalk.

Thx for your comprehension, guys.

It sucks man, sorry to hear about your problems, I thought it was a well known issue but as it has worked for you on other AMD systems I can see why you didn't hesitate.

This is why I always have the following: 1 drive for windows and apps, 1 (or more) drive for games and a couple mirrored for storage. I always make an image of the windows and app drive as soon as all drivers and tweaks have been installed/carried out and everything is pointing in the right direction.

If you have the space/drives to do this I would seriously consider going that route and using something like macrium reflect to image the windows drive.

Dwarden Mar 19, 2014 02:25 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dyre Straits (Post 1337467138)
There is a Warning about using the AMD Install Utility with any AMD CPU and system. It definitely can wreck havoc on your system.


it also breaks avast and some other software ...

definitely very bad to nonIT skilled users ...


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:32 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright 1998-2011 Rage3D.com